$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
View map of 105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Wonderful Staff and service

The staff at the Double Tree San Juan were amazing. We had gotten lost in a downpour and ended up... See full review

  • Melissa S.
  • Feb 27, 2015
friendly staff, great locale, very clean hotel

The DoubleTree met our requirements and then some. The hotel is in a great location close to bars,... See full review

  • tjmmlmm
  • Feb 24, 2015

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Super Couple
Business
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Jul 31, 2011

Excellent, Clean Hotel & Great Service

Our stay at the Doubletree was excellent. The rooms were very nice, clean, and large, including the convenience of a microwave, fridge and safe. All of the hotel employees were extremely friendly and helpful, with special thanks to [...]. The hotel had a nice pool and lounging areas. The hotel computers (5 in total) worked very well. Overall the hotel had an impressive design and decor (lobby and rooms). We would definitely stay again. We would highly recommend you ask for your authorization to visit La Concha Resort (Doubletree's sister hotel) which is approx a 20 minute walk. You get to enjoy all the splendid benefits offered at La Concha resort, like: private, beach, towels, chairs, umbrellas, awesome pools and lounge areas. You can even charge your room at the Doubletree for any lunch or other purchases at La Concha. And all this for a third of the price....without settling for much less comfort or style! The Doubletree is located across from a large grocery store, which has anything and everything you could need. In terms of site seeing- we suggest visiting Old San Juan. The streets and shops are very quaint and a pleasure to stroll through. Seeing the Fort Cristobal in Old San Juan is also suggested, as it is an historic landmark. We don't recommend visiting the Rain Forest. We found that it was not as grand or impressive as they hyped it up to be...save your $62 per person and spend it somewhere else. If you are into shopping, then you should visit Plaza Las Americas which is the largest mall in the Caribbean, however I did not personally find it any different than shopping in any other mall in the USA, however the mall was very nice and large.In terms of restaurants, I would definitely recommend you visit Mojito's in Old San Juan for some authentic Puerto Rican Mofongos. They are a 3 inch plantain pate filled with your choice of pork, beef, chicken, or crab....I recommend the chicken and pork... prices are reasonable (approx $15-20/person). Another restaurant is Cafe Bebo's in Condado; its prices are very reasonable and its food is pretty good – try the Alcapurrias –they are a deep fried breaded beef stuffed appetizer that is delicious, especially dipped in the mayo-ketchup sauce.If you want to spoil yourselves with gourmet experience, visit Niche restaurant also in Condado. Niche is in the Acacia hotel. It is a small, romantic restaurant; however it is on the pricey side. ($50-$60/person). We recommend the mussel, and mango salad for appetizers and the lamb for the entree. You can easily share these plates with 2 people.Hope you enjoy yourselves as much as we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bakus
Business
Toledo Ohio
May 23, 2011

Back aches from mattress

Very nice hotel. The mattress was terrible. We both had trouble sleeping. Had backaches. A different mattress would have made a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only one restaurant near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naturedoc
Business
Ripon, WI
Apr 7, 2011

Excellant Service and Staff

The hotels staff was so nice and accommodating and greeted us warmly when we got in so late. They gave us warm cookies and bottles of water and got us to our room quickly. The rooms are narrow but the small touches are so elegant. There is a gorgeous bathroom with nice glass enclosed shower. We have a queen bed with a Murphy bed that is fun and the beds are super comfortable. Were on the 7th floor and have a huge view of the city, looking to the right I can even see the ocean that is 3 blocks away. This is well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street there is a Super Max grocery store that has a cafeteria with hot foods and the whole store of items. It's cheaper to buy your lunches and drinks there then anywhere else as taxi's are expensive here. They also have a range of foods from Puerto Ricon, Italian, sushi and lots of sandwiches. Or you can get cold cuts and make your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver,CO
Mar 28, 2011

Lovely Puerto Rico

The hotel was really awesome specially the cookies :) But I wish the hotel is located by the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 17, 2011

Great place

Helpful and friendly staff, clean and freshly renovated rooms, easy check-in and out. We arrived early and they put us into a room ASAP at no additional charge. We got great recomendations on places to eat, visit, avoid, etc. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recomend to anyone who wants a great place to stay in Puerto Rico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure if taking a cab, that you bargain for price before getting in cab and also make sure that the person who you are bargaining with is the actual driver as we fell victim to a bait and switch scheme. One person bargained and another drove and we were asked for the cab fare in advance, and then came to our rescue and sent the driver away as we had already paid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destin,FL
Mar 2, 2011

"Not MY cup of tea"

The hotel was nice in appearance.Easy and early check-in.Room average in size, but very modern in style. Front staff was very helpful. Both restaurants staff were slow, especially at Under the Tree! Sunday Brunch at hotel too high, plus only choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask Front Desk, go early. "OP's"was the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sprite's mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 31, 2011

Comfortable, yummy cookie!

Greeted w/ a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival, ( nice touch)small pool and whirlpool, but adequate, room was fresh, modern design, w/coffee maker, fridge & micro. Nice sheets & bed, only draw back, too much light seeping in window and from bathroom in the morning, as bath was all frosted glass enclosed, so if light was turned on at night or morning, sleeping spouse was awakened!Right on bus line to old san juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus to go downtown, very cheap .75 each way to old san juan. Taxi a much pricier option & not needed. Bebo's to eat very good, cheap & local, right around corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texan
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 2, 2011

Modern-style hotel

Our room was very clean when we checked-in. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a grocery store across the street and the bus stops are near-by. There are several restaurants and the beach with-in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The local bus will take you into Old San Juan (for 75 cents) but the stops are not clearly marked and there seems to be no clear stop schedule. You will need change as dollar bills are not accepted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smallest hotel in ocean park
Business
orlando fl
Jan 2, 2011

Ok but not what i expected

upon arrival we realized the hotel was not located in ISLA VERDE and second that it had no easy access. Room was very small and ugly view of worn down buildings. We did not expect the hotel to have nothing but just a small room and small everything from the elevators to the wallways......bathrooms left a lot to think about them...small shower and barely antyhing in the room. Breakfast was not included in the stay and employees were not too friends ....they even acted like they were doing us a favor? Beach was close by but with no easy access....room was over priced for what it had. Even the small coffee maker did not work...and the toilet seat was barely attached to the floor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not even for business class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, New York
Jan 1, 2011

Paris herself would be proud!

During my 4 days in San Juan, there was about one hour of sun. The hotel actually made that OK. The pool area (with waterfalls and whirlpool) was serene. The gym was perfect - none of that depressing hotel "fitness center" ambiance. I was alone, so I used room service. When I called, I always felt the staff couldn't wait to help. The food was wonderful. And my room? Both stylish and comfy. Paris herself would have been proud!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All 4 of the hotel's restaurants are impressive. There's a cool 24 hr. grocery store across the street for snacks. For a short stay, my hint is never leave the hotel. You just don't need to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top