$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my... See full review

  • Jennifer NJ
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance See full review

  • Bns99121
  • Jul 13, 2014
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 17, 2011

San Juan

The hotel didn't have the frills expected of a hotel. Workout facility, television, internet, iron, hairdryer, etc. It was in a phenomenal location, that was the only plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Jun 12, 2011

The truth!!!!!

The staff was very nice and gave us very good information. The hotel is located between two main streets. I believe there were either two or three bars below our room. It was so noisy that I didn't get to sleep until about 4:00 am. It is a great location to catch the Carnival cruise ship. It was a 3 block walk. From the airport it was 23.00 US dollars to get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constantinos
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2011

We Had $100 Stolen From Our Room

My wife and I stayed at Da House Hotel for three nights at the end of April 2011 and had a very difficult experience that we would like to share. Up until the last day, we had enjoyed our experience at the hotel but on the last full day that we stayed in the hotel, we had $100 stolen from our hotel room and were treated very rudely when we tried to address the issue with the managerial staff. In the interest of fairness, let me describe the good and bad. The good: - The hotel is very pretty and ideally located in the old part of San Juan mere blocks away from some of the best sights, restaurants and bar - Our room was super cute and well maintained. Although it was small and there was a lot of ambient noise and club music from the bars downstairs, this was honestly described on the hotel website and so we felt like we got what we expected - At $280 for three nights (including tax), we felt like this was a good bargain for its location - Front desk staff were generally kind and helpful with city suggestions The bad: - On the last full day, while my wife and I were walking around the city, $100 in cash was stolen from her tote bag that was left on the night stand. This is the first time that this has ever happened to either one of us and the unique circumstances of the loss made us almost certain that this was not an error on our part. Before leaving the hotel in the morning, my wife had asked me how much of the $160 in cash that she had with her at the time she thought that I should bring with her while walking around the city. I suggested she bring $60 and I then watched her return $100 into her tote bag on top of the night stand. When we returned to our room six hours later, our used towels had been replaced with clean towels and we were unable to find the $100 in her tote bag. We searched all over the room and through all of our luggage and were unable to find this $100. I suppose it is possible that she somehow misplaced this money, but I consider this highly unlikely given that I had directly observed her replacing the $100 into her tote bag. - When we raised this issue with the front desk staff, I was told to expect a return call from the manager and did not receive a call back from the manager for five days. At this point, I called and politely asked to speak with the manager who - once I'd explained the situation - told me that she had called me five times in the last few days (I had not received any phone call) and rudely disputed my claim and said that it was impossible that one of her staff had taken the money. She offered to speak with the owner of the hotel who offered us a $100 credit towards a subsequent stay at the hotel but refused to refund us $100 and refused to further investigate the issue. As you might understand, we were pretty upset and did not intend to return to the hotel to stay there again in the future and declined this offer. This is the first time that something like this has ever happened to my wife or I and it left us with a really bad taste in our mouth. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel in the future and would suggest that other travelers avoid it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJ72
Business
Grafton, Ohio
Apr 25, 2011

Da House. San Juan, Puerto Rico

Da House was in a great location - walking distance to many Old San Juan attractions, restaurants and bars. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the room was clean. Our room happened to be at the end of the hall where there was a patio and it was nice sitting there at night. Also the rooftop patio offered a nice view of the city. There was a hot tub there which we used, but it wasn't a 'normal' hot tub. But it lacked in the following: no elevators (not good when you have to carry 4 suitcases up 4 flights of stairs), no carpeting (every door closing, every noise was magnified as there was nothing to buffer the sounds), no shapmoo, soap, glasses/cups in the room (couldn't even have a drink of water). I would not recommend this place to anyone our age (55+), but a younger "party goer" would really enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jpegusa
Business
Boston MA
Mar 13, 2011

Da House Rocks til 2 AM

Da House was a true bohemian experience. Clean, friendly and comfortable. Rooms on the alley side will be subject to hearing the music and partying below. We enjoyed the rooftop views and the helpful desk people. I suggest you pack lightly for the trip up the stairs and leave the big suitcases elsewhere. Biggest tip: the hotel is in the alley between San Francisco anf Fortaleza so it's not easy to find or unload your stuff near. Plan on a short walk from the street above or below and leave your car in a garage near the waterfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the martinis and Mofongo at Tantra.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quipper
Business
All over the US...
Dec 31, 2010

Sweet location but a bit noisy

Stellar hotel! I've never stayed in another like it. Pros: location (in the heart of Old San Juan),character, art, staff. Cons: location (noisy area at night), rattling doors and windows when windy, the hefty naked guy across the way who forgot to close his windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MellieMel14
Business
Tampa, Florida
Oct 26, 2010

In the heart of Old San Juan...

We spent little time in the hotel, but coming home to clean towels, and a tidy room everyday made all the touring less tiring. And AC was so cold!! The eclectic feel of the hotel is delightful; local art adorns all the walls and the decor is eye candy for anyone who may share the taste for visual indulgence. Our room opened onto a terrace where a picnic table was placed, which was a great place for a dixie cup of wine that we purchased from Supermax right around the corner. Directly below Da House is the Nuyo Rican club that offers a variety of music every night of the week. It is a popular spot, so there is constantly energy in the alley. Just across the alley is a what I called the "closet bar". Literally, it is a whole in the wall that has mostly a full bar and it's CHEAP! The location of the hotel seemed perfectly centered in Old San Juan! 10 minutes (if that) to the best dining, shopping, and sights in Old San Juan. My only criticism would be the size of the "pool". I saw a picture of the pool before we booked the the stay and thought it would be a great place to chill in the middle of one of my days. It's more of a glorified hot tub, but as it turns out, there was no need a pool at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe St. Germain on Calle Sol... great spot for lunch or a casual dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hackettstown, NJ
Oct 21, 2010

Geat time in Old San Juan

The hotel is well located in the center of town, you have parking two blocks down which is very reasonale price. Front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The down side is, no tv is in the room, not much amenities, quite a lots of noise from down stair club. If you are looking for party down, not staing too much in your room, this is the place you wanna stay, it's very close to everything you wanna do in old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, guys, it's total worth it to drive around over the island, don't forget to bring your GPS, another site that really help me alot is puertoricandaytrips.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Da Duo
Business
New York City
Oct 5, 2010

"Da House" is da place to stay!

We are most impressed with the owner of "Da House" and his staff members whom are all very warm, friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room we stayed was very nice and clean. The hot tub on the roof top was a plus. You can't get any better with the location of this hotel. In fact you can't get any better with everything, the budget, the quality of the service, the nice clean room, the amazing location in the heart of the beautiful Old San Juan. This is indeed "Da House" to stay if you are planning to visit Puerto Rico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScubaGrrl
Business
NYC NY
Sep 28, 2010

Absolute center of Old San Juan!

This hotel is amazing! It is in the absolute epicenter of Old San Juan, and right near the hottest music spot in the area, the NuyoRican Cafe. Luckily the Cafe is well soundproofed and the building is solid, so the room is sheltered from the music, which is WONDERFUL, by the way. Nothing like dancing until the wee hours and then being able to escape and fall right into bed in a mere moment! Very romantic place...in that Body Heat sort of way! Great place for a 3 day weekend from the east coast, I would think. It is convenient to all of the forts and sites in Old San Juan, and just a short block from the "restaurant row" for dinner out. The beach is a long walk or a short taxi ride away. The room was big, well apportioned and opened out onto a lovely patio with chairs and tables, flowers and a view of the church (cathedral?). The rooftop has a jacuzzi in which you can sip a mojito and view the whole town, the forts, and the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. In the morning, complimentary coffee and pastries were provided at the nearby "Rick's Cafe"... Yum! The building is an older classic one, and has incredible marble and tile work on the floors. It has been tastefully remodeled and has beautiful antiques and other eclectic furniture throughout the lobby and common areas. I highly recommend! I will visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I suggest El Jibarito restaurant for authentic Puerto Rican dinner and Cafe San German for lunches/brunches and great salads when you need some greens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top