$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen W.
Couples
fort myers
Jun 3, 2015

met every expectation

We had come upon the El Convento in a previous short short stay in San Juan and had determined that we wanted to return and that we would stay there. It met and exceeded all of our expectations. The location was perfect and the staff wonderful the conversion of the older building was masterful and beautiful. We had wonderful stay and expect to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella O.
Friends
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

amazing hotel

It was a great experience . Love the vintage look. Staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Connie L.
Couples
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Romantic Getaway

The hotel was more than what we have expected. It has many characters which we liked. It located in the heart of El San Juan. The hotel is fully renovated but yet kept the old characteristic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha D.
Couples
Jamaica
Jul 3, 2015

First Time!

The architecture of the hotel just blew my mind. Its so beautiful. The place in general has a comforting vibe. The pool and jacuzzi were so relaxing after a day of walking around and exploring. My boyfriend and I found everything in Old San Juan easily. We even visited some local spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VICTOR M.
Friends
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Amazing honeymoon

Excellent, Overall experience great, value for money great, room cleanliness great and room comfort great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annette g.
Couples
N/A
Aug 10, 2015

Back to Old San Juan

During previous visits to PR, we managed to spend 80 of our time in Old San Juan. This visit we decided, why not just stay there. El Convento is a very charming hotel with a wonderful staff. The room was clean with top notch toiletries. You mist visit the Taps Bar, the Salmkn was superb. It is centrally located which is perfect for visiting El Moro, shopping, and resaurants. The only downside was the size of the pool...it was very small but perfect for cooling off and it was never crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariana C.
Couples
New York
Aug 24, 2015

Great trip

The hotel was beautiful and the service was great. The only inconvenience was that the swimming pool is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baldar
Couples
Maryland
Mar 7, 2014

Eighteenth Century Charm

It depends on what you want. If you want a hotel, stay on the beach. If you want to experience San Juan, stay at the El Convento. In the center of Old San Juan, the place was a convent for 2 1/2 centuries, and the conversion to a hotel preserved the charm of the convent without being at all primitive. The staff is 5-star. Don't miss the wine and cheese on the patio in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockwater
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 23, 2011

Book it!

Great staff, clean room, excellent happy hour, convenient location. Only thing I would have changed is the beds. We had 2 twin beds, too small for 2 single adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"3 Horns" is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Good times had by all.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Jays
Couples
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Nice Long Weekend In Old San Juan...except

Hotel nice. Location great. Excellent wine/cheese reception in early evening. Except...the room service was terrible. It might take hours for coffee. Only one staff person at front desk, clearly inadequate, when you would ask for assistance they said someone would call your room and no one would. Worst of all...NO kidding...a peice of jewlery was taken from the room and no one at the hotel cared much. After going back to the lobby and calling numerous times someone finally (two hours later) spoke with me and kindly refunded on night's stay. But I never felt they really cared about my level of comfort and need for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want beaches don't take cabs from hotel. Go to main plaza and take trolley or municipal buses. One fifth the price, and easy.

Back to menu Return to top