$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
152 reviews
The Perfect Birthday

The staff was very nice and attentive. They delivered my fax and faxed it back for me while I... See full review

  • Alanda D.C.
  • Oct 14, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay!

We had a great experience at the Doubletree. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the... See full review

  • Superdama
  • Jun 20, 2014

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4512 -66.0645
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 4.00, MI, E; Ferdinando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport, (SIG), 3.00, MI, W;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raymito
Business
Guaynabo
May 20, 2014

Bad experience, bad location, not good service

Horrible experience, housekeeping was a bad service and they left my room door open after cleaning and when I arrived it was open. Bad very bad service, room humidity is high and hotel smell very bad when you enter lobby and rooms. Not recommed at all, do not stay at this hotel. Also location is very bad and parking is far away from hotel. Besides, front desk personnel is not prepare to deal friendly with guest specially the guy who is call Peter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smallest hotel in ocean park
Business
orlando fl
Jan 2, 2011

Ok but not what i expected

upon arrival we realized the hotel was not located in ISLA VERDE and second that it had no easy access. Room was very small and ugly view of worn down buildings. We did not expect the hotel to have nothing but just a small room and small everything from the elevators to the wallways......bathrooms left a lot to think about them...small shower and barely antyhing in the room. Breakfast was not included in the stay and employees were not too friends ....they even acted like they were doing us a favor? Beach was close by but with no easy access....room was over priced for what it had. Even the small coffee maker did not work...and the toilet seat was barely attached to the floor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not even for business class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lolita37
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Smallest room ever!

I was excited because I was going to be in San Juan for a day, so I decided to get a hotel room in order to be able to relax. My room was on the 8th floor, when I walked in I barely could move my small carry on suitcase around the room because the room was so small. I couldnt believe I just paid $200 for it (price plus taxes and some other $30 charge from the hotel) And for that price there was no "continental breakfast". You have to pay for breakfast.. The bed took up the whole room. My view from the window was a bunch of beat up metal looking roof tops along a dirty street. The hotel was in the middle of no where in the sense that there were no shops within walking distance to the hotel. The only store was a 24hr grocery store (which saved money in food since hotels over price their food). The beach was a good 3-5 blocks away and the street had signs that said their was a lot of violence and robbing in the area so to be vigilant (kind of gives you an idea of area the hote was in). Pool was nothing special and it was small (thats why i gave amenities a low score - but i didnt really try out the gym even though it looked nice, but I didnt have time. The staff were very kind though so they get an A+. Other than that I wasnt too impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza Americas is a huge mall that is a short drive - about 15 minutes. Has everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Apr 22, 2009

loacation good

only ONE elevator working, not acceptable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anulo
Business
Reno - Nevada
Jul 13, 2009

Not good, not good at all

This was our fifth stay at the hotel. Last one was when the hotel was a Best Western...now it is a Double-Tree - Hilton.Things are the same no matter the name, and that stinks.Sewer smells welcomes you as you walk into the pretty lobby..just as before.Our super modern LCD TV was standing on a old beat up cabinet..I guess it just didn't fit into the cut out in the wall.The bathroom floor floods after just one person takes a shower..the second person waddles in water, and no doubt the floor will buckle soon.My wife looked at the pool which was directly under our window..in four days we saw only for people swimming.After we got into the pool we found out why so few people use it..the same sewer smell in the looby just lingers about five inches above the water level.The few people at the pool said the same...what a sad story. We love the place, it is located close to our place of business and our daughter's home P.S..the elevators...You push 'down' and it goes up and vice versa..just like five years ago... The hotel is pretty..the help is super nice..but a Hilton name on the marque? naaaaaaaaah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bakus
Business
Toledo Ohio
May 23, 2011

Back aches from mattress

Very nice hotel. The mattress was terrible. We both had trouble sleeping. Had backaches. A different mattress would have made a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only one restaurant near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Excel
Business
New York, N.Y
Aug 3, 2013

Suprise %18 service fee

At first sight it seems nice, but during check-in they hit you with a service fee immediately. Rounds out to a extra twenty something a night. The room was very small but with a nice bathroom. The pool and hot tub also small and filthy, one night the pool smelled of vomit and we decided not to even get in. Self parking $15 and around the corner 3 min walk and for compact cars only, valet $21. what they don't tell you is there is another parking lot not affiliated across the street also 3 min away for $6. Beach and stores about 15 to 20 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Punto Perro is a small beach about 5-10 min drive, nice view, clear water, tubing, kayaking, snorkeling, and a denny's across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Met
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2009

Doubletree Hilton San Juan

My recent stay at the Doubletree Hilton San Juan hotel was subpar. When I checked-in there was no one available to take my luggage and show me to my room. The room service was terrible. I could never reach them by phone nor through the front desk. The Housekeeping was terrible as well. My room was non-smoking yet I found a cigarette under the bed. My room had a ice pot holder that had a small disposable bag that was only replaced twice during my stay. Some staff were friendly while others did not even bother to acknowledge me. Watch out for the valet parking because there is an additional 7 percent charge every time you utilize the parking garage. I enjoyed the jacuzzi and chess board in the pool area. I used the pool at night and it always had mosquitoes floating in it. The positives are that there is a 24 hour supermarket across the street and a cafe around the block which is really convenient. The highway is only blocks away. The beach is only blocks away and Ashford Ave. is a strip with stores, bars, and restaurants. Also try the restaurant in the hotel lobby, Micheal Bistro's their food is pretty good. I would only recommend this hotel to those who do not rely on the services a hotel has to offer. The rooms are adequate, soda machines were available on my floor and that was pretty much it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Everything is conveniently located whether it be walking or driving because the highway is a couple of blocks and Condado beach and Ashford Ave. is three to four blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 6, 2011

Nice Hotel

This hotel is very nice for the price. Rooms, pool area, and customer service were excellent. The reason I gave three stars is due to the distance from the beach. It is a five minute walk from Condado Beach however that beach is not maintained very well. It's a twenty minute walk to the east end of Condado Beach which is a lot nicer. Adventure packages offered by the hotel were nice. Awesome hotel but if you're a beach bum I'd recommend paying a little more to stay closer to Isla Verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebo food around the corner is affordable and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRae
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 5, 2011

Clean but staff and bed comfort below par

The property was clean and it was a nice touch to be greeted with a cookie. But the check-in staff were not friendly. At first I thought it was because they had several people checking in (three other couples). But later when it was quiet, another couple we were with asked for a copy of the Que Pasa (sp?) magazine listing restaurants, etc., a gentleman told them there was one in their room, they were just overlooking it. When staff was told it was not in the room and they would like a copy of it, they were not given one. The room we were given was nice and clean but cramped. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. Too soft and squeaky. Next time I will try someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top