$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
153 reviews
Great location

Friendly and helpful staff combined with a great location and always having transportation at your... See full review

  • BryonMKE.
  • Nov 29, 2014
The Perfect Birthday

The staff was very nice and attentive. They delivered my fax and faxed it back for me while I... See full review

  • Alanda D.C.
  • Oct 14, 2014

The Doubletree Hotel San Juan may be a Hilton hotel, but it aims for a boutique feel with its Jorge Rossello-designed interiors and quirky color splashes. The lobby area is flooded with light and subtle splashes of greenery, and coral-like oranges and pinks decorate the Yelo spa, where guests can treat themselves to a massage or a calming yoga session. When your stomach calls, dine on sushi beneath Buddha statues at Silk restaurant, or go for the more traditional Puerto Rican fare at Cafe Pierre. Kick back between the palms by the outdoor pool if you're after some me-time, or browse the sweet treats at Lily's Chocolatier Gift Shop.

Key facts
  • 24-hour business center
  • 2 restaurants: Cafe Pierre and Silk
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Meeting area
  • Outdoor pool
  • Room service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Valet parking
Neighborhood
Situated in the Condado area between the sea and Condado Lagoon, the Doubletree Hotel San Juan is naturally handy for Condado Beach, along with the Miami-style watersports scene that includes anything from surfing to kite-boarding. The main spine of the neighborhood is Avenida Ashford, and wandering past the Art Deco architecture of the area's 1920s heyday is a popular pastime. Anyone looking for a historical perspective of the area can visit the Museum of Art Puerto Rico, across the Calle Marginal from the hotel, while the Puerto Rico Convention Center is less than a mile away, for those in town on event-related business.
Hints and tips
Look forward to a free chocolate chip cookie at check-in, and don't forget to ask about the beach club program, which gives guests privileges at casinos, along with other pool and outdoor facilities at the Doubletree's sister resorts, like The Condado Plaza Hilton.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree by Hilton San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.1 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.6 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.6 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.7 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.7 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.7 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.7 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.7 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Not Enough Time
Business
Sunny So. CA, USA
Aug 1, 2009

"Good times in Puerto Rico"

Great deal- while I was only there for one night on personal business, it was a great experience. This hotel was recently remodeled- the room was spotless and very quiet and extremely comfortable. I slept like a dead man. Awesome bed and flat screen TV. The staff was professional and very friendly- I couldn't ask for a better experience. I would stay here again without any hesitation whatsoever. The only thing that would have made it better would be a shuttle to and from the airport. Other than that, aces across the board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryan and Nikki
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 27, 2009

Big Fun in Puerto Rico

This was a first visit to Puerto Rico for my boyfriend and I. We chose the Doubletree after having read many positive reviews. We were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, clean and up to date. I loved the open bathroom and walk in shower! Our check in experience was fast and friendly. We had several questions about local activities and were assisted by knowledgeable and friendly staff. Their pool and hot tub are open to guests 24 hours and that was a plus for us! After a full day of shopping and sightseeing we could return to a nice dip under the stars. This hotel offers not only WiFi but there are PCs in the business center for use at no cost to guests. Laptops are also available for guest use and are situated along a bar area in their comfortable lobby. I felt this was a nice option for guests who might want to sip a drink or have lunch and surf the web in a more relaxed and comfortable setting instead of sitting in a stuffy business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some great dining options within a few blocks of the hotel (we visited Bepos twice and loved it!) However, you might also try some of the venues available in Old San Juan. We found a wonderful place that served a full menu until past midnight. Sadly I cannot recall the name of this restaurant but they have wonderful grilled scallops and shrimp on a skewer with an orange sauce that is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supermom Diana
Business
LA, ca.
Jul 21, 2009

not on the beach but just as nice!!!

We really enjoyed our stay at the doubletree hotel. The staff was great and the location was great too. We were only two blocks from the beach. Most locations were easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Michael's Bistro had a great menu and delicious food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yezamin
Business
New York City
Jul 21, 2009

Great Experience

We ate at Bebos cafe which is the closest and best place to eat around there. Also a French Bistro near the Ocean Park Beach. That was ok. We visited old san juan and el castillo de san cristobal. Also we went to Plaza las Americas and the Bacardi Factory. Everything at the hotel was clean, cozy, and perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palatine,il
Jul 19, 2009

wonderfull room by the pool

Our room had a patio poolside with a table chairs and lounges. The four restaurants at the hotel were a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Bank, New Jersey
Jul 18, 2009

Excellent Hotel

I came to visit friend and vacation the hotel was excellent and the staff was very good. My only problem was that the Double Tree did not give me my Hilton High Honors points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida FT.Lauderdale
Jul 15, 2009

doubletree by hilton san juan

We drove around the island for alittle bit of sightseeing.saw a couple of soccer games in Bayamon, went to the beach in candado.In general it was a very good and enjoyable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneSourceAtlanta.Com
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 15, 2009

Nice & Clean

I just got back from Puerto Rico and stayed at the Doubletree Inn at San Juan. I liked the staff and the hot cookies. The room was always clean. It was pretty close to the beach and restaurants. We would walk to either Bebos Cafe which was two blocks away, or walk to Ashford Ave which had a variety of shops and restaurants. We also caught the bus to Old San Juan twice (Bus# A5 or B21), it was only .75 cents. We caught the bus to Old San Juan, then took the free trolley that road us around Old San Juan took the ferry to the other side of the island (.50 cents each) and took the free Bacardi tour (less than $5 for two people). I believe next time, I would like to stay either in Old San Juan or Isa Verde, because of being closer to everything. I try to not rent a car, but use the money for excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery Store across the street and Bebos Cafe around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 15, 2009

Doubletree - San Juan (Condado)

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beach located within a couple of blocks. The only downside was that the hotel is a $15 taxi ride to downtown San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anulo
Business
Reno - Nevada
Jul 13, 2009

Not good, not good at all

This was our fifth stay at the hotel. Last one was when the hotel was a Best Western...now it is a Double-Tree - Hilton.Things are the same no matter the name, and that stinks.Sewer smells welcomes you as you walk into the pretty lobby..just as before.Our super modern LCD TV was standing on a old beat up cabinet..I guess it just didn't fit into the cut out in the wall.The bathroom floor floods after just one person takes a shower..the second person waddles in water, and no doubt the floor will buckle soon.My wife looked at the pool which was directly under our window..in four days we saw only for people swimming.After we got into the pool we found out why so few people use it..the same sewer smell in the looby just lingers about five inches above the water level.The few people at the pool said the same...what a sad story. We love the place, it is located close to our place of business and our daughter's home P.S..the elevators...You push 'down' and it goes up and vice versa..just like five years ago... The hotel is pretty..the help is super nice..but a Hilton name on the marque? naaaaaaaaah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top