$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 19, 2015 Check-out: Mar 20, 2015

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
31 reviews
Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs See full review

  • Inferno627
  • Nov 7, 2014
Awesome Puerto Rico Vacation

El Canario by the Lagoon is conveniently located in the heart of San Juan with shops and... See full review

  • John De Blasio
  • May 29, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Canario by the Lagoon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 31
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miha
Business
nyc
Jul 27, 2014

just a couple nights..

perfect for just a couple days. the complimentary breakfast is nice. the staff is not. not purposely rude in any way but just a sense of indifference. location is great and the room was super clean. if you need a clean place for a couple of days this is all that's needed. anything longer than 48hours and treat yourself to something nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miha
Business
nyc.
Jul 27, 2014

good

clean. great location. cute balcony. cool ac. not so nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing NewYorker
Business
New York, NY
May 29, 2014

Perfect location

I was walking distance to the beach and that was all I needed. The only issue I had, was when I arrived on May 25,2014. The front desk stated they had NO record of my reservation. So I called Or-bitz and they resent an email to the office and when I awoke the next morning all was right with the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While you're there, you should try the restaurant Orozco's on Ashford. Good food at even better prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoNameInDC
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 13, 2014

Basic hotel, excellent location

The hotel is located very close to Condado Beach (i.e., it's around a two- or three-minute walk, at most) and to the associated commercial strip. My room was basic, but quite adequate for my needs. The staff were helpful when I needed them (which wasn't often). In fact, when I asked where was the nearest place to print a document from a thumb drive, the desk clerk simply took me into the office and sat me down at the computer. Maybe that's being *too* friendly, but I won't complain. Note: While my room safe was large enough for a 13" MacBook Air, it might not hold a larger laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe del Angel on Ashford Ave serves great mofongo. Not that I'm an expert. But a local recommended the place, and it worked for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul from New Hope
Business
New Hope, PA
Oct 29, 2013

Good place to stay if on a tight budget

Very basic, but very good price. Clean. Good service. Centrally located. Walking distance to casino. Good a/c. Bed was comfortable. No frills but would stay there again if looking for a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname must be unique
Business
Southern Wisconsin
Jan 5, 2013

Good and comfortable; well located

This is a modest hotel, snuggled among the fancy hotels, with clean, comfortable rooms, a modest breakfast menu, and a helpful staff. I stayed for 8 days in January, 2013 (the web page wouldn't accept the new year) and found it to be a very good location. I don't know the cost, as it was part of a package deal, but the location was perfect for accessing the beach on one side, the lagoon on another side, the main tourist street of San Juan on a third side and bus routes to Old San Juan and Rio Piedras close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurant "Latin Star" at all costs. Food is awful; service is worse. A good higher priced restaurant is "Buenos Ayres", while a good lower priced restaurant is "Cafe de Angel". Dennys is Dennys -- not good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nycubano
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Location

We were literally walking distance from everything! Beach, shops, food, bars/clubs! Will stay here again! Love the staff, especially the front desk lady Mathilda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top