$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

El Canario by the Lagoon

3 stars
Calle 4 Clemenceau, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
16 reviews
I loved it

Very convinient hotel. Close to everything. Great for the price See full review

  • mr garin
  • Feb 17, 2014
Basic hotel, excellent location

The hotel is located very close to Condado Beach (i.e., it's around a two- or three-minute walk, at... See full review

  • NoNameInDC
  • Mar 13, 2014
A European-style hotel for those who prefer a central location in the Condado area of San Juan. Air conditioned rooms with private balcony or patio, bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and telephone. WiFi. Limited free off street parking. Complimentary continental breakfast. On site coin operated laundry.

El Canario by the Lagoon Rooms

HOTEL - TWIN
Room with two twin beds, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - QUEEN
Room with one queen bed, private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.
HOTEL - DOUBLE
Room with two double beds with private balcony, private bathroom with shower, refrigerator, color/cable TV and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Canario by the Lagoon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4567 -66.0749
Area served
Old San Juan, cruise ship piers, Convention Center.
Nearby airports
San Juan International Airport and Isla Grande Airport
Area description
Between the International Airport and Old San Juan and cruise ship piers. Near Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.9 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.5 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for El Canario by the Lagoon

Overall score

3.3 / 5
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
Getaway traveler123
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 5, 2014

Excellent location

The room was nothing special but you get what you pay for and for the price I was very happy. The hotel is in a great location and it is only a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants, and bars. It is also only about a 10-15 min car ride to old San Juan. We didn't need to rent a car during our stay, but rather were able to use cabs and the local bus service for $0.75 a ride. They also have free breakfast every morning with some pastries, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee which was nice. If you don't mind not having the most luxurious room, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

1
Travelers by the dozen
Arizona
Mar 19, 2014

Rudest staff in Puerto Rico

The location of the hotel was perfect, but the staff went out of their way to be totally unprofessional. The front desk was manned by either a female that had no clue what she was doing or one of two men that simply did not care to help and would avoid helping you when possible. The parking situation was bad but not as bad as they made it seem. The elevator is going to break and fall anytime now. And if your room is anywhere near the elevator door you can expect to wake up every time the doors open because it sounds like the doors are ripped open and the elevator abruptly stops, drops, then stops again. Stayed there three days before the cruise and again three days after and both experiences were terrible. One room the shower produced a small drip/stream to shower with while the second room was directly in front of the elevator. The room wasn't clraned when we checked in on the first night so when we asked for sheets we were told they didn't have any and could only change or room for a room with twin beds. We had to sleep in a bed with no sheets not to mention a dirty room. What else... Oh yeah don't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
NoNameInDC
Washington, DC
Mar 13, 2014

Basic hotel, excellent location

The hotel is located very close to Condado Beach (i.e., it's around a two- or three-minute walk, at most) and to the associated commercial strip. My room was basic, but quite adequate for my needs. The staff were helpful when I needed them (which wasn't often). In fact, when I asked where was the nearest place to print a document from a thumb drive, the desk clerk simply took me into the office and sat me down at the computer. Maybe that's being *too* friendly, but I won't complain. Note: While my room safe was large enough for a 13" MacBook Air, it might not hold a larger laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe del Angel on Ashford Ave serves great mofongo. Not that I'm an expert. But a local recommended the place, and it worked for me.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

5
mr garin
Business
los angeles califdornia
Feb 17, 2014

I loved it

Very convinient hotel. Close to everything. Great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and restaurants also the beach is a walk away.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
kumarhed
New York
Dec 3, 2013

Nice cozy place

Its like small guest house,nearby to downtown. Parking is also provided

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
Paul from New Hope
New Hope, PA
Oct 29, 2013

Good place to stay if on a tight budget

Very basic, but very good price. Clean. Good service. Centrally located. Walking distance to casino. Good a/c. Bed was comfortable. No frills but would stay there again if looking for a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
traveler4225
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Clean basic accomodation

This is a good option if looking for reasonably priced accommodation. It was clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
gSL1
Business
Reston, VA, USA
Feb 8, 2013

Needed just a place to stay for a night

Not a place to take the family, but a night on a business trip it was fine...enough hot water, clean sheets, and no noisy guests. The off-the-street parking will only accommodate three cars and you have to give up the key at the front desk in case you are blocking the other folks (OK if you don't have a lot of expensive things in the trunk. I'd stay there again when I have a similar need/schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

3
Mike the Classicist
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 27, 2013

Good basic lodgings

If you're looking for a clean, reasonably comfortable place to sleep in the Condado region of San Juan, El Canario is perfect. If you're looking for an outstanding hotel experience while you're there... well, there are lots of other hotels in the area. I was in town on business, and El Canario fit the bill well. The best part was the location! Just off Ashford, you are essentially across the street from sandy beaches (not that you can see them from the hotel, as they are blocked by other massive buildings, but door-to-ocean time is less than a minute). Walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. I had a room with twin beds, which were acceptably comfortable. The air-conditioning unit worked like a charm. My balcony could fit two chairs and had a view of a small alley, which wasn't spectacular, but you could relax outside and sip a Medalla. Otherwise the room was tiny and nothing to write home about, but it was clean and well-maintained. tl;dr: If I ever just need a place to crash for a few nights, I would definitely stay at El Canario again. If I was looking to impress with my choice of hotels, there are much nicer (albeit more expensive) hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're looking to splurge, get dinner at Pikayo in the Conrad down the street (less than a mile walk). The tasting menu is $65 per person, and was absolutely phenomenal.

Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Reviewer score

4
Nickname must be unique
Southern Wisconsin
Jan 5, 2013

Good and comfortable; well located

This is a modest hotel, snuggled among the fancy hotels, with clean, comfortable rooms, a modest breakfast menu, and a helpful staff. I stayed for 8 days in January, 2013 (the web page wouldn't accept the new year) and found it to be a very good location. I don't know the cost, as it was part of a package deal, but the location was perfect for accessing the beach on one side, the lagoon on another side, the main tourist street of San Juan on a third side and bus routes to Old San Juan and Rio Piedras close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurant "Latin Star" at all costs. Food is awful; service is worse. A good higher priced restaurant is "Buenos Ayres", while a good lower priced restaurant is "Cafe de Angel". Dennys is Dennys -- not good at all.

Back to menu Return to top