$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Hotel El Convento

4 stars
View map of 100 Calle Cristo, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel El Convento

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scooter N
Atlanta, ga
May 7, 2013

Old San Juan- huge yes to stay here

We were looking for a convenient hotel to match the Old San Juan experience with the comforts of today. Let's just say 100% yes, to Hotel El Convento. Two blocks from the original bay entrance to the Fort walls. 5 minute walk to the original Fortress. Great bar and restaurant in the Hotel, and 5 minute walk to all the bars, shopping and restaurants. Room was great and the staff was so helpful and Nice. Pric for the hotel was very fair for the quality. I could not give a higher recommendation. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madre for Tapas/ Mexican food. Very fresh, quality dining at a reasonable price.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos
Business
South Florida
Sep 7, 2011

A Real 5 Star Experience

El Convento is truly a 5 star hotel in every way. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food service is excellent, and the hotel is absolutely beautiful with its Spanish colonial architecture and romantic inner courtyard. For those who want a romantic getaway, there is no better location than this hotel in the heart of Old san Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Carly's, owned by Carly himself, a great jazz pianist who performs every night (heplayed for the Beach Boys for years). Justo is the best bartender in San juan and is renowned for his mojitos. The food is outstanding, especially the tapas.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrmine
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Great Service

Great location and service from everyone on staff during our stay, from the front desk to the resturants to matinence crew. Everything was spot on. Can't wait to return to this hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take advantage of the bus, 75 cent to their sister hotel LaConcha.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie ML
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2011

Post-hurricane out-of-the-ordinary experience

*** DISCLAIMER: We had reserved 4 nights that happened to be a couple days after Hurricane Irene.*** When we were checking in, they stated they had water but no electricity and apologized for the inconvenience. They couldn't tell us any kind of estimate as to when it would be restored. We stayed the night, hoping the power would come back, and it didn't. We were surprised that the hotel didn't offer flashlights or anything, being a 5 star hotel. Thankfully there happened to be a dim street lamp outside of our window across the street-- if we hadn't, we would have had absolutely NO light in the room. The following afternoon, we still did not have lights or A/C and we decided enough was enough and we checked out, were refunded (thru Orbitz) for our remaining 3 nights and transferred to El Convento's sister hotel La Concha in El Condado, (La Concha: modern, sleek, clean, nice employees, and great location, right on the beach. LOVED it.) I realize that it's unfair to judge the hotel because of the circumstances that they had little/no control over, but overall, it was a negative, depressing experience. We didn't get to experience any of the amenities at all (to this day I don't even know what they are), and we felt our stay should've been AMAZING and flawless for $150+ per night. Regardless, we felt it was pretty, but not as nice and luxurious as we had expected after reading all the positive reviews. We felt the hotel should have done more to help make the experience more comfortable for its guests... discounts? Flashlights? Offer to transfer to a sister hotel? ANYthing. We also grew tired of Old San Juan quickly, and felt that 24 hours in that area was more than plenty. We were SO happy to move to La Concha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA BOMBONERA!!! Order the cheese and bacon (queso y tocineta) mallorca, and their amazing coffee. SO GOOD. Also, the food is Old San Juan is EXPENSIVE for what it is! You're paying for the location. We went to a tiny run-down restaurant, had 3 small and weak mojitos and two entrees (shrimp-stuffed avocados with beans and rice) and were charged $65! Wtf?

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuyorkrican1
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2011

Quaint Hotel, Great Location!

El Convento was a great choice for us because of it's unique history and great location in the heart of Old San Juan. The rooms were very confortable and well kept. The staff kept the room neat and clean. Although the food was pricey the open air ambiance was nice and the service was good. The roof top pool and hot tub were great. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, less expensive restaurants a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Business
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty Shackleford
Business
Arlen, TX
Aug 4, 2011

Hotel El Convento, Old San Juan, PR

The check-in was a nightmare. Absolutely unorganized and unprofessional. When you pay in full and in advance, there should not be any reason to not have a room available for check-in upon arrival. Aside from that, the rest of the stay/staff was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearce Sterling
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Quiet Elegance

Just returned from a beautiful week stay at the Hotel el Convento in Old San Juan. I researched several hotels before selecting El Convento and I was not disappointed. El Convento offers beautiful surroundings, a top notched gracious staff and 3 delicious restaurants. The room was large, comfortable and accommodated two very nicely. There were 3 weddings throughout our stay but one would not noticed it in our 1st floor room. Uniquely El Convento offered a wine & cheese cocktail hour which had a vast collection of wine, beer & cheese. The hotel is within walking distance to both forts Cristobal & Felipe. An added bonus is the solo guitarist singing in the courtyard in front of the hotel, adding to the true Puerto Rico experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in the mood for salsa dancing, check out both Latin Roots and Nuyorican Cafe (open Thursday thru Saturday). Dancing and listening to live salsa music is a pure treat!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Heaven!

Perfect location, we walked everywhere. No need for a rental car if all you want to do is hang out in Old San Juan (where most things are anyway). Beautiful hotel, great staff, just awesome. And you get hotel/beach passes to their equally gorgeous hotel La Concha in Condado if you want ocean for the day. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro!

Review of Hotel El Convento

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2011

Heaven!

Perfect location, we walked everywhere. No need for a rental car if all you want to do is hang out in Old San Juan (where most things are anyway). Beautiful hotel, great staff, just awesome. And you get hotel/beach passes to their equally gorgeous hotel La Concha in Condado if you want ocean for the day. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Morro!

Back to menu Return to top