$261 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfred the traveler
Business
Miami,Fl
Jul 5, 2011

4th of July weekend

The staff was very attentive and the hotel was right in the heart of old san Juan we walk to museums, boutiques and restaurats in a matter of seconds.our room was on the 5Th floor and we have a beautiful view of the San Juan Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

is very well located right in the heart of attractions, dining and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 3, 2011

Pleasant but not lunxury

I was under the impression for friends who had visited that El Convento was a luxury hotel. While is it is quite quaint and aesthetically impressive, it is by no means a luxury hotel. Luxury hotel connotes not just amazing amenities but also high quality service. Multiple times we had to call down for towels and to have housekeeping service come by. This shouldn't happen in a luxury hotel. We were supposed to have a Vista view - but could barely see the water from our room's window. The place is more old than antique to be honest. I would have preferred to stay that their sister resort, La Concha on Condado Beach. The pool is absolutely tiny so if you enjoy swimming do not stay here. The one positive is that the crowd here is well-mannered and not rowdy. Also, Old San Juan is very easy to navigate so the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BlkXican
Business
San Fernando, CA
Jun 30, 2011

Nice hotel in a Fantastic location

It's location is great. You're at walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. I loved its architecture, ambiance, and the restaurants it has. The room was nice but there was some cleanliness issues. It seemed as though the staff only cleans the surface or what's visible to they eye. If it considers to be a luxury hotel, staff should be more thorough. There was an issue with the iron and it ruined my $300 shirt. They did not do anything about but bring me another broken iron. Wasn't pleased at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRFAN
Business
Sun City, CA
Jun 7, 2011

"The Best Cultural Experience"

The hotel is definitely in a class all it's own. It is full of character and charm. The food was amazing. We also took advantage of El Convento's partner hotel La Concha located in El Condado. We were able to lounge by the pool and make use of their private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boise, idaho
May 15, 2011

Family vacation

We did a lot of walking and seeing the sights of Old San Juan. The restaurants were very good, the people were friendly and willing to give suggestions, and it was very charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals for dining suggestions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Qc
May 10, 2011

Nice Historic Hotel

I really like the historic architecture of this hotel. It is really well situated in the old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hotel restaurant (Tapas) is quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
business leisure lady
Business
kansas city, mo
Mar 24, 2011

Classic Puerto Rico

El Convento is the true San Juan, PR experience. It is gorgeous and the service is superior. The hotel is old, so expect a few "character" related flaws, i.e. doors that jam and such. Food is not too pricey, but very good. There are a lot of free perks-daily wine and cheese 6pm; free coffee, tea, water, fruit all day. Free internet access. Location is awesome for those interested in history/San Juan. Kids loved it. Keep in mind it is not near a beach really. Only negatives were (1) It is a busy place with lots of traffic and noise later into the night. After all streets are so narrow, you may hear your neighbor or the club across the street. This did not bother us, as we were tired. (2) Hotel has a relationship with beach front hotels that allow you to use their beach and facilities. However, you pay your own taxi fare to get there, usually $20 each way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens and Marshall's are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Procopius
Business
Alexandria VA
Mar 23, 2011

Beautiful hotel in historic location

Old San Juan is a can't-miss part of Puerto Rico and El Convento has a prime location in the middle of the historic district. No need to drive! We walked to wonderful restaurants, the fort, musuems, etc. The hotel is beautiful; service is 5-star. An added bonus is the wine and cheese reception on the sundeck; great for meeting other guests and getting ideas on what to do, where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the El Yunque National Forest. Easy drive from San Juan on good roads (about an hour) Take a poncho or umbrella -- it really is a rainforest!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mynte
Business
Neew York City
Mar 20, 2011

Excellent choice

El Convento was lovely. It was in a perfect location to see Old San Juan. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff was very friendly, the service fine, the amenities (especialy the manager's wine reception every evening) just the right touch. All in all a charming place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marmalade is a world class restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H&L
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 14, 2011

Centrally Located . . .

walking distance to forts, restaurants, & shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top