$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
View map of 105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
157 reviews
Wonderful Staff and service

The staff at the Double Tree San Juan were amazing. We had gotten lost in a downpour and ended up... See full review

  • Melissa S.
  • Feb 27, 2015
friendly staff, great locale, very clean hotel

The DoubleTree met our requirements and then some. The hotel is in a great location close to bars,... See full review

  • tjmmlmm
  • Feb 24, 2015

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lolita37
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Smallest room ever!

I was excited because I was going to be in San Juan for a day, so I decided to get a hotel room in order to be able to relax. My room was on the 8th floor, when I walked in I barely could move my small carry on suitcase around the room because the room was so small. I couldnt believe I just paid $200 for it (price plus taxes and some other $30 charge from the hotel) And for that price there was no "continental breakfast". You have to pay for breakfast.. The bed took up the whole room. My view from the window was a bunch of beat up metal looking roof tops along a dirty street. The hotel was in the middle of no where in the sense that there were no shops within walking distance to the hotel. The only store was a 24hr grocery store (which saved money in food since hotels over price their food). The beach was a good 3-5 blocks away and the street had signs that said their was a lot of violence and robbing in the area so to be vigilant (kind of gives you an idea of area the hote was in). Pool was nothing special and it was small (thats why i gave amenities a low score - but i didnt really try out the gym even though it looked nice, but I didnt have time. The staff were very kind though so they get an A+. Other than that I wasnt too impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza Americas is a huge mall that is a short drive - about 15 minutes. Has everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apheks
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Great getaway

The hotel staff was very friendly, attentive, and went out of their way to ensure the hotel was a comfortable environment. There was a minor issue with the shower in my room, but they had it fixed by the time I returned from breakfast the first day. And, FREE COOKIES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Habitual Traveller
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Short, but Nice

The DoubleTree Hilton was excellent. The Hotel is beautiful, and the staff was very pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yong d park
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

excellent place or family vacation

all staffs are very nice. But breakfast buffet could be improved in some way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candygirl
Business
Pr
Jan 2, 2012

Good place,nice & super clean

Excellent service,large and nice rooms. Dinners a little expensives butt great foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza las Americas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chatakat
Business
Texas
Nov 14, 2011

Doubletree was amazing

The staff, the grounds and the room were just amazing. The pool needs a tad more sun to warm it up a bit - but it was November :-) We stayed a Friday and Saturday before our cruise and the day we returned to port we had about 5 hours before our flight. They welcomed us back, stored our luggage and let us hang out at the pool. Not to mention allowing us to print our boarding passes. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store across the street has salads, plate lunches, sandwiches, etc. Really an inexpensive meal that tasted just fine. Especially when we ate at the picnic tables around the pool area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1643ar
Business
Hebron, NE 68370, USA
Oct 10, 2011

EXCELLENT!

Staff is wonderful!! Rooms very nice. We had a nice experience at this hotel. Should have 5 stars!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRae
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 5, 2011

Clean but staff and bed comfort below par

The property was clean and it was a nice touch to be greeted with a cookie. But the check-in staff were not friendly. At first I thought it was because they had several people checking in (three other couples). But later when it was quiet, another couple we were with asked for a copy of the Que Pasa (sp?) magazine listing restaurants, etc., a gentleman told them there was one in their room, they were just overlooking it. When staff was told it was not in the room and they would like a copy of it, they were not given one. The room we were given was nice and clean but cramped. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. Too soft and squeaky. Next time I will try someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin
Business
Illinois, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Doubletree

If using a GPS make sure you search for the Best Western Hotel since that is what it used to be. Hotel was pretty nice and clean except for the pool which had leaves and hair in it. Front desk clerks were always talking to one another and sometimes acted like you were a burden if you needed something. However, Juan from the front desk was overly friendly and helped us out a lot such as recommending places to eat and activities. The location isn't too bad but if you're wanting a beach atmosphere would recommend staying down toward Carolina/Isla Verde but for the price it was excellent. I did not like that you had to walk through a couple establishments to get from the parking garage to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like sushi, I would recommend Silk, very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 6, 2011

Nice Hotel

This hotel is very nice for the price. Rooms, pool area, and customer service were excellent. The reason I gave three stars is due to the distance from the beach. It is a five minute walk from Condado Beach however that beach is not maintained very well. It's a twenty minute walk to the east end of Condado Beach which is a lot nicer. Adventure packages offered by the hotel were nice. Awesome hotel but if you're a beach bum I'd recommend paying a little more to stay closer to Isla Verde beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebo food around the corner is affordable and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top