$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
202 reviews
Way better than a secluded resort

The area is so great for just walking around/ bar hopping/ eating out/ picture taking and more! The... See full review

  • Anatole papi chulo
  • Jun 12, 2014
Small Luxury. .

5 star treatment every step of the way! Made the trip personal and even better : ) See full review

  • the solo travelist
  • Mar 9, 2014

With a wealth of history, rustic decor and charming details, it's easy to see why Hotel El Convento was chosen by Condo Nast Traveler as one of the 'Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean'. Situated in Old San Juan, this boutique luxury hotel makes guests feel equally relaxed and spoiled. With the daily manager's reception offering hors d'oeuvres and cocktails for guests, the hotel also shows off three restaurants, a rooftop plunge pool and a veranda terrace.

Key facts

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Plush slippers and bathrobes
  • Flat panel 37-inch TV and Bose Radio
  • Goose-down pillows
  • In-room refrigerator containing free bottled water
  • Handicapped-accessible rooms available
  • Two-cup coffeemaker with premium Alto Grande coffee
  • Plunge pool and Jacuzzi that overlook the San Juan Bay
  • Fitness center
  • Business center with 7 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour valet parking
  • Club that offers beach and pool privileges at two sister properties
  • Aromatherapy, massages and facials available upon request
  • Room service offered throughout the day
  • Dry cleaning service and coin-operated laundry facilities

Neighborhood

Guests are only steps away from the perpetually vibrant atmosphere in the heart of Puerto Rico, where they'll discover restaurants, bars and galleries. Make your way down to the piers from which many cruise ships depart, or take a quick drive to Condado Beach or Isla Verde Beach. Just across the way, you will find the iconic Cathedral of San Juan Bautista.

Hints and tips

If you'd like a cocktail with freshly-picked garnish, order a beverage that features an ingredient from the hotel's herb and fruit garden.

The helpful staff members are happy to fulfil any requirements you may have.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4659 -66.1184
Area served
Old San Juan, Condado, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Guaynabo, Bayamon, Isla Verde.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 9 miles.
Area description
The hotel's location in historic Old San Juan makes walking the best way around to the numerous shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Hopping on and off the district's open-air trolleys is free. Nearby attractions: San Juan Cathedral - across street / San Juan Gate - 1 block / Puerto Rico Indian Museum - 1 block / La Fortaleza (governor's mansion) - 2 blocks / Casa Blanca museum & garden - 2 blocks / African Heritage Museum - 3 blocks / Pablo Casals Museum - 3 blocks / San Felipe del Morro fortress - 0.5 mile / San Cristobal Castle - 0.5 mile / Plaza Las Americas (shopping, dining) - 7 miles / Pinones forest (bicycling, hiking, surfing) - 12 miles / El Yunque Rainforest - 31 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel El Convento also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel El Convento Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room includes: One queen bed and City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).
Vista Room
Vista Room includes: One Queen bed with full view of San Juan Bay from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room($35 extra nightly charge).
Double Deluxe Room
Double Deluxe Room includes: Two double beds with City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed not allowed in room.
Superior Room
Superior Room includes: One queen bed or two twin beds (run of house)and limited view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

Pizza E Birra
Pizza e Birra offers a taste of classic Italian and American-Italian dishes, but the main attraction is definitely Pizza perfection. For the perfect combination Pizza e Birra features over 20 different craft beers from all over the world. The Pizzeria embodies all the eclectic elements that characterize the cobblestone city, with a cool modern spark
Patio del Nispero
Shaded by Hotel El Convento's famous 300-year old nispero fruit tree, Patio del Nispero is located on the ground floor of the stately open-air courtyard in the hotel. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, Patio del Nispero is a welcome culinary treat serving international gourmet fare in casual yet elegant surroundings. From the best banana nut pancakes,to creative and hearty sandwiches and salads, with even traditional Puerto Rican dishes, alfresco dining has never been more tasteful!
El Picoteo
There's something cooking in Old San Juan where the food is inventive, the service never misses a beat, and the wine list is exceptional. The atmosphere at El Picoteo is all about food and mood. Hot or cold, tapas warm you up for mas tapas de picotear. El Picoteo offers a cornucopia of choice without parallel on the island. After a sampling of delectable tapas, try the paella - voted best on the island! The gazpacho, tortillas, empanadillas, croquetas, specialty pizzas are all fantastico. The wine list fills classic bistro slots with imaginative producers and delectable desserts round out the eclectic menu. This is the place that defines the tapas and paella experience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel El Convento offers superb meeting and banquet facilities. With close proximity to the financial center in San Juan, and 7 multi-use meeting rooms of varying sizes, the hotel is the perfect venue for banquets, charity events, and high-level corporate affairs. The 2700 sq. ft. Salon Campeche is a spectacular ballroom and can accommodate from 250 - 300 people for classroom/banquet seating. For smaller gatherings and corporate functions, choose from Salon Oller which accommodates 75 people for a seated event; Salon Paoli, perfect for a group of 50; Salon Zafiro, for a group of 35, the Executive Boardroom which seats 12. Two additional rooms are available for up to 40 people. The hotel has every amenity the business traveler needs to assure a successful trip from audiovisual facilities, computer ports, dual-line data port phones in each guest and banquet room, Internet access, and valet parking. Restaurants are located within the hotel and we also provide expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos
South Florida
Sep 7, 2011

A Real 5 Star Experience

El Convento is truly a 5 star hotel in every way. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food service is excellent, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful with its Spanish colonial architecture and romantic inner courtyard. For those who want a romantic getaway, there is no better location than this hotel in the heart of Old san Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carly's, owned by Carly himself, a great jazz pianist who performs every night (heplayed for the Beach Boys for years). Justo is the best bartender in San juan and is renowned for his mojitos. The food is outstanding, especially the tapas.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rocky River, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic!

From the minute we arrived at the valet parking station to the time we left we were treated with exceptional service. One of the hotel porters, James, happened to be talking to the valet when we arrived and he took our names, introduced himself, took our luggage and provided recommendations for shopping and restaurants. The front desk manager provided us with exceptional rooms that were absolutely beautiful. It was our daughter and son-in-law's first visit to Puerto Rico and she made sure they were given top notch accommodations. The hotel also has a complimentary wine and cheese party each evening. The wines were wonderful and the cheese assortment was delicious and beautifully displayed. My husband and I have stayed at the El Convento 4 times and we have loved each experience. We always recommend the hotel to any of our friends or family traveling to the island. It is right in the heart of Old San Juan and within walking distance to great shops, attractions and fabulous restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On Calle Forteleza there is a shop with authentic Puerto Rican items. Wonderful store with helpful staff and items made in Puerto Rico, not China.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Out to see the world
Denver, CO
Oct 10, 2010

Superb hospitality, gorgeous property

We were amazed at the hospitality shown us at Hotel El Convento. While the location is perfect, the building is historic, rooms are charming, etc, it was really the small touches that set this hotel apart. The staff was always helpful but unobtrusive. Water was free from the refigerator in the room or from the 3rd floor common area. There was a nice honor bar where you could grab a soda/mix a drink with all the amenities and write what you took. Daily wine and cheese is not to be missed, suprisingly high quality wine and cheese. The pool (while small) and hot tub were open 24/7. In short, it felt like home away from home. The rooms, public spaces, and restaurants were just as picturesque as the photos make them appear. You can walk to an endless array of great restaurants or shopping, adventure tours pick up right nearby, and there were two different beach resorts with partner agreements if you want that experience. We tried both, one had a very Miami/modern feel, great pools, solid beach, in a different but fun part of town. The other had hammocks on the beach and a gorgeous beach with more of a traditional beach resort feel. They can link back to your El Convento account and assign you a "fake" room number so you can eat/drink at these other hotels without worrying about cash or credit cards. In short, we really couldn't have been happier with our stay here and will definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two places that stood out, at different ends of the spectrum: La Bombonera (old-school diner, great breakfasts, especially the mallorcas) and Marmalade Cafe (one of the best meals I had in my entire life and I eat out a lot).

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Procopius
Alexandria VA
Mar 23, 2011

Beautiful hotel in historic location

Old San Juan is a can't-miss part of Puerto Rico and El Convento has a prime location in the middle of the historic district. No need to drive! We walked to wonderful restaurants, the fort, musuems, etc. The hotel is beautiful; service is 5-star. An added bonus is the wine and cheese reception on the sundeck; great for meeting other guests and getting ideas on what to do, where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the El Yunque National Forest. Easy drive from San Juan on good roads (about an hour) Take a poncho or umbrella -- it really is a rainforest!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L&K from NYC
NYC
Jul 27, 2009

Fantastic Hotel in Old San Juan

Elegant hotel within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. Great service without being stuffy. Quiet rooms. Romantic too as we saw 3 weddings in our 5 day stay! We really enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every night at 6 and our beach privileges at La Concha, a modern resort in Condado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort privilege at La Concha in Condado.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 29, 2010

A Gem

Hotel El Convento is a gem. The staff was polite and accomodating. Our room was small, which was not a surprise having been a convent, but clean and comfortable. Nightly wine and cheese hour was a great way to meet other guests while relaxing on the outdoor terrace. The plunge pool was small, but large enough for relaxing or cooling down from an afternoon of sightseeing, the view was amazing, especially at night. We travel fairly often and although this was our first trip to Puerto Rico, we definitely will be going back with the expectation of staying at Hotel El Convento and continuing our exploration of Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food at Dragonfly was awesome.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC ChrisMO
NYC
May 22, 2012

Great small "old world" hotel

After a warm and personal welcome, I enjoyed 5 nights at this magical hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben and Jerrys warm cones up the hill!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lima, OH
Nov 10, 2009

Unique and worth the cost!

The room was unbelievable. Marble floors, antique furniture, chandeliers, built-in wooden closets, close to el Morro and in the heart of the ambiance of Old San Juan. It was worth the cost. The staff was quite helpful at recommending places to go, things to see and do. Staff fluent in Spanish and English. I will stay there again when travelling to San Juan. The hot tub and pool on the fourth floor overlook Old San Juan, refreshing at the end of the day. Complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evening, with quality wine and cheese. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to el Morro fort, Fortalezze street (main shopping area), and other Old San Juan landmarks

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Wherever the Army sends me....
Jul 8, 2011

Relaxing vacation of my dreams

The ambiance with the inner courtyard filled with plants and trees was lovely. The employess were gracious and helpful. They had a room by the checkin to store my luggage after checkout since my flight didn't leave till the afternoon. The room I reserved wasn't available the day I got there, but they had it the next day and moved all my luggage for me while I was on a tour. The room had a high ceiling, flat screen TV, fresh plants, super comfy bed, clean bathroom, Aveda toiletries, and twice daily maid service with turndown & chocolates at night. The location was great for day trips and nightlife, (El Batery on the next block had the best prices for drinks and open till...? I still spent a good amount on cab fare and transportation for activities and some nightlife, but hey, all the good things aren't in one place. You can walk to El Morro and El Cristobal Forts , and there is a little square with tasty food, try the Arepas con camarones, sort of like a fried corn pocket filled with shrimp, delicious, and of course piraguas (gelatos/snow cones). The El Picoteo had tasty food, and the wine and cheese reception every evening was a lovely way to meet guests from all over the world and exchange travel tips. The only thing missing from this hotel is a beachfront and it would be perfect! This was the trip of my dreams, and even though I don't usually spend this much for a hotel, I don't regret it. I hope to return someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro, the Old Gate, Paseo de la Princesa and San Juan Cathedral all close by. There is usually someone in the little park facing the entrnce playing guitar and singing something lively or romantic. On Saturday watch the oodles of wedding processions trooping and out of Old San Juan Cathedral where J Lo and Marc Anthony got married. Ponce de Leon's remains are there as well as St. Pius.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Great Price and love the text messages!

It is a beautiful old hotel that has been magnificently updated and maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff. We ate dinner at the hotel also and it was very delicious! The hotel has a great location in Old San Juan and we went to the Fort San Felipe del Morro which is a couple of blocks away and did some shopping. It was a terrific stay. The only mark against was the very long wait for a room to be ready. We arrived at 11:20am and did not get a room until 4:20pm and that was only because we kept checking over and over. I suspect it was because we purchased the room at a discount. But for whatever reason it was a long wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top