$200 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
147 reviews
Nice Getaway

This is our 3rd time staying at this location. It has never fell short from my expectations. The... See full review

  • Sir Lumpsalot
  • Nov 19, 2014
A Little Gem

This hotel is quaint, well kept, extremely clean and is managed by a staff that is efficient,... See full review

  • Mrs.Teacher
  • Oct 3, 2014

With a wealth of history, rustic decor and charming details, it's easy to see why Hotel El Convento was chosen by Condo Nast Traveler as one of the 'Top 10 Hotels in the Caribbean'. Situated in Old San Juan, this boutique luxury hotel makes guests feel equally relaxed and spoiled. With the daily manager's reception offering hors d'oeuvres and cocktails for guests, the hotel also shows off three restaurants, a rooftop plunge pool and a veranda terrace.

Key facts

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Plush slippers and bathrobes
  • Flat panel 37-inch TV and Bose Radio
  • Goose-down pillows
  • In-room refrigerator containing free bottled water
  • Handicapped-accessible rooms available
  • Two-cup coffeemaker with premium Alto Grande coffee
  • Plunge pool and Jacuzzi that overlook the San Juan Bay
  • Fitness center
  • Business center with 7 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour valet parking
  • Club that offers beach and pool privileges at two sister properties
  • Aromatherapy, massages and facials available upon request
  • Room service offered throughout the day
  • Dry cleaning service and coin-operated laundry facilities

Neighborhood

Guests are only steps away from the perpetually vibrant atmosphere in the heart of Puerto Rico, where they'll discover restaurants, bars and galleries. Make your way down to the piers from which many cruise ships depart, or take a quick drive to Condado Beach or Isla Verde Beach. Just across the way, you will find the iconic Cathedral of San Juan Bautista.

Hints and tips

If you'd like a cocktail with freshly-picked garnish, order a beverage that features an ingredient from the hotel's herb and fruit garden.

The helpful staff members are happy to fulfil any requirements you may have.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel El Convento also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel El Convento Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room includes: One queen bed and City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).
Vista Room
Vista Room includes: One Queen bed with full view of San Juan Bay from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room($35 extra nightly charge).
Double Deluxe Room
Double Deluxe Room includes: Two double beds with City view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed not allowed in room.
Superior Room
Superior Room includes: One queen bed or two twin beds (run of house)and limited view from French balcony (no step-out space). Open-air-corridor seating facing interior garden courtyard. Spanish-antique and antique-replica furniture, including desk, dining set, reading chair. Tile floor. Small marble bathroom with pedestal sink, shower/tub, bathrobes/slippers, telephone. 32-inch LCD HDTV. Bose CD player, radio. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. Compact refrigerator with complimentary bottled water. Smoking not permitted in room. Rollaway bed needed for a 3rd person in room ($35 extra nightly charge).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel El Convento offers superb meeting and banquet facilities. With close proximity to the financial center in San Juan, and 7 multi-use meeting rooms of varying sizes, the hotel is the perfect venue for banquets, charity events, and high-level corporate affairs. The 2700 sq. ft. Salon Campeche is a spectacular ballroom and can accommodate from 250 - 300 people for classroom/banquet seating. For smaller gatherings and corporate functions, choose from Salon Oller which accommodates 75 people for a seated event; Salon Paoli, perfect for a group of 50; Salon Zafiro, for a group of 35, the Executive Boardroom which seats 12. Two additional rooms are available for up to 40 people. The hotel has every amenity the business traveler needs to assure a successful trip from audiovisual facilities, computer ports, dual-line data port phones in each guest and banquet room, Internet access, and valet parking. Restaurants are located within the hotel and we also provide expert catering services.

Dining

Pizza E Birra
Pizza e Birra offers a taste of classic Italian and American-Italian dishes, but the main attraction is definitely Pizza perfection. For the perfect combination Pizza e Birra features over 20 different craft beers from all over the world. The Pizzeria embodies all the eclectic elements that characterize the cobblestone city, with a cool modern spark
Patio del Nispero
Shaded by Hotel El Convento's famous 300-year old nispero fruit tree, Patio del Nispero is located on the ground floor of the stately open-air courtyard in the hotel. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, Patio del Nispero is a welcome culinary treat serving international gourmet fare in casual yet elegant surroundings. From the best banana nut pancakes,to creative and hearty sandwiches and salads, with even traditional Puerto Rican dishes, alfresco dining has never been more tasteful!
El Picoteo
There's something cooking in Old San Juan where the food is inventive, the service never misses a beat, and the wine list is exceptional. The atmosphere at El Picoteo is all about food and mood. Hot or cold, tapas warm you up for mas tapas de picotear. El Picoteo offers a cornucopia of choice without parallel on the island. After a sampling of delectable tapas, try the paella - voted best on the island! The gazpacho, tortillas, empanadillas, croquetas, specialty pizzas are all fantastico. The wine list fills classic bistro slots with imaginative producers and delectable desserts round out the eclectic menu. This is the place that defines the tapas and paella experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Great Price and love the text messages!

It is a beautiful old hotel that has been magnificently updated and maintained. Very friendly and helpful staff. We ate dinner at the hotel also and it was very delicious! The hotel has a great location in Old San Juan and we went to the Fort San Felipe del Morro which is a couple of blocks away and did some shopping. It was a terrific stay. The only mark against was the very long wait for a room to be ready. We arrived at 11:20am and did not get a room until 4:20pm and that was only because we kept checking over and over. I suspect it was because we purchased the room at a discount. But for whatever reason it was a long wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 2, 2009

great hotel

excellent. The only negative surprise was that we were not informed of the parking fee in advance; we only learned about it at checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lima, OH
Nov 10, 2009

Unique and worth the cost!

The room was unbelievable. Marble floors, antique furniture, chandeliers, built-in wooden closets, close to el Morro and in the heart of the ambiance of Old San Juan. It was worth the cost. The staff was quite helpful at recommending places to go, things to see and do. Staff fluent in Spanish and English. I will stay there again when travelling to San Juan. The hot tub and pool on the fourth floor overlook Old San Juan, refreshing at the end of the day. Complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evening, with quality wine and cheese. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to el Morro fort, Fortalezze street (main shopping area), and other Old San Juan landmarks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tea Olive
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Beautiful hotel, inexperienced staff

El Convento is a beautiful little hotel. It's quiet and elegant, and located in the older part of San Juan. There are many nice shops and restaurants (and also the historic fort) within walking distance.Unfortunately, the experience level of the staff doesn't match the elegance of the hotel. We checked in at noon on a busy Sunday, when a large group of guests were checking out to leave on cruise ships. Although we waited for the rush to subside, the staff was still flustered and it took around 30-40 minutes to get our bags tagged and into a storage area (check-in time wasn't until 3PM). They took my cell phone number and said they'd call when the room was ready. No one called, so we returned at 2:45 and rooms were ready for check-in.The room was beautifully furnished. Unfortunately, there was no running water. When I called the front desk at 3:30, I was told it would be restored "soon". We spent the afternoon out in the heat and returned at 6 PM. Still no water. No way to flush the toilet or wash our hands. Again, the front desk said "soon". Housekeeping came to each room with a bucket of water to force-flush toilets. It turns out that the water problem extended throughout that section of the city. But it was clear that the general manager wasn't on duty and the desk manager wasn't able to handle unhappy guests by herself. Three other staff members at the front desk just stood and watched. At 7 PM I finally asked them to find us another hotel. We re-packed, they agreed to refund our fees through [...], and they booked several of us into the Marriott Courtyard Isle Verde (with running water). When the taxi finally dropped us off at 8:30 PM, we discovered El Convento had paid for my fare but not the others. Very awkward situation. The water problem was out of their control. But some basic customer service moves (quickly and proactively informing guests, keeping them updated, even meeting them in the lobby with bottled water) might have kept tempers under control. During a major situation like that, there also needs to be a manager on duty with decision-making authority. I didn't like having to come up with my own resolution at 7 PM. Not good for an expensive hotel that bills itself as a "small luxury hotel of the world".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Stay at El Convento

very friendly staff; would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fortaleza--great bargain deals; but even better if you have time to take bus to Rio Piedras (market take bus number A9 or M1)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clb331
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 26, 2009

(Close) to Absolute Perfection ...

We've stayed in many locations: resorts, cities, off the beaten path .. El Convento is the top of our list! Quiet luxury, not pretentious, great service .. not an ostentatious lobby - but what a room. Not the largest, not the newest - just simply the most comfortable, elegant. Everything in order. Wine and cheese at 6 is very civilized - and very good selection. Love the honor bar. Beautiful view ( Room 408 ). WILL return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out to the beaches to the East of San Juan - stunning, and where the locals go. Hotel will arrange a car rental and pick up ( $32 a day !) WELL worht the drive - away from the crowds at Condado or Isle Verde. FOOD: St. Germain, hands down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrevMo
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 11, 2009

Nice Historic Stay

Very nice hotel in Old San Juan. If you are looking for a historic place to stay and want to stay away from the "resort" area, this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can spend hours walking the streets and staying busy exploring the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blonde_Scholar
Business
Lexington, KY
Oct 3, 2009

Hotel El Convento Reivew

The hotel is lovely and historic. I was able to use my GPS to find it. Old San Juan is a great part of the city boasting lots of culture -- great food, people, location. Be prepared to drive down a couple cobble streets on your way to the hotel -- they are a tight squeeze. If you get flustered easily, you may not want to be the one behind the wheel. I would definately stay at this hotel again. It's beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If using your American GPS hand-held unit (I used the one in my Sprint Blackberry; although my rental car hand one in it as well), you may want to put "Street" into the address versus "Calle" as you would in the US mainland. I almost got lost trying to type it in as one would write the address in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Milford, Ct.
Aug 4, 2009

Great Hotel, Worth the Money

The hotel is in a great location. You can walk around Old San Juan and feel safe and comfortable. The fort is easy to get too. Wine and chees hour was fantastic. The service staff was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L&K from NYC
Business
NYC
Jul 27, 2009

Fantastic Hotel in Old San Juan

Elegant hotel within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. Great service without being stuffy. Quiet rooms. Romantic too as we saw 3 weddings in our 5 day stay! We really enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every night at 6 and our beach privileges at La Concha, a modern resort in Condado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort privilege at La Concha in Condado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top