$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Really enjoyed our stay!

We had a great experience at the Doubletree. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the... See full review

  • Superdama
  • Jun 20, 2014
Can't wait to go back!

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and we had an amazing time. The staff was so friendly... See full review

  • louisiana love
  • Jun 12, 2014

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4512 -66.0645
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 4.00, MI, E; Ferdinando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport, (SIG), 3.00, MI, W;

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Man from Paradise
St Croix
Feb 19, 2013

Great place and location

Everybody was very friendly and eager to help. The room was clean and exceeded my expectations . Relative close to shopping center and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artour
Laurel, MD
Mar 13, 2014

Nice Stay

Overall was good experience. Friendly staff. Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angelapc
Aventura, Fl
Mar 13, 2014

Great place to stay

If you don't need to wake-up and immediately put your feet on beach sand this is a great place to stay. It is conveniently located to access all major expressways, close to the airport and close to the historic Old San Juan as well as to the Ashford Avenue. Great place for business travel as well. The staff is very attentive to guest needs topped with a very friendly attitude. Good Job Hilton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowbirds trippers
Venice, FL
Feb 3, 2014

decent value, excellent staff

A few blocks back from the actual beaches in Condado. Great that they give you a letter so you can go to the Hilton La Concha resort and have access to the pools, beach, towels, etc. A 20 minute walk. Has a great 24 hr grocery store right across the street. The staff are the best. Friendly, very helpful, very courteous, fast to help with anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque tropical rainforest guided tour is an absolute must, as long as you don't mind an up and down walk to hike to the beautiful falls there.

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aylin88
New Jersey
Jan 29, 2014

Highly recommend

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel was new and modern and the room was very clean and comfortable. There is a 24 hour grocery store across the street and dozens of restaurants within walking distance. The beach is only a short walk away. The rainforest, El Yunque, was only a 45 min drive away by rental car, which is probably the best way to go, since it is a bit out of the way and a cab would probably cost much more. It was an amazing day of exploration and hiking that was well worth it. Anyone staying in San Juan for more than a few days shouldn't miss El Yunque. This hotel suited our needs and then some! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend Pinky's for breakfast and Ali Baba Turkish restaurant for dinner. Both were two of the best meals we had all week and within a 15 minute walk from the Doubletree.

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlvaroF
Germany
Jan 15, 2014

Very friendly staff, good location and all you need

This hotel offers a very good value for money. The staff is very friendly and you feel at home from the beginning, when you receive a warm and delicious chocolate cookie when you check in. The location of the hotel is very good: you are just 500 meters away from the beach and just 10 minutes by taxi from old San Juan. You have a supermarket near the hotel open 24 hours. You have very good restaurants near by and also a Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Silk restaurant just 3 minutes walk from hotel. Excelent Japanese Restaurant. For the quality you get it is not that expensive.

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I went to San Juan
DC
Jan 13, 2014

Good Hotel, Could use help at front desk

I have no problems with the actual hotel. And the staff there is nice for the most part. The people at the bar are awesome! There was one person named Peter at the front desk who was quite unhelpful. For instance, I went to the front desk to ask if there was a water fountain. Peter's response - there's a water cooler in the gym. My response - oh, I checked and the water cooler is out of water; is there another way I can refill my bottle or another water fountain? Peter's response - (shakes his head looking at me like i'm crazy) I'm sorry there's nothing you can do. Um... you could have said, we'll refill the water cooler as soon as we can OR if you wait, I can get you more complimentary bottled waters OR there's a shop at so and so. What I ended up doing was walking to the bar (inside the hotel!) to ask them for water and the staff there kindly refilled my bottle. Also, Peter had a hard time finding my check in information... because he was looking for my first name as a last name. When we politely asked him to flip the names, he just had the worst attitude. I know they had a busy time during the holidays but this guy was just rude the whole time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

late at night, go to Diana's!

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Girl 88
New York City
Jan 8, 2014

Great Value, Nice Staff

The hotel was very comfortable, a short walk from the public beach, across the street from the super market, had an average pool area, a great restaurant across the street (under the trees, highly recommend it!), and very friendly service. Its not central downtown but that area is walkable and I felt very safe walking there. The room was very clean and the bathroom was great except that the shower didn't drain properly all the time. I also found the beds very comfortable with many pillows. I think its great for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant across the street "Under the Trees" had really great Mofungo (a Puerto Rican must-try food) compared to other places in old San Juan and the happy hour is great too!

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Germscol
Bogota Colombia
Jan 6, 2014

Good hotel, good location, basic service

The hotel is in a center location and has nice beach plans with other hotels, nevertheless in the hotel they never tell you all the benefits and the service is basic and sometimes bad. Is more a bussines hotel than relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach park in ashford avenue

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff60626
Chicago, IL
Dec 20, 2013

Great spot for San Juan trip

Our room at the Doubletree was great for what we needed: a clean, comfortable place to come back to after exploring San Juan and Puerto Rico, with a very helpful staff. The location isn't picturesque, but it is easy to get to the beach on foot and we were able to use the beaches of Doubletree's "sister hotels" whenever we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic brunch at Blonda, right up the road on your way to the beach.

Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Juangie
Chicago
Dec 15, 2013

One night jump point

The doubletree is a great place to stay for a night or two in San Juan. We booked the doubletree for its value. We wanted something nice, but not too pricey for a day in San Juan before leaving to explore the rest of PR. It is easy to get to from the airport and has self or valet parking for $15 or $20 per night. The hotel staff was extremely helpful with site seeing info and recommendations. The hotel is only a 15 minute drive to Old San Juan and very close to some great restaurants and bars. There is a 24 hour supermarket across the street which is very convenient. The hotel is not on the beach, but the Doubletree has a shuttle that will take you to their sister hotel located on the beach. Plus, the pool and hot tub are open 24 hours as well. I probably wouldn't stay here for a week long trip, but it's perfect for a weekend or one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top