$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Hosteria del Mar

3 stars
Tapia St. #1 Ocean Park, Oceanpark Santurce, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Pleasant Getaway

I stayed for second time with my wife and still having the same thoughts about this hotel. This is... See full review

  • Ocean Park Groupie
  • Mar 3, 2014
get away trip

Great! Close to almost everything, the beach was beautiful.... See full review

  • Papo of Miami
  • Aug 13, 2013
Intimate ocean-side boutique hotel in San Juan

Offering ocean view rooms, the intimate Hosteria del Mar is an ideal venue for a romantic vacation or to relax in tranquil surroundings. Across the lobby from the hotel is the Uvva Restaurant, which offers guests a tropical atmosphere set amidst breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Seating is available not only inside and on the sun deck, but also on the beach, where a candlelit dinner provides guests with a romantic evening meal. The hospitable staff is bilingual and eager to ensure guests have the best stay in the Hosteria del Mar.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Wonderfully located on the shore of Ocean Park, one of most popular beaches in San Juan and close to local tourist attractions
  • Highly acclaimed International Creature Cuisine Restaurant offers beautifully romantic candlelit dinners on the beach
  • Bilingual staff offers personalized service
Hosteria del Mar Rooms

The bedrooms in the Hosteria del Mar are beautifully arranged to offer comfort and relaxation to the guests, and all rooms are mere steps from the beach. Standard rooms offer air conditioning and cable television, as well as comfortable double, queen and twin beds, depending on the specific room. For a more pampered stay, the ocean view rooms offer a fantastic view of the glistening ocean and the relaxing, soothing sounds of waves breaking on the shore. Depending on the choice of room, private balconies and kitchenettes are offered. Groups benefit from spacious apartment with separate living room and a full kitchen, making for a home away from home at the Hosteria del Mar.

Things To Do:
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Historic Old San Juan (5 mi/8 km)
  • Coliseum – Coliseo Jose Miguel Agrelot (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Bacardi Rum Factory (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • El Yunque Rain Forest (28 mi/ 44.8 km)
Policies and fees
  • No smoking policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4538 -66.0519
Area served
San Juan.
Nearby airports
10 minutes from San Juan Airport: Luis Munoz Marin
Area description
Located in a secured gated tourism community walking distance to a park with a running track. Only 10 minutes from the airport and walking distance to shopping areas. Wind surfing classes and non-motorized sports available. Yoga classes twice a day and Thai massages with ocean view available. Hosteria del Mar is located in San Juan Metro Area in an area known as Ocean Park, right on the shore of the most beautiful beach of San Juan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hosteria del Mar also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hosteria del Mar Rooms

Beach Suite
Intimate and romantic oceanfront room with private balcony overlooking at the beautiful Caribbean beach. Amenities include TV, room service, Egyptian cotton beds, and the tranquility that comes with the sound of the waves and the ocean breeze.
Beach Room
Intimate rooms with direct access to the beach. Amenities include TV, Egyptian cotton bedding and the convenience of enjoying the beautiful Caribbean beach just a few steps from your private room.
Hotel Beach Cabana
A private beach cabana ideal for families and friends with connecting rooms, a small kitchenettes and a living room.
Budget Room
An intimate room with amenities such as TV & room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 4.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 1.2 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 4.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 5.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On the top of the hotel, there is a unique and truly spectacular conference room called Mansion del Mar. It has a magnificent ocean view and it is available for conferences, meetings, destination weddings and rehearsal dinners.

Dining

Uvva Restaurant
International Creative Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Hosteria del Mar

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ocean Park Groupie
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Mar 3, 2014

Pleasant Getaway

I stayed for second time with my wife and still having the same thoughts about this hotel. This is and will be my hotel for my next family getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed by pictures
Va beach,va
Mar 4, 2014

Do not stay here

No wifi ,no parking,stinky rooms,tiny,food poor,bath room tiny,wood floors, bed spread stinks, paint gas smell, no elevator, walk past cooking area to back stairwell steps for room access,no hair drier but lots of hair ,windows do not open. Staff will not refund your payment ,they must have a lot of people that take one look and walk out. Beach is dirty and part of the eating area for the bar, do not believe the pictures

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarmenrcBflo
Buffalo NY
Feb 14, 2014

DONT DO IT- this place is Horrible

2-6-2014 We arrived after a long flight - we had to wait for our room as they were cleaning -THE ROOM - was "nasty" ( looked nothing like the pics) I was hoping it would get better but it only got worst! sticky floors - poorly lit, smelled liked an old shoe- and the the doors to the beach we were promised opened their restaurant first. NO phones in the room. The bathroom was the best part. When we addressed our issues with management- we were told that even if we left and didn't stay they could not refund the charges, based on an alleged email they sent us - we had to cancel within 7 days. I booked the Hotel long before we took our vacation, how were we to know we would have issues, we demanded that Administration calls us back to discuss.. we are still waiting for the call. Like I said- the night charge is not worth the place. PS when our cab driver came in to us the facilities -he was denied- and they were nasty about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Awful Place Never Go
Richmond, VA
Dec 31, 2013

Christmas 2013

Set in a neighborhood, this is a run down, guest house. It is not close to anything, going anywhere started with a $40.00 round trip cab ride. The beach was small and not clean, filled with seaweed and trash. The rooms were dirty, there was no hot water (they said it was solar heated, did not have a hot shower for 4 days). The toilets did not flush well, we were asked to put our toilet in the trash rather than in the toilet. Though the staff was pleasant, they were very slow. The food was ok, but you could not charge anything to the room and the restaurant and bar area were dirty. No internet unless you were in one spot in the lobby. They could not print boarding passes. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, I spent twice what I should have for this dirty, run down guest house. Extremely disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Flamingo Beach, though difficult and expensive to get to, was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chee80
minneapolis,mn
Dec 28, 2013

worst hotel ever

OMG This is the worst hotel ever. If you plan to stay at a relax hotel I do not recommend this one. 1: the room is so small, no garbage can that you can throw your trash away. Only one small trash can in the bathroom that you throw the toilet paper away since you can't flush down the toilet. NO HOT WATER so prepare to take a cold shower if you plan to stay there. 2: The beach is dirty, the picture you look online is deceiving It look nothing like it. 3: They do not serve breakfast plus no vending machine either. So make sure you buy your own bottle of water to your room. 4: The hotel is a little far from all the restaurant and do not walk out at night. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay at a hotel that you can walk to all different restaurant or you will be paying a lot of taxi fare back and forth.

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
haroldbk
Dallas, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Ok for one night

When I asked the clerk if there were WIFI she said yes - but then went to room and it was not available. Went back to clerk who said WIFI was only in the lobby area. There was no hot water for the shower. The sign said they use solar power to "Save the Earth" - but had to run the water for 20 minutes and it never got warm. We were there on a Saturday night and the room was in the back but still the noise from the bar was overwhelming.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visiting Old San Juan was an Adventure.

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cortijo8
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Dec 2, 2013

Its ok!

It was good...simple. Obvisouly its not a 5 star hotel...but its good enough to get some Sleep and rest. The location is perfect cause you're in front of the beach. But overall its cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papo of Miami
Miami, FL
Aug 13, 2013

get away trip

Great! Close to almost everything, the beach was beautiful....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

or in hotel...not far from the great attractions with rent a car you find easy access to main roads, etc...

Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miikiet
Bloomfield n.j.
May 6, 2013

too quaint

changed after one night. Not what we wanted. far from every thing. very quiet, was in a residential area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hosteria del Mar

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wizkid
Cayey, PR
Feb 17, 2013

Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best part...located on the beach....everything else sub-standard..Clean but need renovation, restaurant & bar terrible...s/b rated 2-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search