$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendalinaaa
Business
Fort Lee
Jan 24, 2015

5 Stars

Luxuriously classy and beautiful, with an old world charm. We slept in the same room and walked on the same tiles as the blessed Carmelite nuns that were housed centuries ago!! Staff was so very warm and helpful. The rooms were charming, spotless, beds (room w. 2 Queen sized beds) & pillows were super comfy - extra pillows and blankets were provided. All Aveda toiletries. Lovely turn down service w. chocolates. We were on first floor and had one and a half bathrooms!! What a perk for a family of four! Wine & Cheese hour where you can mingle w. other guests. Location! Location! Location! This hotel is near all the action! Near El Morro, luxury shops, gift shops, CVS, best restaurants, pigeon park, museums and the weekend festivals. It's right in the center of the heart of old San Juan very convenient location! Cons: Their restaurant is over priced. Did not eat here once. But why eat there, when dinner at El Hibarito is delicious and is a short walk!!! A must visit for authentic PR cuisine!! Pool is tiny however, you are in PR - get to the beach! Breakdown: If you want a "party" type hotel, stay at La Concha which sits right on the beach, has girls walking in their thongs and plays dance music on their loudspeakers. ( El Convento extends passes to their guests to visit La Concha's resort premises and beach {10 min cab ride you pay for $15}). This was just fine for a beach day. After swimming all day we tried the hotel's restaurant near the pool and the food was superb. If you want quaint, classy & quiet - in the heart of the action.. El Convento is the hotel for you!!! Would definitely recommend and go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch or dinner at el Hibarito - delicious authentic Puerto Rican food.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jd1414
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Amazing Puerto Rico

Beautiful historical/boutique hotel, rooms very small but spotlessly clean, well appointed and very quiet. Location was great. Front desk staff acting as the concierge really doesn't work well, not enough staff to take the time with the number of guests coming and going to be very informative of the area or tours, not to mention the very small front desk area becomes crowded with just 4 or 5 people. Friendliness of front desk (and housekeeping staff) was great (just one somewhat "curt" front desk person - we learned not to ask questions when she was on). Restaurants are beautiful although service (attentiveness & speed) for this class of hotel was definitely lacking (a simple breakfast for 2 took us over an hour with only 3 other tables in the dining room). Drinks were very weak compared to almost every other bar we visited with the same pricing. Food was anywhere from good to very good and well presented. Would we book here again? Yes, depending on room pricing, and would seek out other venues for meals & drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

No need to worry about your suitcase being overweight, if you want to bring back liquor or simple gifts for friends (or yourself) wait until you are at the airport. The duty free shop has amazing prices on liquor, wine and various other Puerto Rican produced "gift" items (coffee, candies, etc). They will pack them as carry-ons for you.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruben C.
Business
Revere
Jan 15, 2015

Great trip

My stay in sju was excellent.The hotel staff was super friendly and very accommodating with all my needs. They went out of their way to make sure that my stay was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yuchy
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Wonderful family trip

Nice location to walk around, very kind staff, and a clean room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erico M.
Business
Milford
Jan 9, 2015

Stay in Museum!!

Great hotel with great restaurants staff great .our standard room a little small but was more than adequate. Close to everything you would want to see in old San Juan .will defitnly be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaraunt on calle San Francisco 5 minutes walk from hotel il ivo best Italian I've had in along time get the gnocchi ...

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pipe Estrada
Business
Kenner
Jan 5, 2015

Great time

We stayed at Hotel El Convento and All I can say is that we had an incredible time. The hotel staff is very helpful and the service was excellent. This is 5 star boutique Hotel in the center of Old San Juan. The location is great if this is your first time going to San Juan because you have everything around the hotel. We loved it and we will stay at El Convento on our next trip to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTQ23
Business
Leonardtown
Dec 19, 2014

Even better than we could have imagined

This hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect right in the middle of Old Town San Juan, within walking distance of everything you could ask for. The room (we even got upgraded) was beautiful with a nice view of the park in front of the hotel and a partial water view. The staff was so friendly, the hotel had so much charm and we discovered something new every day. The manager's reception with wine, cheese, grapes and crackers was great and well attended and so was the rooftop pool. We would come back here in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve & Sue C.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

One of our favorite vacations and hotel!

Hotel El Convento was outstanding! This historic luxury building offered a wonderful experience. We just loved everything about it! The friendly staff made our stay something special...from the moment we walked through the front entrance we were treated as though we were the only guests in the hotel. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was a great size and beautifully appointed, with period furniture and, oh yes, a private terrace! We couldn't ask for more. We can't wait to go back to Puerto Rico...and Guess Where We're Staying?? Hotel El Convento ! Steve and Sue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sir Lumpsalot
Business
Boulder City, NV
Nov 19, 2014

Nice Getaway

This is our 3rd time staying at this location. It has never fell short from my expectations. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and great with my kids.it's location has numerous places to shop, dine, and sight see. Also, it's close enough to more modern areas. Definitely a beautiful hotel that won't disappoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nydia
Business
Bury St Edmonds, United Kingdom
Oct 14, 2014

Great getaway

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Tour attractions were in walking distance, ( shopping, museum, restaurants, and historical buildings ) I would stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything close to the Hotel.

Back to menu Return to top