$315 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vida
Business
Oak Park, IL, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Fantastic Family getaway

I love this hotel!!!!!!!! Amazing service and beautiful location!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Jays
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Nice Long Weekend In Old San Juan...except

Hotel nice. Location great. Excellent wine/cheese reception in early evening. Except...the room service was terrible. It might take hours for coffee. Only one staff person at front desk, clearly inadequate, when you would ask for assistance they said someone would call your room and no one would. Worst of all...NO kidding...a peice of jewlery was taken from the room and no one at the hotel cared much. After going back to the lobby and calling numerous times someone finally (two hours later) spoke with me and kindly refunded on night's stay. But I never felt they really cared about my level of comfort and need for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want beaches don't take cabs from hotel. Go to main plaza and take trolley or municipal buses. One fifth the price, and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reviewer.g
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Perfection

Even with an extra hour and a half wait checking-in (our room wasn't ready and the check-in time kept being pushed back), our stay was perfection. Our room was grand with large windows looking out onto Catedral de San Juan Bautista. What a view! The staff was helpful and the complimentary drinks/bottled water a plus, but the nightly complimentary wine and cheese reception was our favorite part. It is not to be missed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauli
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Traditional and romantic

A perfect place to relax. Great onsite restaurants and pleasant staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wdrewa
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 7, 2011

Amazing boutique hotel with great history

Upon arriving at El Convento, we couldn't have been more happy. The staff is so helpful. The restaurants in the hotel are excellent. Can't wait until my next trip back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss tapas at Picoteo, or dinner at Marmalade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karly
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 25, 2011

Living history

We really enjoyed staying at El Covento. The staff was extremely helpful, anticipating requests. The room was absolutely lovely, and staying in an old convent provided a feeling of living history, although with the addition of air conditioning. The location could not have been better, as it was possible to walk everywhere in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Emerald Isle on Calle Fortalezza is a locally owned jewelry business with lovely, reasonably priced pieces. The owner, Lawrence, is very customer service-oriented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish I were there
Business
Louisiana, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Romantic getaway

If your staying in Old San Juan there is no better place than this romantic renovated old convent. Ammenaties and cleanliness complement the hotel's historic charm. Pool and excercise room make good use of limited space and are quaint/up-to-date. Entire staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. The complementary evening wine and cheese was a good place to begin your evening and meet other guests. My wife and I will definelty return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockwater
Business
Rincón, Puerto Rico
Oct 23, 2011

Book it!

Great staff, clean room, excellent happy hour, convenient location. Only thing I would have changed is the beds. We had 2 twin beds, too small for 2 single adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"3 Horns" is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Good times had by all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hund
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 6, 2011

Wonderful Old Style Atmosphere with new Amenities

This is our second visit to the hotel, and it was even better than the first. The location in Old San Juan is incredible. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I really don't think we could have asked for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Salsa music, the best we found in Old San Juan was at The Latin Roots and the Nuyorican Cafe. Things really get hopping around midnight, so rest up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soderbee
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great wknd getaway!

Excellent wknd in old san juan! I loved the quiet hotel...felt like we were staying alone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They charge for parking $25/ni...free trolley around old san juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top