$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
152 reviews
The Perfect Birthday

The staff was very nice and attentive. They delivered my fax and faxed it back for me while I... See full review

  • Alanda D.C.
  • Oct 14, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay!

We had a great experience at the Doubletree. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the... See full review

  • Superdama
  • Jun 20, 2014

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destin,FL
Mar 2, 2011

"Not MY cup of tea"

The hotel was nice in appearance.Easy and early check-in.Room average in size, but very modern in style. Front staff was very helpful. Both restaurants staff were slow, especially at Under the Tree! Sunday Brunch at hotel too high, plus only choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask Front Desk, go early. "OP's"was the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sprite's mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 31, 2011

Comfortable, yummy cookie!

Greeted w/ a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival, ( nice touch)small pool and whirlpool, but adequate, room was fresh, modern design, w/coffee maker, fridge & micro. Nice sheets & bed, only draw back, too much light seeping in window and from bathroom in the morning, as bath was all frosted glass enclosed, so if light was turned on at night or morning, sleeping spouse was awakened!Right on bus line to old san juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus to go downtown, very cheap .75 each way to old san juan. Taxi a much pricier option & not needed. Bebo's to eat very good, cheap & local, right around corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texan
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 2, 2011

Modern-style hotel

Our room was very clean when we checked-in. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a grocery store across the street and the bus stops are near-by. There are several restaurants and the beach with-in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The local bus will take you into Old San Juan (for 75 cents) but the stops are not clearly marked and there seems to be no clear stop schedule. You will need change as dollar bills are not accepted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smallest hotel in ocean park
Business
orlando fl
Jan 2, 2011

Ok but not what i expected

upon arrival we realized the hotel was not located in ISLA VERDE and second that it had no easy access. Room was very small and ugly view of worn down buildings. We did not expect the hotel to have nothing but just a small room and small everything from the elevators to the wallways......bathrooms left a lot to think about them...small shower and barely antyhing in the room. Breakfast was not included in the stay and employees were not too friends ....they even acted like they were doing us a favor? Beach was close by but with no easy access....room was over priced for what it had. Even the small coffee maker did not work...and the toilet seat was barely attached to the floor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not even for business class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, New York
Jan 1, 2011

Paris herself would be proud!

During my 4 days in San Juan, there was about one hour of sun. The hotel actually made that OK. The pool area (with waterfalls and whirlpool) was serene. The gym was perfect - none of that depressing hotel "fitness center" ambiance. I was alone, so I used room service. When I called, I always felt the staff couldn't wait to help. The food was wonderful. And my room? Both stylish and comfy. Paris herself would have been proud!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All 4 of the hotel's restaurants are impressive. There's a cool 24 hr. grocery store across the street for snacks. For a short stay, my hint is never leave the hotel. You just don't need to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 30, 2010

good value

The hotel was clean and comfortable, but not in a great location except that there was a full service(24 hour) grocery store across the street. You needed to take a cab just about anywhere($15 one way) The pool was too cold but the spa was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Under The Trees restaurant had good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mayaguez, pr
Dec 5, 2010

A really cool getaway

Cool details in the hotel, free internet and if you forgot some items like tooth paste the hotel resolve your problem at no chare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time Cruiser
Business
Provo, UT
Nov 19, 2010

Wonderful Hotel for the Price

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful with directions and things to do and see. They also helped us change rooms with out any problems. We wanted to upgrade to a larger room. The hotel was very close to the cruise ship piers, and to many attractions. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store across the street was great. We were able to buy snacks and drinks and store them in the fridge in our room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Livin Life
Business
Dumfries, Virginia
Oct 29, 2010

Just what I needed

I read online reviews and was skeptical at first, because this was my 1st time in PR. If you prefer modern boutique like hotels the doubletree hilton is the place to stay. My room had a view of the city and no balcony,but it was okay I was there to relax at the beach and do some sightseeing so that didn't bother me. They have the beach club so i was also able to use the pool at the LaConcha. They do have rooms with balconies available. The room i had was clean and modern flat screen tv,a shower no tub,a radio that you can hook your ipod up to plus internet access in the room, and a busniess center downstairs you can use or print too if needed. The fitness room and pool/jacuzzi is open 24hrs. Everything was very clean and new. Michael's Bistro inside the hotel serves a breakfast buffet or you can order from the menu ,the manager and waiters/bartender were pleasant. The drinks at night were also nice.They also have 3 other restuarants less than 1000 ft away and a grocery store across the street. The hotel is only blocks from the beach north and 3 blocks from the art museum south. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks [...] the ladies and other gentlemen at the front desk. Helpful hint: bring cash break it down to 1s,5s,10s,and there is no change machine on the bus so make sure you have 75cents in quarters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's plenty of shopping along ashford avenue 3 blocks away high end and low end. The bus is only 75cents, but there is no schedule so you may have to wait 15 minutes for a bus, so if you prefer to save the money on the cab and are in shape to walk its really nice to walk along ashford ave and walk in and out the shops and most sales persons speak english. Ashford ave also has wendys, subway, starbucks, haagen daas and walgreens plus many local eateries like tijuana and casinos up the strip. The bus will take you to old san juan and you take the ferry to the bacardi factory. Explore old san juan and then go to the bacardi factory last if you plan to purchase liquor otherwise you will have to carry it around all day. Make sure you keep 1 dollar bills on you at all times. Getting change can be cumbersome, and sometimes the credit cards machines don't work. Some gift cards do not work in PR so verify before you leave the states. I had a great time cant wait to go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL
Oct 19, 2010

bitter sweet

The hotel was great. We had originally booked with a different hotel. The hotel was very rude upon our arrival. They would not let us check in late without paying a 75.00 fee. In addition, to that they would not even store our luggage so we could wait in the casino. I would never stay at the Marriot Stellaris if they gave it to me free of cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

please research the surrounding cross streets.The taxis will charge the same rate to take you 2 blocks as 12 miles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top