$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sir Lumpsalot
Business
Boulder City, NV
Nov 19, 2014

Nice Getaway

This is our 3rd time staying at this location. It has never fell short from my expectations. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and great with my kids.it's location has numerous places to shop, dine, and sight see. Also, it's close enough to more modern areas. Definitely a beautiful hotel that won't disappoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nydia
Business
Bury St Edmonds, United Kingdom
Oct 14, 2014

Great getaway

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Tour attractions were in walking distance, ( shopping, museum, restaurants, and historical buildings ) I would stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything close to the Hotel.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sunnydayjuly62
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 9, 2014

Romantic Silver Anniversary

My husband and I loved Hotel El Convento! Our daughters surprised us with a San Juan getaway for our 25th Anniversary. We didn't know what to expect and we honestly thought we would probably have preferred to stay on the beach. But now that we've been there, we wouldn't have wanted it any other way. We loved staying in Old San Juan. It was just so beautiful and so easy to walk everywhere. The hotel was the perfect location. It was peaceful and romantic . . . everything an anniversary trip should be. We wish we could have stayed longer. We ate breakfast there every morning. It was a little pricey, but we enjoyed the food and ambience so much that it was worth the indulgence! The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and recommendations. In our opinion, it would not be the best choice for a family with young kids. The beach would be the better family option, although El Convento has two sister properties on beautiful beaches and guests at El Convento can use the pools and beaches at the sister properties free of charge. We took advantage of that and it was wonderful! We will remember our stay always with the fondest of memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beware when the rainforest tours tell you the hikes are"moderate". We found our hike back up from the falls to be pretty strenuous. It depends on your physical condition, of course, but if you're not used to that sort if trek, particularly in the heat, you might be in for an unpleasant surprise.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs.Teacher
Business
Park Ridge, Illinois
Oct 3, 2014

A Little Gem

This hotel is quaint, well kept, extremely clean and is managed by a staff that is efficient, friendly, caring and determined to make your stay relaxing and memorable. The location is perfect, right in the middle. When you leave, all you think about is your return. Love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the small restaurants even the vendors have great food.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
franmaryann
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 16, 2014

Incredible experience!!!

Had high expectations for this hotel based on other reviews, but it surpassed them by a mile!! The most comfortable hotel stay I have ever experienced. ---From the bell staff, front desk , restaurant and bar personnel, right down to the cleaning staff- everyone made you feel that you were the only and most important guest! Charming and old world with every amenity imaginable available. --- courtyard welcomed you every time you left your room and the free water, coffee, tea and fruit available at any time was a welcomed treat. Even when you were done with your day, a great cup of coffee in the evening on the 3rd floor courtyard, under the stars, was a wonderful way to end each day, and don't forget the wine and cheese reception every evening!!! Even when a problem arose, management went above and beyond to accommodate you and solve the problem. ----Food in the restaurants and courtyard was usually good, but sometimes inconsistent but staff made up for any shortcomings---and were right on the mark with their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. All in all, our party of four could not have asked for a better hotel stay. I only hope that I can return to paradise sometime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semova
Business
New York, NY
Sep 10, 2014

amazing hotel, location, stuff...everything

I loved this hotel! I felt like I'm back into 16th century in Europe...so much history, so much art, beauty! There was free wine and cheese on a beautiful terrace and the best coffee in Puerto Rico:) I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bronco C
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
Sep 9, 2014

Unimpressed with room and accommodations

Room was not ready when I arrived. Fan did not work. Mosquitoes in the room. Floor tile worn out and seemed dirty. Will not stay again until conditions improve. Was very disappointed since I'd been a guest of this hotel several times before and always had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pattyandgabe123
Business
Fort myers Florida
Aug 31, 2014

Best hotel in San Juan!

This hotel is gorgeous! Every floor has something beautiful to look at. The location is perfect for shopping, site seeing and dining. I can't wait to go back and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car you better be well prepared for traveling anywhere because Puerto Rico does not believe in road signs of any sort. Thank god hotel el convento had valet parking because driving around San Juan is impossible let alone parking anywhere. We got lost every time we traveled outside of old San Juan. The next time I go we are taking a taxi not renting a car.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CTFL
Business
Florida
Aug 26, 2014

Location great, rooms clean, parking annoying

Location great, rooms clean, parking annoying Daily free happy hour nice. Parking is $20 per day, street parking limited. Use of sister for beach is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian the Explorer
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Aug 20, 2014

Luxury in Old San Juan

We stayed for two weeks, and it was a perfect base from which to explore. Very romantic - great ambience, restaurants and bars, and scenic walks in every direction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carli's (restaurant) has great food, and Carli Munoz, an excellent jazz pianist, performs several nights a week.

Back to menu Return to top