$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 15, 2011

Fantastic for couples.

Romantic ambient, with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the heart of Old San Juan, you can take the Trole (for free) or walk throughout Old San Juan.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Wherever the Army sends me....
Jul 8, 2011

Relaxing vacation of my dreams

The ambiance with the inner courtyard filled with plants and trees was lovely. The employess were gracious and helpful. They had a room by the checkin to store my luggage after checkout since my flight didn't leave till the afternoon. The room I reserved wasn't available the day I got there, but they had it the next day and moved all my luggage for me while I was on a tour. The room had a high ceiling, flat screen TV, fresh plants, super comfy bed, clean bathroom, Aveda toiletries, and twice daily maid service with turndown & chocolates at night. The location was great for day trips and nightlife, (El Batery on the next block had the best prices for drinks and open till...? I still spent a good amount on cab fare and transportation for activities and some nightlife, but hey, all the good things aren't in one place. You can walk to El Morro and El Cristobal Forts , and there is a little square with tasty food, try the Arepas con camarones, sort of like a fried corn pocket filled with shrimp, delicious, and of course piraguas (gelatos/snow cones). The El Picoteo had tasty food, and the wine and cheese reception every evening was a lovely way to meet guests from all over the world and exchange travel tips. The only thing missing from this hotel is a beachfront and it would be perfect! This was the trip of my dreams, and even though I don't usually spend this much for a hotel, I don't regret it. I hope to return someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro, the Old Gate, Paseo de la Princesa and San Juan Cathedral all close by. There is usually someone in the little park facing the entrnce playing guitar and singing something lively or romantic. On Saturday watch the oodles of wedding processions trooping and out of Old San Juan Cathedral where J Lo and Marc Anthony got married. Ponce de Leon's remains are there as well as St. Pius.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Wherever the Army sends me....
Jul 8, 2011

Relaxing vacation of my dreams

The ambiance with the inner courtyard filled with plants and trees was lovely. The employess were gracious and helpful. They had a room by the checkin to store my luggage after checkout since my flight didn't leave till the afternoon. The room I reserved wasn't available the day I got there, but they had it the next day and moved all my luggage for me while I was on a tour. The room had a high ceiling, flat screen TV, fresh plants, super comfy bed, clean bathroom, Aveda toiletries, and twice daily maid service with turndown & chocolates at night. The location was great for day trips and nightlife, (El Batery on the next block had the best prices for drinks and open till...? I still spent a good amount on cab fare and transportation for activities and some nightlife, but hey, all the good things aren't in one place. You can walk to El Morro and El Cristobal Forts , and there is a little square with tasty food, try the Arepas con camarones, sort of like a fried corn pocket filled with shrimp, delicious, and of course piraguas (gelatos/snow cones). The El Picoteo had tasty food, and the wine and cheese reception every evening was a lovely way to meet guests from all over the world and exchange travel tips. The only thing missing from this hotel is a beachfront and it would be perfect! This was the trip of my dreams, and even though I don't usually spend this much for a hotel, I don't regret it. I hope to return someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro, the Old Gate, Paseo de la Princesa and San Juan Cathedral all close by. There is usually someone in the little park facing the entrnce playing guitar and singing something lively or romantic. On Saturday watch the oodles of wedding processions trooping and out of Old San Juan Cathedral where J Lo and Marc Anthony got married. Ponce de Leon's remains are there as well as St. Pius.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfred the traveler
Business
Miami,Fl
Jul 5, 2011

4th of July weekend

The staff was very attentive and the hotel was right in the heart of old san Juan we walk to museums, boutiques and restaurats in a matter of seconds.our room was on the 5Th floor and we have a beautiful view of the San Juan Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is very well located right in the heart of attractions, dining and shopping

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfred the traveler
Business
Miami,Fl
Jul 5, 2011

4th of July weekend

The staff was very attentive and the hotel was right in the heart of old san Juan we walk to museums, boutiques and restaurats in a matter of seconds.our room was on the 5Th floor and we have a beautiful view of the San Juan Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is very well located right in the heart of attractions, dining and shopping

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 3, 2011

Pleasant but not lunxury

I was under the impression for friends who had visited that El Convento was a luxury hotel. While is it is quite quaint and aesthetically impressive, it is by no means a luxury hotel. Luxury hotel connotes not just amazing amenities but also high quality service. Multiple times we had to call down for towels and to have housekeeping service come by. This shouldn't happen in a luxury hotel. We were supposed to have a Vista view - but could barely see the water from our room's window. The place is more old than antique to be honest. I would have preferred to stay that their sister resort, La Concha on Condado Beach. The pool is absolutely tiny so if you enjoy swimming do not stay here. The one positive is that the crowd here is well-mannered and not rowdy. Also, Old San Juan is very easy to navigate so the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BlkXican
Business
San Fernando, CA
Jun 30, 2011

Nice hotel in a Fantastic location

It's location is great. You're at walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. I loved its architecture, ambiance, and the restaurants it has. The room was nice but there was some cleanliness issues. It seemed as though the staff only cleans the surface or what's visible to they eye. If it considers to be a luxury hotel, staff should be more thorough. There was an issue with the iron and it ruined my $300 shirt. They did not do anything about but bring me another broken iron. Wasn't pleased at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRFAN
Business
Sun City, CA
Jun 7, 2011

"The Best Cultural Experience"

The hotel is definitely in a class all it's own. It is full of character and charm. The food was amazing. We also took advantage of El Convento's partner hotel La Concha located in El Condado. We were able to lounge by the pool and make use of their private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRFAN
Business
Sun City, CA
Jun 7, 2011

"The Best Cultural Experience"

The hotel is definitely in a class all it's own. It is full of character and charm. The food was amazing. We also took advantage of El Convento's partner hotel La Concha located in El Condado. We were able to lounge by the pool and make use of their private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boise, idaho
May 15, 2011

Family vacation

We did a lot of walking and seeing the sights of Old San Juan. The restaurants were very good, the people were friendly and willing to give suggestions, and it was very charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals for dining suggestions.

Back to menu Return to top