$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

3 stars
View map of 6530 Isla Verde Avenue, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
177 reviews
good place

good hotel for a short stay. beach is close by. if you are looking to do more than just beach,... See full review

  • arrectorpili
  • Feb 15, 2015
Great trip

The hotel is great and the location is great. I had an awesome time, the food was great and the... See full review

  • Jarrael
  • Jan 26, 2015
The Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is located in the center of the trendy Isla Verde tourist district of San Juan, Puerto Rico where the beaches and night life are only minutes away. Our hotel is adjacent to night life, casinos and shopping, and over 25 restaurants within walking distance that range from casual to fine dining. Corporate travelers will enjoy our great location near the airport and easy access to Hato Rey, Santurce and Carolina business districts.Our San Juan Hampton Inn & Suites features 200 amenity filled hotel rooms that include coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, premium cable TV and high-speed internet access. Guests can request one of our 52, two room suites with refrigerator and microwave as well as connecting rooms and cribs.Our San Juan hotel consists of two towers connected by a lobby with a glass wall overlooking a tropical garden and swimming pool with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi. The hotel offers complimentary wireless internet access in the pool and lobby areas. Sure to please the busy executive or Puerto Rico leisure traveler, San Juan Hampton Inn & Suites hotel guests will enjoy complimentary On the House hot breakfast buffet served daily as well as our fitness center and business center. For a nominal charge, guests can utilize laundry/valet services, a concierge/travel desk, a guest laundry facility, meeting and banquet rooms and audio/visual equipment.We love having you here in Carolina, Puerto Rico at the Hampton Inn San Juan hotel!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.2 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.5 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.5 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.5 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.5 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.2 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 17, 2011

Family Fun, friendly staff

We had a great experience. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was friendly. My nephew had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario Canada
Apr 11, 2011

Good value for the money

This was a hold over stay after a cruise waiting to catch a plane the next day. The room was excellent and the staff very helpful. The amenities were good and the pool was great. The cabana at the pool made the best hamburger you will ever have and priced reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Apr 6, 2011

Nice hotel, close to airpot

Stayed only one night. Great location near airport ($12 cab ride), has nice hot tub and pool with a swim-up bar, and my room was very nice and clean with a full bath. Across the street is a Walgreens and some other shops, and there are some 5-star hotel/casinos just a short 2 minute walk away. The beach is only 5 minutes away, although not located in the nicest area of town. The staff were nice, and I was able to check in as soon as I arrived there, at about 1 pm, and didn't have to wait for my room. Breakfast was very basic and just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

tours booked through hotel all leave early in the morning. If you are getting there later, I recommend booking the tours of the bioluminescent bay, that leave in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orstillwtr
Business
Central Washington - State
Mar 15, 2011

Safe and Clean

Needing to stay just one night, this was not too far from the airport or cruise line port. The hotel was clean, and they let us check in a few hours early which was nice. The only issue with the room was a bit of a noisy fan, but quickly became unnoticeable. This was in a good part of town (upper end $$), Baskin and Robbins, Taco Bell and other quick convenience foods were there. We ate at the Metropolis which was good Cuban, Puerto Rican food - tasty not spicey which was great. Safe to walk around in the day. Beach not but a few blocks away across the street. Taxi was easy transport to and from the hotel to the airport at $12. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pool on site, with bar and snacks. Small store in hotel for necessities and candy, drinks etc. Breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
papa fisch
Business
Blaine,MN
Feb 22, 2011

Very nice.

We flew into San Juan to leave for a cruse. We selected the Hampton for price and location. The room was clean, and the staff was very helpfull, and curtious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southfield, mi
Feb 21, 2011

Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Accomodations were very good for the price paid. Breakfast was excellent. No shuttle to hotel from airport, had to take a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Burlington, VT
Feb 10, 2011

Puerto Rico Vacation

The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room was spacious and quiet and clean. The fitness center was great - plenty of equipment to use. The pool area was a nice area to relax and just hang out for a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribbean Cruisers
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Jan 19, 2011

Cruise Ship Stopover

Stayed here for the night after getting off the cruise ship. Very close to the airport and you can hear the planes when you are outside, but did not notice them when inside the hotel. Hotel was clean and pool area was nice with a hot tub and a small outdoor bar & grill with decent food. Check in was easy and they had a nice complementary breakfast available in the morning. I also used the computer room to do my online airline check in and was able to print my boarding passes. Wifi is also free within the hotel, they'll give you a pass code. We were able to walk to the beach with ease, just ask for the simple directions. There are lots of hotels between the Hampton Inn and the beach, so the correct street is important. You can buy burgers and simple food at a vender on the beach. It's much cheaper then any of the tourist priced food places near the hotel, plus you have a much better view. We also took the bus to Old San Juan. The bus stop is across the street form the hotel and the cost is 75 cents. They only accept coins. We didn't know it then, but we happened to catch the bus on the last day of the San Sebastian Street Festival in Old San Juan. The bus was standing room only and after being on the bus for over an hour and stuck in down town traffic, we exited and walked the 2-3 miles into old town. The traffic was at a complete stand still. When we hit the streets of old town, the walking crowd traffic was also at a stand still! It is said that there were 50 to 60+ thousand people at this party. It was the ultimate party, but we were never able to get to the Forts that are on this peninsula. I don't think they were open anyway. We will have to see those next time, and I'm sure the bus route will be a lot smoother also. Over all, we had a good time in San Juan, for only being there for an afternoon. The hotel worked fine for us. The staff was professional and helpful, but did not really deal with them other then check in. Breakfast was good. Rooms were large and clean. A nice, big, flat screen TV was in the room as well as the lobby and the poolside grill/bar. I'd stay there again if I come back to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The public transit bus stop is right across the street. Take the "T-5" bus or the "53" bus for a cheap ride to Old San Juan. It costs 75 cents, but they only take coins. A free trolley will give you rides around Old San Juan once you get there. You can expect a taxi ride to cost around $20 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windy City Couple
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2011

"good price for San Juan"

Good price for a room in the area. The hot breakfast was great, although the line got long around 9:00am and they often were out of the to-go breakfast bags they advertised. All and all we were happy with the room and the service. My only complaint was that the maid left a bottle of toilet bowl cleaner in our room and didn't come back for it. We brought it back to the front desk, but we were a little put off that they were so absent minded about cleaning the rooms, espeically since I'm sure the maid needed it for the next room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach near the hotel is great for beginner surfers. You can take lessons and rent a board right on the beach if you've never surfed before, although the board rentals are a bit pricey ($60/day for a foam board). We rented boards for the week from Velauno surf shop about 1.5 miles away on Isla Verde for much cheaper ($25 for the first day, $15 for each additional day). If you are like us and don't like to sit still, this is a great way to fill your free time on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralphie
Business
Salome, AZ
Jan 4, 2011

Nice room - good location

We found the room to be very comfortable and nicely appointed, including the big flat-panel tv. The hotel location is very good with an excellent Mexican restaurant just a block away. The continental breakfast was just average but ok. The pool area is lovely and we enjoyed a lounge in the sun. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lupi's Mexican Cantina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top