$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
View map of 105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneSourceAtlanta.Com
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 15, 2009

Nice & Clean

I just got back from Puerto Rico and stayed at the Doubletree Inn at San Juan. I liked the staff and the hot cookies. The room was always clean. It was pretty close to the beach and restaurants. We would walk to either Bebos Cafe which was two blocks away, or walk to Ashford Ave which had a variety of shops and restaurants. We also caught the bus to Old San Juan twice (Bus# A5 or B21), it was only .75 cents. We caught the bus to Old San Juan, then took the free trolley that road us around Old San Juan took the ferry to the other side of the island (.50 cents each) and took the free Bacardi tour (less than $5 for two people). I believe next time, I would like to stay either in Old San Juan or Isa Verde, because of being closer to everything. I try to not rent a car, but use the money for excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery Store across the street and Bebos Cafe around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 15, 2009

Doubletree - San Juan (Condado)

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beach located within a couple of blocks. The only downside was that the hotel is a $15 taxi ride to downtown San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anulo
Business
Reno - Nevada
Jul 13, 2009

Not good, not good at all

This was our fifth stay at the hotel. Last one was when the hotel was a Best Western...now it is a Double-Tree - Hilton.Things are the same no matter the name, and that stinks.Sewer smells welcomes you as you walk into the pretty lobby..just as before.Our super modern LCD TV was standing on a old beat up cabinet..I guess it just didn't fit into the cut out in the wall.The bathroom floor floods after just one person takes a shower..the second person waddles in water, and no doubt the floor will buckle soon.My wife looked at the pool which was directly under our window..in four days we saw only for people swimming.After we got into the pool we found out why so few people use it..the same sewer smell in the looby just lingers about five inches above the water level.The few people at the pool said the same...what a sad story. We love the place, it is located close to our place of business and our daughter's home P.S..the elevators...You push 'down' and it goes up and vice versa..just like five years ago... The hotel is pretty..the help is super nice..but a Hilton name on the marque? naaaaaaaaah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brasstown, NC.
Jul 11, 2009

Double Tree by Hilton in San Juan, Puert

Very expensive for the location. Valet parking $20.00 dollars a day. No continental breakfast. Drinks and food at the hotel too much for the location. When it was a Best Western you paid for what you got. Won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scott & tasha
Business
Russellville, Arkansas
Jul 3, 2009

great honeymoon

easy walk to beach clean rooms everything was 24 hrs like the pool or computers and the fitness room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

next door there is a 24 hr grocery store get snacks to hold you over

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feefeeb
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 30, 2009

Unbeatable location

Ate at nearby restaurant called Silk(sushi) Hotel located right across street from grocery store and inexpensive eatiries which was very convenient. Transportation was very accessible (buses and cabs) The people were friendly and hotel staff knowledgable about the island. Great trip!! Would definetly come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny. ny
Jun 29, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

great location,walking distance to the beach and casinos but just far enough to be out of the hustle and bustle.24hr supermaket across the street plenty of parking for rentals on the street.The restorant in the hotel was great and service was unmached

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

la placita is walking distance and is a local hangout spot for those looking for a good place to eat drink or dance many bars and small clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Met
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2009

Doubletree Hilton San Juan

My recent stay at the Doubletree Hilton San Juan hotel was subpar. When I checked-in there was no one available to take my luggage and show me to my room. The room service was terrible. I could never reach them by phone nor through the front desk. The Housekeeping was terrible as well. My room was non-smoking yet I found a cigarette under the bed. My room had a ice pot holder that had a small disposable bag that was only replaced twice during my stay. Some staff were friendly while others did not even bother to acknowledge me. Watch out for the valet parking because there is an additional 7 percent charge every time you utilize the parking garage. I enjoyed the jacuzzi and chess board in the pool area. I used the pool at night and it always had mosquitoes floating in it. The positives are that there is a 24 hour supermarket across the street and a cafe around the block which is really convenient. The highway is only blocks away. The beach is only blocks away and Ashford Ave. is a strip with stores, bars, and restaurants. Also try the restaurant in the hotel lobby, Micheal Bistro's their food is pretty good. I would only recommend this hotel to those who do not rely on the services a hotel has to offer. The rooms are adequate, soda machines were available on my floor and that was pretty much it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Everything is conveniently located whether it be walking or driving because the highway is a couple of blocks and Condado beach and Ashford Ave. is three to four blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
May 28, 2009

Good Location, and decent accomodations

The hotel location is just perfect (not too far from down town and not in a super busy area). The staff was very friendly and accomodating during check-in. The Gym was sufficient for a quick workout, however, the pool was not great (very small and the patio area was not maintained as well as I expected). The size of the pool and the lack of view discouraged us from even bothering to use it. The hotel room was very clean. After using the murphy bed you're left with very little room to move around but since you don't spend much time in the hotel it's ok. I would consider staying here again (unless I got a better rate at a nicer hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If visiting San Juan - ALWAYS agree on a rate with the taxi driver before you hop in. They should always charge about $10-$15 but some try to get smart and don't tell you the cost until they have dropped you off and by then you are left without a choice and have to pay their ridiculous price. I found that if you asked before hoping in - the rate was always much lower than when you just jumped in and hoped for the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanJuanFan
Business
Memphis, TN
May 27, 2009

Great Hotel

This was a great hotel with modern decor and friendly staff. The rooms were a bit small, but the beds were very comfortable. The shower, although modern and clean, leaked water while you showered, as the ground was level around the shower, so there was nothing to stop the water from leaking onto the bathroom floor. You are not within walking distance to a lot of the clubs or other restaurants besides the ones available there, but you're not a very far drive from everything either. All in all this is a very nice hotel with staff that is always willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Isla Verde has the El San Juan Hotel and Casino and this is where one of the best clubs in Puerto Rico is located (Brava). Also Bed Lounge down the street is nice too and on Sundays you pay a cover charge and get free drinks all night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top