$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

4 stars
View map of 105 De Diego, San Juan, 00914

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim in KY
Business
SE Kentucky - Nowhere you'd know...
Nov 9, 2009

Perfect Post-Summer Vacation!

Deciding where to stay on an island for 7 days is not an easy task. After reviewing a number of properties, I decided on the Doubletree in San Juan. The Hilton name played some role here, but ultimately the location, amenities, online photos, and PRICE made the decision easy. This hotel is in the Condado area of San Juan - numerous local restaurants, chain restaurants, and shops are in this area - all about a 10 minute walk from the Doubletree. There is a beach (i.e. area where sand meets water) about a 5 min walk away from the hotel. I don't recommed this "beach" as it's not very populated, and can be rough at times. Check out Carolina Beach in Isla Verde (about 15 minute drive) for an AWESOME beach experience. There is also a supermarket literally across the street - VERY convenient. The ENTIRE hotel staff was fantastic - very knowledgable about the area, extremely helpful, and very patient with all the questions you may have. My only concern was the frosted glass bathroom door - it's very "chic" and modern, but doesn't dampen any noise when you're ......taking care of business in the restroom. (Just being honest!) All in all - this was probably the best hotel experience I've had in all my travels. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For GREAT food at a relatively cheap price, check out Danny's International on Ashford Ave - about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Their breakfast is excellent, and for $8 or less, you can't beat it! They also have 50+ varieties of pizza, on average $20 to feed 4. Just understand that speed is not a priority when in Puerto Rico...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Nov 5, 2009

DoubleTree Hilton

The staff was GREAT!!!! Everyone was very nice and always willing to help. We received free breakfast at one of the two restaurants in the hotel and it was great. The rooms were warm, welcoming, and very clean. The location was across the street from a supermarket, and a delicious restaurant right around the corner. Would definitely stay at this hotel again! ...The only downfall of this hotel is that at $20/day, it is VERY expensive to park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No matter what, RENT A CAR! The price to rent a car is very cheap compared to getting a taxi to go everywhere you want. It also makes it a lot more convenient when discovering cool places around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny L
Business
Montreal, Canada
Nov 4, 2009

Excellent choice

Excellent choice. Clean, and first class services. Well located (not too far from tourist area) and good spot for restaurant and services. Good ratio: price / quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive too tourist area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TakemebackJake
Business
Jackson Mi
Nov 4, 2009

A trip to remember

From the moment we arrived Juan, Peter and Antonio made us feel welcome. The room was better then expected, very comfortable and clean. The staff was warm and friendly and if we wanted it we got it. Food suggestions were excellent and travel directions were on point. The store right accross the street had every little thing you might want to stash in your mini fridge at a very cheap price. Pool was small but inviting and pleasant, hot tub is very close by and very warm. Excellent stay and will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebo's is a very nice gem for breakfast and the Under the Trees across the drive is great for those late evening meals of warm snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Oct 26, 2009

Great time in Puerto Rico

We loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would go back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

grocery store across the street was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momjps
Business
owings mills, MD
Oct 21, 2009

great getaway

We had a great time in Puerto Rico. The Doubletree was close to good restaurants and a beautiful beach. The room was very clean. There was a small fridge which was very useful in chilling bottled water. We liked having a safe in the room to lock up valuables. The staff was very helpful in making suggestions of good restaurants and excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville TN
Oct 21, 2009

Much, Much more than we expected

We arrived at the Doubletree not knowing what to expect. What we found was a wonderful experience! From the welcoming cookie(delicious) to the warm send-off we received maximum care and consideration. The Doubletree by Hilton on de Diego Avenue was well-situated for travel both west to Old San Juan and east to Santuce, Rio Piedras and Alto Trujillo to visit with friends. We could not have asked for a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Livin Good
Business
Merrillville, IN
Oct 16, 2009

The Best Week Ever

The Hotel staff was wonderful and kind at all times during our stay. Food was #1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the public bus it will save alot of money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trust my opinion!- BEWARE OF TIME SHARE
Business
Rockville, MD
Oct 16, 2009

Good Times

The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree by Hilton San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
armata
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 14, 2009

Doubletree by Hilton

The hotel was awesome, very nice and located perfectly. Only 3 blocks from the beach and within walking distance of the strip. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top