$261 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scally
Atlanta, Ga.
Sep 18, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!

THIS TRIP WAS EVERYTHING WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. LOVED OLD SAN JUAN AND THE SISTER HOTEL AND BEACH WERE LOVELY, AS WELL. EL CONVENTO WAS BEAUTIFUL, IN THE BEST LOCATION, STAFF WONDERFUL AND WALKING EVERYWHERE DOWNTOWN WAS GREAT! RESTAURANTS HAVE WONDERFUL MEALS AND ENJOYABLE MUSIC AT MOST. HOPE TO REURN SOON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WEAR CONFORTABLE SHOES AND EXPECT TO WALK ALOT; ESPECIALLY IF YOU'RE DINING, SIGHTSEEING AND SHOPPING ALONG THE WAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJM1
Business
Strasburg, PA 17579, USA
Oct 1, 2011

El Convento

Hotel was awesome!! Rooms were well appointed, food was terrific and well priced. One of a kind hotel. Pool was a little small, and parking was across the street at $25 per night.... Street parking was available for free if your parralell parking skills were good. We'd stay there again in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos
Business
South Florida
Sep 7, 2011

A Real 5 Star Experience

El Convento is truly a 5 star hotel in every way. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food service is excellent, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful with its Spanish colonial architecture and romantic inner courtyard. For those who want a romantic getaway, there is no better location than this hotel in the heart of Old san Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carly's, owned by Carly himself, a great jazz pianist who performs every night (heplayed for the Beach Boys for years). Justo is the best bartender in San juan and is renowned for his mojitos. The food is outstanding, especially the tapas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Business
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Heaven!

Perfect location, we walked everywhere. No need for a rental car if all you want to do is hang out in Old San Juan (where most things are anyway). Beautiful hotel, great staff, just awesome. And you get hotel/beach passes to their equally gorgeous hotel La Concha in Condado if you want ocean for the day. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2011

Fantastic for couples.

Romantic ambient, with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can take the Trole (for free) or walk throughout Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Wherever the Army sends me....
Jul 8, 2011

Relaxing vacation of my dreams

The ambiance with the inner courtyard filled with plants and trees was lovely. The employess were gracious and helpful. They had a room by the checkin to store my luggage after checkout since my flight didn't leave till the afternoon. The room I reserved wasn't available the day I got there, but they had it the next day and moved all my luggage for me while I was on a tour. The room had a high ceiling, flat screen TV, fresh plants, super comfy bed, clean bathroom, Aveda toiletries, and twice daily maid service with turndown & chocolates at night. The location was great for day trips and nightlife, (El Batery on the next block had the best prices for drinks and open till...? I still spent a good amount on cab fare and transportation for activities and some nightlife, but hey, all the good things aren't in one place. You can walk to El Morro and El Cristobal Forts , and there is a little square with tasty food, try the Arepas con camarones, sort of like a fried corn pocket filled with shrimp, delicious, and of course piraguas (gelatos/snow cones). The El Picoteo had tasty food, and the wine and cheese reception every evening was a lovely way to meet guests from all over the world and exchange travel tips. The only thing missing from this hotel is a beachfront and it would be perfect! This was the trip of my dreams, and even though I don't usually spend this much for a hotel, I don't regret it. I hope to return someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro, the Old Gate, Paseo de la Princesa and San Juan Cathedral all close by. There is usually someone in the little park facing the entrnce playing guitar and singing something lively or romantic. On Saturday watch the oodles of wedding processions trooping and out of Old San Juan Cathedral where J Lo and Marc Anthony got married. Ponce de Leon's remains are there as well as St. Pius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top