$130 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my... See full review

  • Jennifer NJ
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance See full review

  • Bns99121
  • Jul 13, 2014
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SpinGirl123
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 25, 2012

Noisy

The hotel did state that it was noisy because it was in the "heart of the night life". But lets be honest, its really just one really loud bar across the street that plays music till 3 in the morning even on a Sunday. I'm fine with that, but that didn't mean it gave the vibrant night life I was expecting. Furthermore, our room wasn't even clean when we got there. Missing bedlinins, leftover trash, prior guests dirty towels remaining. Several guests other had the same complaint. When I asked the front desk about it, they simply stated, "oh, well, I need to go step out for a coffee." I didn't even check into the hotel early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lazara
Business
Miami, Florida
May 28, 2013

Da House Hotel

No elevator, TV, closet, dresser to place your clothes, just 4 small drawers. The staff is great, however going up four flights of stairs a few times a day is not funny. Also, there's a club downstairs, and you cannot fall asleep until the club shuts down at 5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lazara
Business
Miami, Florida
May 29, 2013

Do not book

No elevator, no tv, no closet/dresser, except for 4 small drawers which do not fit 2 pairs of shorts. You would have to live out of your suitcase for your vacation, so do not take any close that needs to be hung. Be in good shape to up and down the stairs. The staff is great and very helpful as far as getting you around. If you're coming here to relax, it's not going to happen, book elsewhere, because they have a club downstairs which closes at 5AM, do you will not be able to get any sleep until after 5AM. Simply not what I expected for a getaway. Don't be fooled by the pictures placed on several travel websites, as these are pictures sent to them by the hotel, they've never visited this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constantinos
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2011

We Had $100 Stolen From Our Room

My wife and I stayed at Da House Hotel for three nights at the end of April 2011 and had a very difficult experience that we would like to share. Up until the last day, we had enjoyed our experience at the hotel but on the last full day that we stayed in the hotel, we had $100 stolen from our hotel room and were treated very rudely when we tried to address the issue with the managerial staff. In the interest of fairness, let me describe the good and bad. The good: - The hotel is very pretty and ideally located in the old part of San Juan mere blocks away from some of the best sights, restaurants and bar - Our room was super cute and well maintained. Although it was small and there was a lot of ambient noise and club music from the bars downstairs, this was honestly described on the hotel website and so we felt like we got what we expected - At $280 for three nights (including tax), we felt like this was a good bargain for its location - Front desk staff were generally kind and helpful with city suggestions The bad: - On the last full day, while my wife and I were walking around the city, $100 in cash was stolen from her tote bag that was left on the night stand. This is the first time that this has ever happened to either one of us and the unique circumstances of the loss made us almost certain that this was not an error on our part. Before leaving the hotel in the morning, my wife had asked me how much of the $160 in cash that she had with her at the time she thought that I should bring with her while walking around the city. I suggested she bring $60 and I then watched her return $100 into her tote bag on top of the night stand. When we returned to our room six hours later, our used towels had been replaced with clean towels and we were unable to find the $100 in her tote bag. We searched all over the room and through all of our luggage and were unable to find this $100. I suppose it is possible that she somehow misplaced this money, but I consider this highly unlikely given that I had directly observed her replacing the $100 into her tote bag. - When we raised this issue with the front desk staff, I was told to expect a return call from the manager and did not receive a call back from the manager for five days. At this point, I called and politely asked to speak with the manager who - once I'd explained the situation - told me that she had called me five times in the last few days (I had not received any phone call) and rudely disputed my claim and said that it was impossible that one of her staff had taken the money. She offered to speak with the owner of the hotel who offered us a $100 credit towards a subsequent stay at the hotel but refused to refund us $100 and refused to further investigate the issue. As you might understand, we were pretty upset and did not intend to return to the hotel to stay there again in the future and declined this offer. This is the first time that something like this has ever happened to my wife or I and it left us with a really bad taste in our mouth. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel in the future and would suggest that other travelers avoid it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valazka
Business
New York, NY
Aug 27, 2014

Lacking Basic Amenities

No iron, no hair dryer, flat pillows, no comforter, no elevator (lug heavy suitcases up to 4th floor), no wifi, no shampoo/conditioner, etc. etc. The one thing it did have is a salsa club next door that was extremely loud all hours of the night. When I say loud I mean, envision the loudest moment of your life, and multiply it by 8. That loud. Staff was friendly, location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bea Sue
Business
Sa Jaun pr.
Mar 14, 2014

Think about it before you book

very load you can hear everyone that comes in at night the place echos. needs up dating in lobby . I wound not stay there again. there is no coffie in the morning and no t.v

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 17, 2011

San Juan

The hotel didn't have the frills expected of a hotel. Workout facility, television, internet, iron, hairdryer, etc. It was in a phenomenal location, that was the only plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Jun 12, 2011

The truth!!!!!

The staff was very nice and gave us very good information. The hotel is located between two main streets. I believe there were either two or three bars below our room. It was so noisy that I didn't get to sleep until about 4:00 am. It is a great location to catch the Carnival cruise ship. It was a 3 block walk. From the airport it was 23.00 US dollars to get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kapper 1965
Business
dallas, texas
Mar 17, 2014

bring your earplugs on the weekend!

the hotel, located in the middle of old san juan is a perfect locations for a young jet setter who wants to stay up all night and party until late hours. you almost have to as the bar on the first floor is LOUD and goes well past 4am! be prepared to walk stairs, as there wasn't an elevator. the rooms are very small but quaint and well equipped. one outlet in our room wasn't working so we had to overload the other available outlet. the bathroom didn't have a tub, just a very small corner shower, but it worked well and hot and cold water were perfect. no tv in the room, but that actually was a nice touch which added to the charm of the old san juan location. we stayed on the upper most floor and still couldn't hear our selves talk as the music coming from the first floor was outrageously loud. as well, it seemed as though you could hear each persons conversation and every girl's margarita endured shrill come over the din. overall, it's a nice place, but not quiet in the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

look for a place the locals would eat. being that this is a tourist area, there are a lot of highly polished fancier restaurants. go off the path a little to experience what locals enjoy. ask a staff member, not where you should eat, but ask them where they eat lunch or dinner. you will enjoy it much more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaeDee
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2013

"Da House" review

Da House is in a perfect location for enjoying old San Juan. It is a couple blocks from the square with tons of resturants up and down the streets. The hotel was clean and bed was comfortable. The room is small and very minimally furnished. No televsion in the room. Great windows, air conditioning is good. Also we stayed on the 3rd floor and they do not have elevators. This was somewhat of an issue for we stayed in the hotel pre-cruise and did have quite a bit of luggage. Shower was extremely small but adequate. Really this hotel was all about old charm and location. Good for 1 night but wouldnt want to stay long term.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The old fort is about 1.5 miles from hotel. Many many resturants to chose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top