$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
View map of Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
34 reviews
Awesome one man event attendant.

I went to San Juan P.R. to attend the Puerto Rico Heineken Jazz Festival and expecting to do so... See full review

  • Xenio R.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs See full review

  • Inferno627
  • Nov 7, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Canario by the Lagoon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoNameInDC
Washington, DC
Mar 13, 2014

Basic hotel, excellent location

The hotel is located very close to Condado Beach (i.e., it's around a two- or three-minute walk, at most) and to the associated commercial strip. My room was basic, but quite adequate for my needs. The staff were helpful when I needed them (which wasn't often). In fact, when I asked where was the nearest place to print a document from a thumb drive, the desk clerk simply took me into the office and sat me down at the computer. Maybe that's being *too* friendly, but I won't complain. Note: While my room safe was large enough for a 13" MacBook Air, it might not hold a larger laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe del Angel on Ashford Ave serves great mofongo. Not that I'm an expert. But a local recommended the place, and it worked for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xenio R.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome one man event attendant.

I went to San Juan P.R. to attend the Puerto Rico Heineken Jazz Festival and expecting to do so again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorge R.
Business
Keystone Heights
Mar 2, 2015

Beba's Wedding

Great location, nice staff, definitely will return,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpGlobetrotter
Business
Columbus
Mar 1, 2015

Great location/price

This is a simple quaint hotel. This hotel is centrally located to Condado. You get great value for the price. Just don't set your expectations high to that of the chain hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John S.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Puerto Rico Getaway

The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice. This is in no way a 3 star motel. I paid extra for a view of the lagoon which was mostly obscured by the Comfort Inn next door. The neighborhood was questionable with homeless sleeping close by. The breakfast was minimal coffee, juice, rolls and had to go out to eat breakfast. Doors are the old key type. I found the ad for this motel extremely misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is about 2 miles from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tikret C.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Good Trip

Its a value hotel, Great location! Its 5 minutes away from san juan by car 10 mins by walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't settle for the taxi price always negotiate in Puerto rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
early morning flight
Business
Roseau
Dec 16, 2014

Change hotels

I usually stay at the San Juan Airport Hotel however they keep increasing there rates so I decided to find another similar hotel so I tried El Canario by the Lagoon however the taxi cost me $20.00 each way and I had to wait for my bags and haul them up 4 flight of stairs. The cost for El Canario Hotel worked out to equal the cost for the San Juan Airport Hotel so I will be going back to the overpriced San Juan Airport Hotel with its very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gucci Lover
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2014

Right around the corner from GUCCI!

Nice view with a balcony--stayed in room # 406. The hotel staff was great--this was great hotel for any price. Had a nice TV, continental breakfast which was good for any beach city and its free. Also, you should take stuff back to the room. Literally around the corner from Gucci and the beach. No roaches or bed bugs that I could see, and did I say it was right around the CORNER FROM GUCCI! I was able to buy and sport my new Gucci belt and sneakers bc I paid about $65 per night for this hotel. WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap hotel with balcony and within walking distance to main Condado strip! Ask for MAthilda, aka Tildie--she's very friendly and like your mom!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disrespected Customer.
Business
Hialeah Florida
Nov 9, 2014

good Hotel, Great Staff

loved the staff at this Hotel, friendly, courteous, smiles all around. even to tell me not to smoke in the rooms. they were so nice. great breakfast at a good price. highly recommend for the budget conscious. not the largest or most luxurious, but a good hotel at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants at higher than normal prices. but the foods worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inferno627
Business
NYC
Nov 7, 2014

Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

cool bars all around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
friendly lyn
Business
nj
Jul 29, 2014

Cheap but that's no excuse

The room was not great. The female receptionist was very helpful but there was a nasty night concierge who accused my husband of trying to get an extra dollar when he told him the soda machine had swallowed his quarters. The TV was older than the hills. However they were nice enough to keep our luggage until our evening flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top