$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
View map of Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
32 reviews
Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs See full review

  • Inferno627
  • Nov 7, 2014
Awesome Puerto Rico Vacation

El Canario by the Lagoon is conveniently located in the heart of San Juan with shops and... See full review

  • John De Blasio
  • May 29, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Canario by the Lagoon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname must be unique
Southern Wisconsin
Jan 5, 2013

Good and comfortable; well located

This is a modest hotel, snuggled among the fancy hotels, with clean, comfortable rooms, a modest breakfast menu, and a helpful staff. I stayed for 8 days in January, 2013 (the web page wouldn't accept the new year) and found it to be a very good location. I don't know the cost, as it was part of a package deal, but the location was perfect for accessing the beach on one side, the lagoon on another side, the main tourist street of San Juan on a third side and bus routes to Old San Juan and Rio Piedras close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurant "Latin Star" at all costs. Food is awful; service is worse. A good higher priced restaurant is "Buenos Ayres", while a good lower priced restaurant is "Cafe de Angel". Dennys is Dennys -- not good at all.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magda M.
Business
Cranford
Jun 28, 2015

So, so experience

1st - website says free parking, when we arrived $15.00 per day 2nd TV was not working and they could not fix it. Pillows were flat, and beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natalie O.
Business
Totowa
May 3, 2015

vacation trip

The hotel was what exactly said it will be in the discription. Walking distance from the beach, parks, and restaurants. Awesome area and friendly people I would definitely stay there again. I wish it had a better balcony view. Other than that it's a good hotel for the price its given. Especially if your out and about and just go to the hotel to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorge R.
Business
Keystone Heights
Mar 2, 2015

Beba's Wedding

Great location, nice staff, definitely will return,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpGlobetrotter
Business
Columbus
Mar 1, 2015

Great location/price

This is a simple quaint hotel. This hotel is centrally located to Condado. You get great value for the price. Just don't set your expectations high to that of the chain hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John S.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Puerto Rico Getaway

The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice. This is in no way a 3 star motel. I paid extra for a view of the lagoon which was mostly obscured by the Comfort Inn next door. The neighborhood was questionable with homeless sleeping close by. The breakfast was minimal coffee, juice, rolls and had to go out to eat breakfast. Doors are the old key type. I found the ad for this motel extremely misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is about 2 miles from there.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tikret C.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Good Trip

Its a value hotel, Great location! Its 5 minutes away from san juan by car 10 mins by walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't settle for the taxi price always negotiate in Puerto rico.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
early morning flight
Business
Roseau
Dec 16, 2014

Change hotels

I usually stay at the San Juan Airport Hotel however they keep increasing there rates so I decided to find another similar hotel so I tried El Canario by the Lagoon however the taxi cost me $20.00 each way and I had to wait for my bags and haul them up 4 flight of stairs. The cost for El Canario Hotel worked out to equal the cost for the San Juan Airport Hotel so I will be going back to the overpriced San Juan Airport Hotel with its very small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Byron
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Dec 3, 2014

Ministerial Trip

My experience at this hotel was one in which my needs were met, and I was in somewhat comfort. The view I had from the balcony was not one to boast about. I was facing another building which discouraged my spending time on the balcony. My hotel experience had no problems and the staff was very helpful in all manners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disrespected Customer.
Business
Hialeah Florida
Nov 9, 2014

good Hotel, Great Staff

loved the staff at this Hotel, friendly, courteous, smiles all around. even to tell me not to smoke in the rooms. they were so nice. great breakfast at a good price. highly recommend for the budget conscious. not the largest or most luxurious, but a good hotel at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great restaurants at higher than normal prices. but the foods worth it.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inferno627
Business
NYC
Nov 7, 2014

Halloween weekend

check in was a breeze room clean towels walk clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

cool bars all around

Back to menu Return to top