$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
46 reviews
Great location but the pool was out of service

We booked the hotel on a whim while travelling in PR and were disappointed that the roof top pool... See full review

  • Anna con dos enes
  • Mar 7, 2014
Great Location

The hotel is located right in the heart of Old San Juan. Within walking distance of everything in... See full review

  • h17allen
  • Nov 5, 2013
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Hotel Map

18.4662 -66.1134
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey, Santurce, Condado, Carolina, Bayamon & Caguas.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). Rivas Dominicci, Isla Grande Airport (SIG).
Area description
Da House Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rene'
New Orleans, LA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Very Cool Hotel in the Heart of Old San Juan

Since I had no plans to rent a car, I wanted a hotel in the main city. I'm much more of a city than beach person. This place was just great! On top of a great location, I had a 'every other night free'. This brought my room down to 70. a night avg. This contributes to my rating. This was for an upper floor outside room, that had a shared terrace, although I never saw anyone else out there. Some of the reviews I read talked about a noise problem. I never had an issue. Maybe because of the top floor, or because I was seldom there before 2am! This place has nice artwork throughout and a great inner stairway. Remember to elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MOMOGRIS
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

What a great spot

We had a wonderful room on the 4th floor. Clean, bright and cold AC! Da House Hotel was right in the center of it all, no need for a car! The staff was very helpful and friendly. This was the first time I have been to Puerto Rico. If you have never been GO! Everyone there was helpful, nice and welcoming. It was a breath of fresh air. When you go stay at Da House Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollyelisabeth
Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands
Sep 4, 2011

Solo in San Juan

I was a little nervous about visiting San Juan on my own, but staying at the Da House Hotel and Gallery was great! I arrived before the regular check in time, and they let me in my room early, since it was available anyways, and the room was gorgeous! There was a terrace over looking San Juan, and I could see the ocean from it. There wasn't a TV, so if you can't do without a TV then I don't suggest this hotel, but if you can live without it while you're in San Juan (I didn't miss it), then this hotel is perfect. The staff was really kind, and very helpful. The hotel is in the absolute heart of Old San Juan and live music at the Nuyorican Cafe begins around 11 pm. It was FANTASTIC, few things are better than live salsa and it was only a few steps away from the hotel. Be warned however, I was on the fourth floor, and I could still kind of hear the music from where I was, but that didn't bother me. (but there isn't an elevator, so you need to be okay with climbing stairs to stay here as well) My favorite part of my hotel experience was watching the sun set over old san juan and relaxing in the jacuzzi on the roof. All in all a fantastic experience and fantastic hotel for people who appreciate a bit of artistic culture and flavor when they travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollyelisabeth
Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands
Sep 4, 2011

Solo in San Juan

I was a little nervous about visiting San Juan on my own, but staying at the Da House Hotel and Gallery was great! I arrived before the regular check in time, and they let me in my room early, since it was available anyways, and the room was gorgeous! There was a terrace over looking San Juan, and I could see the ocean from it. There wasn't a TV, so if you can't do without a TV then I don't suggest this hotel, but if you can live without it while you're in San Juan (I didn't miss it), then this hotel is perfect. The staff was really kind, and very helpful. The hotel is in the absolute heart of Old San Juan and live music at the Nuyorican Cafe begins around 11 pm. It was FANTASTIC, few things are better than live salsa and it was only a few steps away from the hotel. Be warned however, I was on the fourth floor, and I could still kind of hear the music from where I was, but that didn't bother me. (but there isn't an elevator, so you need to be okay with climbing stairs to stay here as well) My favorite part of my hotel experience was watching the sun set over old san juan and relaxing in the jacuzzi on the roof. All in all a fantastic experience and fantastic hotel for people who appreciate a bit of artistic culture and flavor when they travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 17, 2011

San Juan

The hotel didn't have the frills expected of a hotel. Workout facility, television, internet, iron, hairdryer, etc. It was in a phenomenal location, that was the only plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 17, 2011

San Juan

The hotel didn't have the frills expected of a hotel. Workout facility, television, internet, iron, hairdryer, etc. It was in a phenomenal location, that was the only plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Jun 12, 2011

The truth!!!!!

The staff was very nice and gave us very good information. The hotel is located between two main streets. I believe there were either two or three bars below our room. It was so noisy that I didn't get to sleep until about 4:00 am. It is a great location to catch the Carnival cruise ship. It was a 3 block walk. From the airport it was 23.00 US dollars to get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Jun 12, 2011

The truth!!!!!

The staff was very nice and gave us very good information. The hotel is located between two main streets. I believe there were either two or three bars below our room. It was so noisy that I didn't get to sleep until about 4:00 am. It is a great location to catch the Carnival cruise ship. It was a 3 block walk. From the airport it was 23.00 US dollars to get to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constantinos
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2011

We Had $100 Stolen From Our Room

My wife and I stayed at Da House Hotel for three nights at the end of April 2011 and had a very difficult experience that we would like to share. Up until the last day, we had enjoyed our experience at the hotel but on the last full day that we stayed in the hotel, we had $100 stolen from our hotel room and were treated very rudely when we tried to address the issue with the managerial staff. In the interest of fairness, let me describe the good and bad. The good: - The hotel is very pretty and ideally located in the old part of San Juan mere blocks away from some of the best sights, restaurants and bar - Our room was super cute and well maintained. Although it was small and there was a lot of ambient noise and club music from the bars downstairs, this was honestly described on the hotel website and so we felt like we got what we expected - At $280 for three nights (including tax), we felt like this was a good bargain for its location - Front desk staff were generally kind and helpful with city suggestions The bad: - On the last full day, while my wife and I were walking around the city, $100 in cash was stolen from her tote bag that was left on the night stand. This is the first time that this has ever happened to either one of us and the unique circumstances of the loss made us almost certain that this was not an error on our part. Before leaving the hotel in the morning, my wife had asked me how much of the $160 in cash that she had with her at the time she thought that I should bring with her while walking around the city. I suggested she bring $60 and I then watched her return $100 into her tote bag on top of the night stand. When we returned to our room six hours later, our used towels had been replaced with clean towels and we were unable to find the $100 in her tote bag. We searched all over the room and through all of our luggage and were unable to find this $100. I suppose it is possible that she somehow misplaced this money, but I consider this highly unlikely given that I had directly observed her replacing the $100 into her tote bag. - When we raised this issue with the front desk staff, I was told to expect a return call from the manager and did not receive a call back from the manager for five days. At this point, I called and politely asked to speak with the manager who - once I'd explained the situation - told me that she had called me five times in the last few days (I had not received any phone call) and rudely disputed my claim and said that it was impossible that one of her staff had taken the money. She offered to speak with the owner of the hotel who offered us a $100 credit towards a subsequent stay at the hotel but refused to refund us $100 and refused to further investigate the issue. As you might understand, we were pretty upset and did not intend to return to the hotel to stay there again in the future and declined this offer. This is the first time that something like this has ever happened to my wife or I and it left us with a really bad taste in our mouth. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel in the future and would suggest that other travelers avoid it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constantinos
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 30, 2011

We Had $100 Stolen From Our Room

My wife and I stayed at Da House Hotel for three nights at the end of April 2011 and had a very difficult experience that we would like to share. Up until the last day, we had enjoyed our experience at the hotel but on the last full day that we stayed in the hotel, we had $100 stolen from our hotel room and were treated very rudely when we tried to address the issue with the managerial staff. In the interest of fairness, let me describe the good and bad. The good: - The hotel is very pretty and ideally located in the old part of San Juan mere blocks away from some of the best sights, restaurants and bar - Our room was super cute and well maintained. Although it was small and there was a lot of ambient noise and club music from the bars downstairs, this was honestly described on the hotel website and so we felt like we got what we expected - At $280 for three nights (including tax), we felt like this was a good bargain for its location - Front desk staff were generally kind and helpful with city suggestions The bad: - On the last full day, while my wife and I were walking around the city, $100 in cash was stolen from her tote bag that was left on the night stand. This is the first time that this has ever happened to either one of us and the unique circumstances of the loss made us almost certain that this was not an error on our part. Before leaving the hotel in the morning, my wife had asked me how much of the $160 in cash that she had with her at the time she thought that I should bring with her while walking around the city. I suggested she bring $60 and I then watched her return $100 into her tote bag on top of the night stand. When we returned to our room six hours later, our used towels had been replaced with clean towels and we were unable to find the $100 in her tote bag. We searched all over the room and through all of our luggage and were unable to find this $100. I suppose it is possible that she somehow misplaced this money, but I consider this highly unlikely given that I had directly observed her replacing the $100 into her tote bag. - When we raised this issue with the front desk staff, I was told to expect a return call from the manager and did not receive a call back from the manager for five days. At this point, I called and politely asked to speak with the manager who - once I'd explained the situation - told me that she had called me five times in the last few days (I had not received any phone call) and rudely disputed my claim and said that it was impossible that one of her staff had taken the money. She offered to speak with the owner of the hotel who offered us a $100 credit towards a subsequent stay at the hotel but refused to refund us $100 and refused to further investigate the issue. As you might understand, we were pretty upset and did not intend to return to the hotel to stay there again in the future and declined this offer. This is the first time that something like this has ever happened to my wife or I and it left us with a really bad taste in our mouth. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel in the future and would suggest that other travelers avoid it as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top