$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newmusicleesa
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Apr 24, 2013

Best in Old San Juan

El Convento is the epitome of Old San Juan. It is old, beautiful and staff is top notch. Stayed there twice now and loved it. Great location for sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid crowds and dine at places near hotel. Avoid harbor where cruise ships drop tons of people off in one spot at once. El Jebarito is very good. Hotel food is good, but pricey.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I were there
Couples
Louisiana, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Romantic getaway

If your staying in Old San Juan there is no better place than this romantic renovated old convent. Ammenaties and cleanliness complement the hotel's historic charm. Pool and excercise room make good use of limited space and are quaint/up-to-date. Entire staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. The complementary evening wine and cheese was a good place to begin your evening and meet other guests. My wife and I will definelty return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockwater
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 23, 2011

Book it!

Great staff, clean room, excellent happy hour, convenient location. Only thing I would have changed is the beds. We had 2 twin beds, too small for 2 single adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"3 Horns" is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Good times had by all.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hund
Couples
Houston, TX
Oct 6, 2011

Wonderful Old Style Atmosphere with new Amenities

This is our second visit to the hotel, and it was even better than the first. The location in Old San Juan is incredible. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I really don't think we could have asked for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Salsa music, the best we found in Old San Juan was at The Latin Roots and the Nuyorican Cafe. Things really get hopping around midnight, so rest up.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soderbee
Couples
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great wknd getaway!

Excellent wknd in old san juan! I loved the quiet hotel...felt like we were staying alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They charge for parking $25/ni...free trolley around old san juan.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJM1
Couples
Strasburg, PA 17579, USA
Oct 1, 2011

El Convento

Hotel was awesome!! Rooms were well appointed, food was terrific and well priced. One of a kind hotel. Pool was a little small, and parking was across the street at $25 per night.... Street parking was available for free if your parralell parking skills were good. We'd stay there again in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos
Couples
South Florida
Sep 7, 2011

A Real 5 Star Experience

El Convento is truly a 5 star hotel in every way. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food service is excellent, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful with its Spanish colonial architecture and romantic inner courtyard. For those who want a romantic getaway, there is no better location than this hotel in the heart of Old san Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carly's, owned by Carly himself, a great jazz pianist who performs every night (heplayed for the Beach Boys for years). Justo is the best bartender in San juan and is renowned for his mojitos. The food is outstanding, especially the tapas.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Friends
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Friends
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2011

Fantastic for couples.

Romantic ambient, with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can take the Trole (for free) or walk throughout Old San Juan.

Back to menu Return to top