$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kippered Herring
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 15, 2013

THE place to stay in Old San Juan

We had been told by family and friends who stayed at El Convento that it was a great place, and they were right. While not the cheapest hotel (and you can easily drop $40 for breakfast for 2 in the main restaurant), the amenities are wonderful and the staff is the best. Whether it's free wine and cheese in the evenings (get there early to get a table outside) or the high ceilings on the second floor (reserve one of the queen deluxe rooms in advance) the atmosphere and location are great. There's a small plunge pool and hot tub on the 4th floor roof, and a choice of three restaurants - the ground floor main restaurant, a second-floor tapas place, and a pizza and beer joint next to the tapas place. And the staff is super nice and helpful - we set up taxis, rental cars, parking and got great recommendations on restaurants. I can't imagine staying anyplace else in the Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a fancy dinner (we did a birthday) Marmalade is awesome if pricey. A little longer walk down by the docks is Punto del Vista, which looks like a hole in the wall but has great reasonably priced food and 2-for-1 mojitos that are awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hund
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 6, 2011

Wonderful Old Style Atmosphere with new Amenities

This is our second visit to the hotel, and it was even better than the first. The location in Old San Juan is incredible. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I really don't think we could have asked for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Salsa music, the best we found in Old San Juan was at The Latin Roots and the Nuyorican Cafe. Things really get hopping around midnight, so rest up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soderbee
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great wknd getaway!

Excellent wknd in old san juan! I loved the quiet hotel...felt like we were staying alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They charge for parking $25/ni...free trolley around old san juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJM1
Business
Strasburg, PA 17579, USA
Oct 1, 2011

El Convento

Hotel was awesome!! Rooms were well appointed, food was terrific and well priced. One of a kind hotel. Pool was a little small, and parking was across the street at $25 per night.... Street parking was available for free if your parralell parking skills were good. We'd stay there again in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos
Business
South Florida
Sep 7, 2011

A Real 5 Star Experience

El Convento is truly a 5 star hotel in every way. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food service is excellent, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful with its Spanish colonial architecture and romantic inner courtyard. For those who want a romantic getaway, there is no better location than this hotel in the heart of Old san Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carly's, owned by Carly himself, a great jazz pianist who performs every night (heplayed for the Beach Boys for years). Justo is the best bartender in San juan and is renowned for his mojitos. The food is outstanding, especially the tapas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Business
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Heaven!

Perfect location, we walked everywhere. No need for a rental car if all you want to do is hang out in Old San Juan (where most things are anyway). Beautiful hotel, great staff, just awesome. And you get hotel/beach passes to their equally gorgeous hotel La Concha in Condado if you want ocean for the day. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top