$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my... See full review

  • Jennifer NJ
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance See full review

  • Bns99121
  • Jul 13, 2014
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Hotel Map

18.4662 -66.1134
Area served
San Juan, Hato Rey, Santurce, Condado, Carolina, Bayamon & Caguas.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU). Rivas Dominicci, Isla Grande Airport (SIG).
Area description
Da House Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lazara
Business
Miami, Florida
May 28, 2013

Da House Hotel

No elevator, TV, closet, dresser to place your clothes, just 4 small drawers. The staff is great, however going up four flights of stairs a few times a day is not funny. Also, there's a club downstairs, and you cannot fall asleep until the club shuts down at 5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaeDee
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 12, 2013

"Da House" review

Da House is in a perfect location for enjoying old San Juan. It is a couple blocks from the square with tons of resturants up and down the streets. The hotel was clean and bed was comfortable. The room is small and very minimally furnished. No televsion in the room. Great windows, air conditioning is good. Also we stayed on the 3rd floor and they do not have elevators. This was somewhat of an issue for we stayed in the hotel pre-cruise and did have quite a bit of luggage. Shower was extremely small but adequate. Really this hotel was all about old charm and location. Good for 1 night but wouldnt want to stay long term.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The old fort is about 1.5 miles from hotel. Many many resturants to chose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
treetopseven
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

3 days here wasn't enough

The staff was exceptional, the artistic design of the hotel is very attractive and the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alejo79
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 11, 2012

Great Place for the price

This is a great place to stay for a weekend or so, very confortable beds, very nice interior. great terrace. Excelent location, kinda loud at night but because its in the middle of the action. I would stay here again.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SpinGirl123
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 25, 2012

Noisy

The hotel did state that it was noisy because it was in the "heart of the night life". But lets be honest, its really just one really loud bar across the street that plays music till 3 in the morning even on a Sunday. I'm fine with that, but that didn't mean it gave the vibrant night life I was expecting. Furthermore, our room wasn't even clean when we got there. Missing bedlinins, leftover trash, prior guests dirty towels remaining. Several guests other had the same complaint. When I asked the front desk about it, they simply stated, "oh, well, I need to go step out for a coffee." I didn't even check into the hotel early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jay o
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Apr 24, 2012

Da House

Charming hotel full of character in Old San Juan. Excellent location next to all the bars and restaurants. Amazing authentic Salsa club next door. Perfect for a couple of days in the city before or after a cruise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rico café for authentic puerto rican mofongos. The staff are excellent. Very knowledgable and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephChan
Business
Montreal
Apr 23, 2012

Pop Art Hotel review

Finally DA Hotel was overbooked even though we had a reservation. The place looked amazing. Location Location Location AND so attractive. They made calls and got us a place at Pop Art Hotel. So helpful. Pop Art Hotel was great. Beautiful, clean and full of personality. Even more LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. Don't miss the restaurant across the street - Le St-Germain. We forgot our cell phone in the room - they wrapped it up and mail it to us. Made sure our cab and wake up call was all organized for the next morning at 4:00 aM. Can't say enough good things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rene'
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Very Cool Hotel in the Heart of Old San Juan

Since I had no plans to rent a car, I wanted a hotel in the main city. I'm much more of a city than beach person. This place was just great! On top of a great location, I had a 'every other night free'. This brought my room down to 70. a night avg. This contributes to my rating. This was for an upper floor outside room, that had a shared terrace, although I never saw anyone else out there. Some of the reviews I read talked about a noise problem. I never had an issue. Maybe because of the top floor, or because I was seldom there before 2am! This place has nice artwork throughout and a great inner stairway. Remember to elevator!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MOMOGRIS
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

What a great spot

We had a wonderful room on the 4th floor. Clean, bright and cold AC! Da House Hotel was right in the center of it all, no need for a car! The staff was very helpful and friendly. This was the first time I have been to Puerto Rico. If you have never been GO! Everyone there was helpful, nice and welcoming. It was a breath of fresh air. When you go stay at Da House Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollyelisabeth
Business
Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands
Sep 4, 2011

Solo in San Juan

I was a little nervous about visiting San Juan on my own, but staying at the Da House Hotel and Gallery was great! I arrived before the regular check in time, and they let me in my room early, since it was available anyways, and the room was gorgeous! There was a terrace over looking San Juan, and I could see the ocean from it. There wasn't a TV, so if you can't do without a TV then I don't suggest this hotel, but if you can live without it while you're in San Juan (I didn't miss it), then this hotel is perfect. The staff was really kind, and very helpful. The hotel is in the absolute heart of Old San Juan and live music at the Nuyorican Cafe begins around 11 pm. It was FANTASTIC, few things are better than live salsa and it was only a few steps away from the hotel. Be warned however, I was on the fourth floor, and I could still kind of hear the music from where I was, but that didn't bother me. (but there isn't an elevator, so you need to be okay with climbing stairs to stay here as well) My favorite part of my hotel experience was watching the sun set over old san juan and relaxing in the jacuzzi on the roof. All in all a fantastic experience and fantastic hotel for people who appreciate a bit of artistic culture and flavor when they travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top