$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajaxx
Business
Florida
Apr 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel. Nice restaurants. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buckcg
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 26, 2013

Nice bit of history

Very nice location and staff. Rooms are quite small. Beds are firm. Restaurants in the hotel are nice, but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
radmatt
Business
Charlotte NC
Feb 7, 2013

Old San Juan at its finest

very well located, charming, unique hotel. Very comfortable, friendly staff. A very nice touch is the daily wine and cheese offered at 6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bebele
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jan 28, 2013

The Heart of Old San Juan

El Convento is a beautiful hotel! It is not only in the perfect location to enjoy great restaurants, the rooftop has amazing views of the city and water! The cathedral is also in the same square as the hotel, which makes the location even more dramatic. It is also within walking distance (less than 10 minutes) to El Morro. The staff was superb! We were traveling with our 1 yo daughter and the crib they provided was so cute! The maid for our room was great! We stayed there and attended a wedding reception in their gorgeous ballroom. I felt like I spent a little bit of time in a Spanish hotel in Europe! Cannot say enough good things about our stay! Definitely a splurge but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Germaine restaurant is a cute cafe/bistro very close by (less than 10 min) that is reasonably priced! El Convento has complementary wine for guests every night on the patio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
no frills traveler 33
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 23, 2012

Wonderful Experience, Perfect Location

I really felt lucky to be staying at Hotel El Convento. It is gorgeous, located in the heart of Old San Juan. The staff is top-notch. They speak both English and, of course, Spanish, fluently. They care very much about your experience as a guest. I was there just before Christmas time, and there were some parties happening in the center open area of the hotel. It was fun. There was some noise trying to go to sleep, but it didn't bother me. The rooms are relatively small, very clean, and lovely. (I stayed in a single, and am sure that the rooms are larger if you are staying with more people. Obviously.) I really liked it and would absolutely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are willing to splurge on a meal (and it is a splurge), I HIGHLY recommend eating at Marmalade. Everybody I spoke to said it was the best restaurant in Old San Juan and, from my limited experience, I would certainly agree. Every bite of food, every sip of drink was a delicious experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ready to go
Business
Clearwater, Fl
Dec 17, 2012

atmosphere and ambiance

Imagine walking back to your room in the evening. lighted only by small lamps on tables for two along the courtyard balcony draped with philodendron and bougainvillea, music wafting up from the patio or second level tapas bar. You've just left the complimentary wine and cheese gathering and gazed over the city from a number of vantage points. This is a lovely, tranquil oasis with every staff member ready to assist with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

La Fortelaza, the governor's palace, has the best guide and what you learn about the island's history sets you up for your entire visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emmann
Business
Chicago
Sep 30, 2012

First in Puerto Rico

Loved the location of El Concento; I was able I walk to all the historical sites and was less than 2 blocks away from the fortress walls! It was a great spot to hot restaurants and get to experience Old San Juan. If you want the beach though, this is not the hotel for you. The pool is small, and you would have to get on the bus to reach the beach. It simply depends on what sort of experience you are looking for. It is not a "resort" hotel but you can't beat the history it has!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cafe St. Germain for the best lunch/dinner! In walking distance and the staff is very friendly. Look for the cute cafe on the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxwell Smart Traveller
Business
Adelaide, South Australia
Sep 29, 2012

Spur of the moment decision...no hurricanes predicted

All the reviews made this Hotel a must. It was like being at a Caribbean Raffles. Wide terraces on every floor, overlooking the central restaurant and courtyard. Potted plants in abundance. The well-appointed rooms left nothing to be desired.. Private courtyards a bonus, as was the roof-top Jacuzzi and plunge pool. All this right in the heart of the delightful Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustMi
Business
DC
Sep 11, 2012

Couldn't have chosen any better

Loved this small boutique hotel. Very clean, great architecture, absolutely no complaints. Wine and cheese every day on the terrace. The wedding on Saturday night did not create any issues, as the rooms are perfectly insulated and isolated, even just steps away from the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
celebrating 60
Business
Indiana
Sep 1, 2012

More than expected

Staff was excellent. Couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel is old and quaint. Delightful! Food was fabulous. Had the seafood paella one night. Can't even find words to describe how wonderful it was!! Pool side breakfast was a nice treat. Would definately recommend this hotel! Had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Some attractions were further than we thought, but worth the travel time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top