$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
View map of Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
37 reviews
Awesome one man event attendant.

I went to San Juan P.R. to attend the Puerto Rico Heineken Jazz Festival and expecting to do so... See full review

  • Xenio R.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs See full review

  • Inferno627
  • Nov 7, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mr garin
Business
los angeles califdornia
Feb 17, 2014

I loved it

Very convinient hotel. Close to everything. Great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants also the beach is a walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texan customer
Business
Killeen, TX, USA
Mar 6, 2012

The Best Vacation

This is the best and cleaner Hotel with the best trained staff, I would give 10 stars to Manuel for being very helpful and a great person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the heat of everything around you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nycubano
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Location

We were literally walking distance from everything! Beach, shops, food, bars/clubs! Will stay here again! Love the staff, especially the front desk lady Mathilda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John De Blasio
Business
New York, New York
May 29, 2014

Awesome Puerto Rico Vacation

El Canario by the Lagoon is conveniently located in the heart of San Juan with shops and restaurants and beaches within walking distance. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. The hotel has free parking for its guest which can save you a bundle of money. The free breakfast is fantastic with enough food to eat like a king, with hot coffee, juice, cereal, fruits and lots of pastry. I would highly recommend this hotel to your family when you are visiting PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to visit the Capitol of Puerto Rico and Old San Juan. Fort El Morro is nearby. Good restaurants and lots of shops to buy things at Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inferno627
Business
NYC
Nov 7, 2014

Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

cool bars all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xenio R.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome one man event attendant.

I went to San Juan P.R. to attend the Puerto Rico Heineken Jazz Festival and expecting to do so again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoNameInDC
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 13, 2014

Basic hotel, excellent location

The hotel is located very close to Condado Beach (i.e., it's around a two- or three-minute walk, at most) and to the associated commercial strip. My room was basic, but quite adequate for my needs. The staff were helpful when I needed them (which wasn't often). In fact, when I asked where was the nearest place to print a document from a thumb drive, the desk clerk simply took me into the office and sat me down at the computer. Maybe that's being *too* friendly, but I won't complain. Note: While my room safe was large enough for a 13" MacBook Air, it might not hold a larger laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe del Angel on Ashford Ave serves great mofongo. Not that I'm an expert. But a local recommended the place, and it worked for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname must be unique
Business
Southern Wisconsin
Jan 5, 2013

Good and comfortable; well located

This is a modest hotel, snuggled among the fancy hotels, with clean, comfortable rooms, a modest breakfast menu, and a helpful staff. I stayed for 8 days in January, 2013 (the web page wouldn't accept the new year) and found it to be a very good location. I don't know the cost, as it was part of a package deal, but the location was perfect for accessing the beach on one side, the lagoon on another side, the main tourist street of San Juan on a third side and bus routes to Old San Juan and Rio Piedras close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurant "Latin Star" at all costs. Food is awful; service is worse. A good higher priced restaurant is "Buenos Ayres", while a good lower priced restaurant is "Cafe de Angel". Dennys is Dennys -- not good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gucci Lover
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2014

Right around the corner from GUCCI!

Nice view with a balcony--stayed in room # 406. The hotel staff was great--this was great hotel for any price. Had a nice TV, continental breakfast which was good for any beach city and its free. Also, you should take stuff back to the room. Literally around the corner from Gucci and the beach. No roaches or bed bugs that I could see, and did I say it was right around the CORNER FROM GUCCI! I was able to buy and sport my new Gucci belt and sneakers bc I paid about $65 per night for this hotel. WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap hotel with balcony and within walking distance to main Condado strip! Ask for MAthilda, aka Tildie--she's very friendly and like your mom!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpGlobetrotter
Business
Columbus
Mar 1, 2015

Great location/price

This is a simple quaint hotel. This hotel is centrally located to Condado. You get great value for the price. Just don't set your expectations high to that of the chain hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top