$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puss and boots
Business
Austin. TX
Sep 30, 2013

Island Time!!

Had a wonderful time. Everyone very nice. Soooo relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Harbour Brewery. What a find!! Great beer and great food.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scally
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Sep 18, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!

THIS TRIP WAS EVERYTHING WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. LOVED OLD SAN JUAN AND THE SISTER HOTEL AND BEACH WERE LOVELY, AS WELL. EL CONVENTO WAS BEAUTIFUL, IN THE BEST LOCATION, STAFF WONDERFUL AND WALKING EVERYWHERE DOWNTOWN WAS GREAT! RESTAURANTS HAVE WONDERFUL MEALS AND ENJOYABLE MUSIC AT MOST. HOPE TO REURN SOON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WEAR CONFORTABLE SHOES AND EXPECT TO WALK ALOT; ESPECIALLY IF YOU'RE DINING, SIGHTSEEING AND SHOPPING ALONG THE WAY.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kippered Herring
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 15, 2013

THE place to stay in Old San Juan

We had been told by family and friends who stayed at El Convento that it was a great place, and they were right. While not the cheapest hotel (and you can easily drop $40 for breakfast for 2 in the main restaurant), the amenities are wonderful and the staff is the best. Whether it's free wine and cheese in the evenings (get there early to get a table outside) or the high ceilings on the second floor (reserve one of the queen deluxe rooms in advance) the atmosphere and location are great. There's a small plunge pool and hot tub on the 4th floor roof, and a choice of three restaurants - the ground floor main restaurant, a second-floor tapas place, and a pizza and beer joint next to the tapas place. And the staff is super nice and helpful - we set up taxis, rental cars, parking and got great recommendations on restaurants. I can't imagine staying anyplace else in the Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a fancy dinner (we did a birthday) Marmalade is awesome if pricey. A little longer walk down by the docks is Punto del Vista, which looks like a hole in the wall but has great reasonably priced food and 2-for-1 mojitos that are awesome.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr...
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 8, 2013

Mr...

It was good. Great room, excellent staff and good Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meng Lee 1989
Business
New York, New York
Aug 16, 2013

Great Getaway

Wonderful service and wonderful ambiance at a boutique gem. Really couldn't have experienced a more unique Old San Juan!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peterparker
Business
san antonio
Jul 30, 2013

family vacation

Fantastic stay at the convento. First time to puerto rico and definitely not my last. The hotel is simply gorgeous and timeless as well as old san juan. If you eat in the courtyyard area use bug spray. There are a few mosquitos. Other than that everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must eat at the parrot club at least once. Very chic and clean. Food is awesome. About a 10 minute walk from hotel on fortaleza street.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LiftOff
Business
Chicago
Jul 24, 2013

Wonderful place

What a great way to spend a honeymoon. Thanks for the great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PR Diaspora
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 2, 2013

A Perfect Honeymoon

My fiancé and I recently stayed there for 10 nights on our honeymoon. The most stand out, stellar aspect of staying at Hotel El Convento is that the staff and service truly goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect. The rooms can't be compared to modern, new hotels because they date to before the American revolution. It sits in the capital of Puerto Rico which is the oldest in the Western Hemisphere. They are small, but breathtaking and our view was spectacular (of both La Fortaleza and the harbor). The bathrooms are equally small; but, the hotel staff expertly furnishes and maintains them and there are always fresh towels. Like I said, the best part is the service. Housekeeping comes twice a day: first to prepare the room for the day, and in the afternoon to prepare it for the evening. They are always friendly and cracked jokes with my wife and I everytime we saw them. The front staff were expertly knowledgeable and accommodating. For one reason or another we had difficulty processing some things with our credit union and they were patient giving us a couple days to remedy the situation. The valet parking is also a huge bonus coming in way cheaper than anywhere else we could find in the area aside from street parking. The restaurants and bars in the hotel are also priced much more fairly than the hotels on the beach with a far superior quality of food and service. And finally: how can anyone compete with a free wine service at 6:00 every night for a full hour. Service, service, service. That's what this hotel is all about and we absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of reviews say its kind of out of the way but my wife and I completely disagree. It's a short 7 minute (max) walk east of the hotel to the best food at the best price in Viejo San Juan: El Jibarito. Local food done right. It was so good we broke our rule and ate there twice. We both ate a meal, shared an appetizer, and drank for $30. An excellent value considering the prices in that area

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy LuLu
Business
Austin, TX
May 14, 2013

Wish I had stayed longer

This is a beautiful and historic hotel with lovely sitting areas in the courtyards to sip coffee and relax. The hotel staff was beyond wonderful: courteous and helpful. The always have complimentary water, coffee, and fruit. Every evening at 6 PM, there is complimentary wine and cheese on the 3rd floor terrace. Great place for a romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat delicious authentic Puerto Rican food, visit El Fondo del Jibaritto. For amazing creole food, check out Raices. The "Tornado" dish is amazing!!!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scooter N
Business
Atlanta, ga
May 7, 2013

Old San Juan- huge yes to stay here

We were looking for a convenient hotel to match the Old San Juan experience with the comforts of today. Let's just say 100% yes, to Hotel El Convento. Two blocks from the original bay entrance to the Fort walls. 5 minute walk to the original Fortress. Great bar and restaurant in the Hotel, and 5 minute walk to all the bars, shopping and restaurants. Room was great and the staff was so helpful and Nice. Pric for the hotel was very fair for the quality. I could not give a higher recommendation. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madre for Tapas/ Mexican food. Very fresh, quality dining at a reasonable price.

Back to menu Return to top