$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
View map of Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs See full review

  • Inferno627
  • Nov 7, 2014
Awesome Puerto Rico Vacation

El Canario by the Lagoon is conveniently located in the heart of San Juan with shops and... See full review

  • John De Blasio
  • May 29, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Canario by the Lagoon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 32
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
early morning flight
Business
Roseau
Dec 16, 2014

Change hotels

I usually stay at the San Juan Airport Hotel however they keep increasing there rates so I decided to find another similar hotel so I tried El Canario by the Lagoon however the taxi cost me $20.00 each way and I had to wait for my bags and haul them up 4 flight of stairs. The cost for El Canario Hotel worked out to equal the cost for the San Juan Airport Hotel so I will be going back to the overpriced San Juan Airport Hotel with its very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disrespected Customer.
Business
Hialeah Florida
Nov 9, 2014

good Hotel, Great Staff

loved the staff at this Hotel, friendly, courteous, smiles all around. even to tell me not to smoke in the rooms. they were so nice. great breakfast at a good price. highly recommend for the budget conscious. not the largest or most luxurious, but a good hotel at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants at higher than normal prices. but the foods worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
meme eve
Business
san juan
Jun 8, 2014

great

Two nights and it was good clean room small but nice the staff good people we slept good no noise I enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Water

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr garin
Business
los angeles califdornia
Feb 17, 2014

I loved it

Very convinient hotel. Close to everything. Great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants also the beach is a walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gSL1
Business
Reston, VA, USA
Feb 8, 2013

Needed just a place to stay for a night

Not a place to take the family, but a night on a business trip it was fine...enough hot water, clean sheets, and no noisy guests. The off-the-street parking will only accommodate three cars and you have to give up the key at the front desk in case you are blocking the other folks (OK if you don't have a lot of expensive things in the trunk. I'd stay there again when I have a similar need/schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the Classicist
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 27, 2013

Good basic lodgings

If you're looking for a clean, reasonably comfortable place to sleep in the Condado region of San Juan, El Canario is perfect. If you're looking for an outstanding hotel experience while you're there... well, there are lots of other hotels in the area. I was in town on business, and El Canario fit the bill well. The best part was the location! Just off Ashford, you are essentially across the street from sandy beaches (not that you can see them from the hotel, as they are blocked by other massive buildings, but door-to-ocean time is less than a minute). Walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. I had a room with twin beds, which were acceptably comfortable. The air-conditioning unit worked like a charm. My balcony could fit two chairs and had a view of a small alley, which wasn't spectacular, but you could relax outside and sip a Medalla. Otherwise the room was tiny and nothing to write home about, but it was clean and well-maintained. tl;dr: If I ever just need a place to crash for a few nights, I would definitely stay at El Canario again. If I was looking to impress with my choice of hotels, there are much nicer (albeit more expensive) hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're looking to splurge, get dinner at Pikayo in the Conrad down the street (less than a mile walk). The tasting menu is $65 per person, and was absolutely phenomenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top