$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my... See full review

  • Jennifer NJ
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance See full review

  • Bns99121
  • Jul 13, 2014
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Hotel Map

18.4662 -66.1134
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey, Santurce, Condado, Carolina, Bayamon & Caguas.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). Rivas Dominicci, Isla Grande Airport (SIG).
Area description
Da House Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 41
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKOOMA
Business
Staunton, Virginia
Jun 23, 2014

Seeing San Juan

Staff is excellent!! Love tha taste of tha historical city in Da House...the lobby and public areas b-e-a-u-tiful!! With tha Terrance on top of the hotel breath taking...wish the hot tub was working...and T.V. always a plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the pubs and bars by the piers,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bea Sue
Business
Sa Jaun pr.
Mar 14, 2014

Think about it before you book

very load you can hear everyone that comes in at night the place echos. needs up dating in lobby . I wound not stay there again. there is no coffie in the morning and no t.v

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lan Head
Business
San Francisco
Nov 14, 2013

Good location

The location is great; it is right in old San Juan and walking distance to the El Morro fort (which has an amazing view). It is also walking distance to restaurants and bar. The downside is that there is no elevator (if you have heavy luggage). Also there is no wifi unless you are in the lobby (2nd floor). There is also a salsa club downstair which is really loud if you try to sleep before 3am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill the camaroguy
Business
Atlanta,Ga
Sep 30, 2013

old san juan or bust

No elevator and carrying bags up four flights of stairs was a bust. But it is located right in Old San Juan and has a great view from the roof top terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
treetopseven
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

3 days here wasn't enough

The staff was exceptional, the artistic design of the hotel is very attractive and the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScubaGrrl
Business
NYC NY
Sep 28, 2010

Absolute center of Old San Juan!

This hotel is amazing! It is in the absolute epicenter of Old San Juan, and right near the hottest music spot in the area, the NuyoRican Cafe. Luckily the Cafe is well soundproofed and the building is solid, so the room is sheltered from the music, which is WONDERFUL, by the way. Nothing like dancing until the wee hours and then being able to escape and fall right into bed in a mere moment! Very romantic place...in that Body Heat sort of way! Great place for a 3 day weekend from the east coast, I would think. It is convenient to all of the forts and sites in Old San Juan, and just a short block from the "restaurant row" for dinner out. The beach is a long walk or a short taxi ride away. The room was big, well apportioned and opened out onto a lovely patio with chairs and tables, flowers and a view of the church (cathedral?). The rooftop has a jacuzzi in which you can sip a mojito and view the whole town, the forts, and the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. In the morning, complimentary coffee and pastries were provided at the nearby "Rick's Cafe"... Yum! The building is an older classic one, and has incredible marble and tile work on the floors. It has been tastefully remodeled and has beautiful antiques and other eclectic furniture throughout the lobby and common areas. I highly recommend! I will visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I suggest El Jibarito restaurant for authentic Puerto Rican dinner and Cafe San German for lunches/brunches and great salads when you need some greens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MissMermaidNYC
Business
New York, NY
Sep 19, 2010

San Juan Sweet Spot! Da House is a gem!

There is no hotel more centrally located in Old San Juan than DA HOUSE! With the lifeblood of music, poetry, and the performing arts of the NuyoRican Cafe just below and the "restaurant row" right at the end of the block, tucked into a cobble-stoned "Callejon" (walking only street) Da House truly is the heart of the old city! I travel often to Puerto Rico, and sometimes bring friends, family, or groups down from New York. I am so glad this place is here, because it is perfect for my needs. Right now I am scouting for a group of 20/30/40 somethings, and I can't imagine a spot better suited! The roof deck has a nice big jacuzzi from which I looked over the forts, the government buildings, the ocean, (all while sipping a fab mojito, I might add). The NuyoRican was a great party every night, salsa dancing, son, poetry and some hip hop thrown in for good measure---but what was REALLY nice about that is that when I was done with the dancing, all I had to do was head out of the club, buzz a special button, walk up the steps and then I was in my room...clean, quiet, well apportioned with an amalgam of cool period-furniture and high end fixtures, opening to a small terrace, with a mini-fridge I had filled with ice and cold water (anyone who spends much time in the caribbean knows how important this is). The sheets were crisp, the air conditioning was truly frigid! (a good thing!) and the attention to detail was evident... even the toilet paper had a little origami-fold to let me know the place was clean. Literally EVERYTHING in Old San Juan was in walking distance, so I spent time at El Morro fort, two lovely plazas, and a museum. Walking around the old city provides wonderful views of the ocean and the bay, stone and metal statues, beautiful old spanish-style homes and metalwork--and of course--a trip to the Coach store, where I got a great bag. There are really reasonable and stylish stores for shopping all over Old San Juan, from low end cheapies to high end designers (Check out "Concalma", a bag design store that is truly hip). I would NOT necessarily recommend the Bacardi Factory Rum Tour-it takes a long time and feels a little Disney-esque. I was provided with a coupon which gave me a morning wake-up breakfast at Rick's Cafe of a pastry and coffee, with options for additional things, such as eggs and bacon, etc. the pastry was savory, not sweet, and was surprisingly good. Steaming the milk for my coffee separately was a nice added touch typical of Puerto Rican hospitality. I left Da House in a great mood...well rested and ready for further adventure on the other side of the island. The folks at the front desk even held my bags for awhile extra while I did some last minute shopping, and then, even AFTER I had checked out, they helped me arrange a night kayaking trip in the Bio-Bay and a car rental for my stay in Fajardo. I will DEFINITELY be bringing a group to DA HOUSE at some point soon, and I will also be back! A friend who came down with me had never been to Puerto Rico before, and she LOVED it! I am glad this was the first place she stayed...too many hotels have no flavor and could be anywhere, USA...DA HOUSE is different...and much better. One note: Not for people with really bad knees, as there are stairs to walk up (but you can ask for the 2nd floor, which is only 1 flight up). Also, while this is a modern-style renovation, it is an older historic building not a brand new one...the tile is gorgeous, the furniture is great, and the place sort of oozes character. You never know who you will see down at the Nuyo...all sorts of celebs have shown up and/or played at one time or another, but generally it is free from paparazzi and a low-pressure hangout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About music or dancing, GO TO THE NUYORICAN! about food, ask the front desk...Places I like are the Jibarito on Sol street, and a new wraps place for lunch on the run...but I forgot the name, so ask when you get there. La Madres for upscale mexican, and Cafe San German for salads and sandwiches and fresh fruit drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top