$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hosteria del Mar

3 stars
Tapia St. #1 Ocean Park, Oceanpark Santurce, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
43 reviews
Pleasant Getaway

I stayed for second time with my wife and still having the same thoughts about this hotel. This is... See full review

  • Ocean Park Groupie
  • Mar 3, 2014
get away trip

Great! Close to almost everything, the beach was beautiful.... See full review

  • Papo of Miami
  • Aug 13, 2013
Intimate ocean-side boutique hotel in San Juan

Offering ocean view rooms, the intimate Hosteria del Mar is an ideal venue for a romantic vacation or to relax in tranquil surroundings. Across the lobby from the hotel is the Uvva Restaurant, which offers guests a tropical atmosphere set amidst breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Seating is available not only inside and on the sun deck, but also on the beach, where a candlelit dinner provides guests with a romantic evening meal. The hospitable staff is bilingual and eager to ensure guests have the best stay in the Hosteria del Mar.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Wonderfully located on the shore of Ocean Park, one of most popular beaches in San Juan and close to local tourist attractions
  • Highly acclaimed International Creature Cuisine Restaurant offers beautifully romantic candlelit dinners on the beach
  • Bilingual staff offers personalized service
Hosteria del Mar Rooms

The bedrooms in the Hosteria del Mar are beautifully arranged to offer comfort and relaxation to the guests, and all rooms are mere steps from the beach. Standard rooms offer air conditioning and cable television, as well as comfortable double, queen and twin beds, depending on the specific room. For a more pampered stay, the ocean view rooms offer a fantastic view of the glistening ocean and the relaxing, soothing sounds of waves breaking on the shore. Depending on the choice of room, private balconies and kitchenettes are offered. Groups benefit from spacious apartment with separate living room and a full kitchen, making for a home away from home at the Hosteria del Mar.

Things To Do:
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Historic Old San Juan (5 mi/8 km)
  • Coliseum – Coliseo Jose Miguel Agrelot (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Bacardi Rum Factory (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rain Forest (28 mi/ 44.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • No smoking policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hosteria del Mar Rooms

Beach Suite
Intimate and romantic oceanfront room with private balcony overlooking at the beautiful Caribbean beach. Amenities include TV, room service, Egyptian cotton beds, and the tranquility that comes with the sound of the waves and the ocean breeze.
Beach Room
Intimate rooms with direct access to the beach. Amenities include TV, Egyptian cotton bedding and the convenience of enjoying the beautiful Caribbean beach just a few steps from your private room.
Hotel Beach Cabana
A private beach cabana ideal for families and friends with connecting rooms, a small kitchenettes and a living room.
Budget Room
An intimate room with amenities such as TV & room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hosteria del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4538 -66.0519
Area served
San Juan.
Nearby airports
10 minutes from San Juan Airport: Luis Munoz Marin
Area description
Located in a secured gated tourism community walking distance to a park with a running track. Only 10 minutes from the airport and walking distance to shopping areas. Wind surfing classes and non-motorized sports available. Yoga classes twice a day and Thai massages with ocean view available. Hosteria del Mar is located in San Juan Metro Area in an area known as Ocean Park, right on the shore of the most beautiful beach of San Juan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 4.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 4.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 5.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On the top of the hotel, there is a unique and truly spectacular conference room called Mansion del Mar. It has a magnificent ocean view and it is available for conferences, meetings, destination weddings and rehearsal dinners.

Dining

Uvva Restaurant
International Creative Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Hosteria del Mar

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Jul 11, 2011

Awesome

The hotel was wonderful. People were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Right on beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ocean Park Groupie
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Mar 3, 2014

Pleasant Getaway

I stayed for second time with my wife and still having the same thoughts about this hotel. This is and will be my hotel for my next family getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuisFern
Chicago
Nov 25, 2010

Perfect little beach boutique hotel

We decided to try a smaller, boutique hotel on this visit to Puerto Rico. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried about staying at the hotel. The hotel was really close form the airport. The taxi drove right up to the beach to the hotel entrance. The lobby area is very bohemian chic, there is a beautiful waterfall at the entrance and it feels like a splash of tranquility. I love the beach so I was excited to see it just in front of the hotel, literally you take one step and is right there!!! The hotel is small but i loved the intimate and personalized experience-it seemed to add to a serene, secluded atmosphere. The first room we stay in was very small but a lovely view of the ocean. We were going to be on the property for a few days so we upgraded to a two room suite the next day. I will post pictures of both to show you the difference. We loved the beach lounge, lots of beach umbrella and chaise lounge chairs, we lay there for hours. The breakfast each morning was delightful--the staff was nice and so was the food. We had a five course meal at Uvva one night and the food and service was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again because of the intimate setting but would reserve a suite. The staff was great about setting up the chairs and towels on the beach and we loved walking out the door to feel the sand on our feet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go walking to the shopping area in Condado by the beach! Is close and the walk is wondeful!!!

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Jul 11, 2011

Awesome

The hotel was wonderful. People were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Right on beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuisFern
Chicago
Nov 25, 2010

Perfect little beach boutique hotel

We decided to try a smaller, boutique hotel on this visit to Puerto Rico. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried about staying at the hotel. The hotel was really close form the airport. The taxi drove right up to the beach to the hotel entrance. The lobby area is very bohemian chic, there is a beautiful waterfall at the entrance and it feels like a splash of tranquility. I love the beach so I was excited to see it just in front of the hotel, literally you take one step and is right there!!! The hotel is small but i loved the intimate and personalized experience-it seemed to add to a serene, secluded atmosphere. The first room we stay in was very small but a lovely view of the ocean. We were going to be on the property for a few days so we upgraded to a two room suite the next day. I will post pictures of both to show you the difference. We loved the beach lounge, lots of beach umbrella and chaise lounge chairs, we lay there for hours. The breakfast each morning was delightful--the staff was nice and so was the food. We had a five course meal at Uvva one night and the food and service was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again because of the intimate setting but would reserve a suite. The staff was great about setting up the chairs and towels on the beach and we loved walking out the door to feel the sand on our feet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go walking to the shopping area in Condado by the beach! Is close and the walk is wondeful!!!

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedykc
Arlington, VA
Apr 16, 2011

Very good but can improve

Unbeatable location, at a gated community (therefore 100% safe). Woke up every morning going straight at the beach, which is the best in San Juan! The hotel is only a few miles before old San Juan, which means that you avoid the traffic. This is a very good choice if you want to set your base there and drive around the island. They could definitely improve their cleanliness and quality of room furniture though, as well as their food menu. Other than that, very good value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Instead of paying $$$$$$ for prearranged tour packages, set your base there, rent a car, get a map and build your own schedule. You will save lots and find this to be much more enjoyable!

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C & V
New York
Feb 22, 2011

Hosteria del Mar - Very good deal!

We are a young married couple and we enjoy to travel and see new places. When we stay at a hotel we are not very picky about the amenities as long as the room is clean, the bathroom is clean, the food is good, the staff is friendly and the hotel is close to areas of interest, in this case San Juan, PR. At Hosteria del Mar we found all of the above and so much more! We got the ground floor room with private access to the beach. It was amazing, exactly what we were looking for - you open the beach door and you are on the beach. The beach is very clean and the hotel has free beach chairs. The room had a LCD TV (which we did not use because we were in the room mostly at night to sleep). The bed is clean and comfortable. The bathroom is clean, there is hot water for the shower, though sometimes the water pressure was not that good - but we managed to shower. The hotel is safe and the staff very friendly. There is an AC in the room, but we did not use it, it was not too humid in February during the night. No WiFi. Enough said about the room, because it it not that important for us. There is an outdoor (on the beach) and indoor seating area and where you can eat breakfast, lunch, dinner - very beautiful and relaxing. The food prices were kind of high for us, though the breakfast was OK ($25 for two). Dinner is more expensive, about $20-$30 for a dish, that can easily be over $100 for a dinner for two, and the drinks are also expensive ($10 per drink). there is a bar on the beach with a nice lounge area for you to enjoy a good mojito and relax. The hotel is located in Ocean Park area of San Juan, and has one of the best beach around, with fine sand and clear water. The cabs to go to the center (where the restaurants are) are about $10, and if you want to go to Old San Juan it's about $15. The area around the hotel is a lot of privately owned houses and it is very safe to walk around, even at night. If you are a picky person and everything has to be perfect, this is not the place for you. If you are on a regular persons budget and want a romantic getaway, you'll like it here.I hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A 7 min cab ride ($10) and you are on Ashford Ave in Condado, where you will find all of the restaurants, all with good food for every budget. From fast food such as Wendy's, Burger King, to nice lounges such as Perurican or Jam Rum, there's a place for everybody.

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devine Traveler
Silver Spring, MD
Apr 25, 2011

Paradise for Relaxation

This is a hotel for couples and a perfect place to relax. Set in a gated residential area, safety is not a problem. The beach is frequented by locals, which adds to the experience. Located 10 min from the airport and 15 from Old San Juan City, no problem getting a taxi quickly. Also. a tour picked us up for a rainforest visit. We did not get breakfast, as it begins at 8, but there is a local bakery within a 3 block walk. Sunrises are deserted and sunsets can be enjoyed with a bottle of Medalla, on a pillow or chair right on the beach. All dressed in white the bar, the restaraunt and our room were inviting, but with no frills (hairdryer, phone, clock). Don't need them when you are here to unwind. There was a flat screened tv, but didn't need that either, with a room overlooking the beach. A real paradise that I plan to revisit soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was not a lot of commercial businesses. Ask the desk where the bakery is, it also serves lunch, meats, and cheeses. Next to it is a large Walgreens for snacks, beer and wine too.

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JVirginia
Virginia, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great value, great location, friendly staff

Look, Hosteria del Mar is not the Ritz Carlton. You may have to endure a low-pressure, cold shower or two (the hot water is provided by solar), the linens are not Egyptian Cotton, and you won't find a mint on your pillow when you return from the beach. The location, however, is amazing. Hosteria del Mar is directly on the beach in the neighborhood of Ocean Park - about half way between the more tourist-packed areas of Isla Verde and Condado. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and everyone's English was considerably better than my Spanish so it was not necessary to embarrass myself. The restaurant attached to the hotel is a bit pricey for dinner, but both food and service is excellent and well worth it. There is also a walk-up bar next-door for drinks on the beach. There are several more wallet-friendly local restaurants a short walk away (we recommend Kasalta on Calle McLeary for breakfast and lunch), as well as a grocery store, corner market and Walgreens nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kasalta - amazing Deli and Bakery... great sandwiches and pastries. Walk away from the beach on Calle Tapia, about four or five blocks. Turn right on Calle McCleary, walk about half a mile and Kasalta will be on your left.

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sebastian FL
Dec 27, 2010

great hotel will be back

staff was excellent and the age of the hoter just added to the appeal and character, beautiful view and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top