$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
View map of 312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
45 reviews
cool spot, amazing staff

This is a really unique type of hotel, almost like a less formal guesthouse. Beautiful rooftop... See full review

  • Emily
  • Jan 27, 2015
solo bueno

great little boutique hotel in the heart of old san juan. walking distance to bars, restos, beach,... See full review

  • John R
  • Jan 7, 2015
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 45
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John R
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

solo bueno

great little boutique hotel in the heart of old san juan. walking distance to bars, restos, beach, shopping, etc. will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

N/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John R
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great little hotel in OSJ.. I'll be back soon!

Cozy, comfortable, good value, and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Somebody22
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2014

Excellent Location, Good Price

Booking through a travel service will save a substantial amount of money. Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Be aware that there is no elevator, and WiFi is available only in the common area on the second floor. Staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 27, 2014

Very Happy

PROS: When I arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly Eduardo. He greeted me by name as if he already knew me. He took the time to talk to me about the hotel and showed me on a map some of the best local places to eat and attractions. Since I arrived early, he was willing to watch over my bag while I did some shopping and the room was prepared. The room was clean and historic looking which added to the charm of the hotel and local town. CONS: Even though there was Wi-Fi in the lobby, there wasn't any in the bedroom. The rooftop scenery is beautiful and there was a Jacuzzi but it wasn't working. Overall, it is a great value and I liked it enough to book several more nights and would come back and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is such a beautiful little town with lots to do. I initially booked a one night stay, but after one night I had to stay another night and after my second night, a third night :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolvers
Business
Sydney, Australia
Sep 6, 2013

Superb for a weekend break

Friendly staff who gave tips on places to go to find live music when checking in just before midnight and who were happy to organise early morning airport transfers. Lovely, simply furnished room (great antique Chinese furniture) that was perfectly comfortable. There is noise from the bar next-door but you come here prepared for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tcarter
Business
old san juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 17, 2013

da regular house

Hotel was fine nothing spectacular but the location and some of the artwork ... when I went no noise except on Sunday and was minimal from room 404.. room 404 nothing in room. a.c broke twice second time could not be fixed so was moved to 402 which actually has a fridge but as with other room nothing else .. 402 has shared balcony. Rooftop hottub not working /being fixed. Loved the location and thankfully did not see any bugs in room ... hotel needs updates but decent for a stay. When ur tired or drunk those steps are nooo bueno. If don't get to experience better Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris aka spongebob
Business
Key West
Jun 30, 2013

Very helpful staff

A perfect location for being in the middle of Old St. Juan. Da House Hotel has a beautiful artistic atmosphere, which is very pleasing to the eyes. The staff were more than helpful with any question I threw at them. Rooms are not fancy, but plenty comfortable. Great view from roof with hot tub. I didn't want to leave. I highly recommend this hotel. The salsa music from downstairs was loud, but that's part of the fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dance Salsa till you burn off that fattening dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alejo79
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 11, 2012

Great Place for the price

This is a great place to stay for a weekend or so, very confortable beds, very nice interior. great terrace. Excelent location, kinda loud at night but because its in the middle of the action. I would stay here again.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rene'
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Very Cool Hotel in the Heart of Old San Juan

Since I had no plans to rent a car, I wanted a hotel in the main city. I'm much more of a city than beach person. This place was just great! On top of a great location, I had a 'every other night free'. This brought my room down to 70. a night avg. This contributes to my rating. This was for an upper floor outside room, that had a shared terrace, although I never saw anyone else out there. Some of the reviews I read talked about a noise problem. I never had an issue. Maybe because of the top floor, or because I was seldom there before 2am! This place has nice artwork throughout and a great inner stairway. Remember to elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollyelisabeth
Business
Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands
Sep 4, 2011

Solo in San Juan

I was a little nervous about visiting San Juan on my own, but staying at the Da House Hotel and Gallery was great! I arrived before the regular check in time, and they let me in my room early, since it was available anyways, and the room was gorgeous! There was a terrace over looking San Juan, and I could see the ocean from it. There wasn't a TV, so if you can't do without a TV then I don't suggest this hotel, but if you can live without it while you're in San Juan (I didn't miss it), then this hotel is perfect. The staff was really kind, and very helpful. The hotel is in the absolute heart of Old San Juan and live music at the Nuyorican Cafe begins around 11 pm. It was FANTASTIC, few things are better than live salsa and it was only a few steps away from the hotel. Be warned however, I was on the fourth floor, and I could still kind of hear the music from where I was, but that didn't bother me. (but there isn't an elevator, so you need to be okay with climbing stairs to stay here as well) My favorite part of my hotel experience was watching the sun set over old san juan and relaxing in the jacuzzi on the roof. All in all a fantastic experience and fantastic hotel for people who appreciate a bit of artistic culture and flavor when they travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top