$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
203 reviews
Wonderful romantic hotel

This is the nicest hotel we have ever been to. The staff is wonderful. The hotel itself is... See full review

  • Jim Feldman
  • Jul 16, 2014
Way better than a secluded resort

The area is so great for just walking around/ bar hopping/ eating out/ picture taking and more! The... See full review

  • Anatole papi chulo
  • Jun 12, 2014

With a wealth of history, rustic decor and charming details, it's easy to see why Hotel El Convento was chosen by Condo Nast Traveler as one of the 'Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean'. Situated in Old San Juan, this boutique luxury hotel makes guests feel equally relaxed and spoiled. With the daily manager's reception offering hors d'oeuvres and cocktails for guests, the hotel also shows off three restaurants, a rooftop plunge pool and a veranda terrace.

Key facts

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Plush slippers and bathrobes
  • Flat panel 37-inch TV and Bose Radio
  • Goose-down pillows
  • In-room refrigerator containing free bottled water
  • Handicapped-accessible rooms available
  • Two-cup coffeemaker with premium Alto Grande coffee
  • Plunge pool and Jacuzzi that overlook the San Juan Bay
  • Fitness center
  • Business center with 7 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour valet parking
  • Club that offers beach and pool privileges at two sister properties
  • Aromatherapy, massages and facials available upon request
  • Room service offered throughout the day
  • Dry cleaning service and coin-operated laundry facilities

Neighborhood

Guests are only steps away from the perpetually vibrant atmosphere in the heart of Puerto Rico, where they'll discover restaurants, bars and galleries. Make your way down to the piers from which many cruise ships depart, or take a quick drive to Condado Beach or Isla Verde Beach. Just across the way, you will find the iconic Cathedral of San Juan Bautista.

Hints and tips

If you'd like a cocktail with freshly-picked garnish, order a beverage that features an ingredient from the hotel's herb and fruit garden.

The helpful staff members are happy to fulfil any requirements you may have.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel El Convento Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room includes: One queen bed and City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).
Vista Room
Vista Room includes: One Queen bed with full view of San Juan Bay from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room($35 extra nightly charge).
Double Deluxe Room
Double Deluxe Room includes: Two double beds with City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed not allowed in room.
Superior Room
Superior Room includes: One queen bed or two twin beds (run of house)and limited view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel El Convento also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4659 -66.1184
Area served
Old San Juan, Condado, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Guaynabo, Bayamon, Isla Verde.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 20 minutes and distance is 9 miles.
Area description
The hotel's location in historic Old San Juan makes walking the best way around to the numerous shops, restaurants, and historic sites. Hopping on and off the district's open-air trolleys is free. Nearby attractions: San Juan Cathedral - across street / San Juan Gate - 1 block / Puerto Rico Indian Museum - 1 block / La Fortaleza (governor's mansion) - 2 blocks / Casa Blanca museum & garden - 2 blocks / African Heritage Museum - 3 blocks / Pablo Casals Museum - 3 blocks / San Felipe del Morro fortress - 0.5 mile / San Cristobal Castle - 0.5 mile / Plaza Las Americas (shopping, dining) - 7 miles / Pinones forest (bicycling, hiking, surfing) - 12 miles / El Yunque Rainforest - 31 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Dining

Pizza E Birra
Pizza e Birra offers a taste of classic Italian and American-Italian dishes, but the main attraction is definitely Pizza perfection. For the perfect combination Pizza e Birra features over 20 different craft beers from all over the world. The Pizzeria embodies all the eclectic elements that characterize the cobblestone city, with a cool modern spark
Patio del Nispero
Shaded by Hotel El Convento's famous 300-year old nispero fruit tree, Patio del Nispero is located on the ground floor of the stately open-air courtyard in the hotel. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, Patio del Nispero is a welcome culinary treat serving international gourmet fare in casual yet elegant surroundings. From the best banana nut pancakes,to creative and hearty sandwiches and salads, with even traditional Puerto Rican dishes, alfresco dining has never been more tasteful!
El Picoteo
There's something cooking in Old San Juan where the food is inventive, the service never misses a beat, and the wine list is exceptional. The atmosphere at El Picoteo is all about food and mood. Hot or cold, tapas warm you up for mas tapas de picotear. El Picoteo offers a cornucopia of choice without parallel on the island. After a sampling of delectable tapas, try the paella - voted best on the island! The gazpacho, tortillas, empanadillas, croquetas, specialty pizzas are all fantastico. The wine list fills classic bistro slots with imaginative producers and delectable desserts round out the eclectic menu. This is the place that defines the tapas and paella experience.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel El Convento offers superb meeting and banquet facilities. With close proximity to the financial center in San Juan, and 7 multi-use meeting rooms of varying sizes, the hotel is the perfect venue for banquets, charity events, and high-level corporate affairs. The 2700 sq. ft. Salon Campeche is a spectacular ballroom and can accommodate from 250 - 300 people for classroom/banquet seating. For smaller gatherings and corporate functions, choose from Salon Oller which accommodates 75 people for a seated event; Salon Paoli, perfect for a group of 50; Salon Zafiro, for a group of 35, the Executive Boardroom which seats 12. Two additional rooms are available for up to 40 people. The hotel has every amenity the business traveler needs to assure a successful trip from audiovisual facilities, computer ports, dual-line data port phones in each guest and banquet room, Internet access, and valet parking. Restaurants are located within the hotel and we also provide expert catering services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Heaven!

Perfect location, we walked everywhere. No need for a rental car if all you want to do is hang out in Old San Juan (where most things are anyway). Beautiful hotel, great staff, just awesome. And you get hotel/beach passes to their equally gorgeous hotel La Concha in Condado if you want ocean for the day. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2011

Fantastic for couples.

Romantic ambient, with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can take the Trole (for free) or walk throughout Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2011

Fantastic for couples.

Romantic ambient, with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can take the Trole (for free) or walk throughout Old San Juan.

Back to menu Return to top