$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
View map of 312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
cool spot, amazing staff

This is a really unique type of hotel, almost like a less formal guesthouse. Beautiful rooftop... See full review

  • Emily
  • Jan 27, 2015
solo bueno

great little boutique hotel in the heart of old san juan. walking distance to bars, restos, beach,... See full review

  • John R
  • Jan 7, 2015
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna con dos enes
Toronto
Mar 7, 2014

Great location but the pool was out of service

We booked the hotel on a whim while travelling in PR and were disappointed that the roof top pool was out of service. Other than that the value for money was great. If you are bringing a lot of luggage, note that there is no elevator at the hotel and bring your own toiletries as they only provide a bar of soap. There is no TV but free internet on the second floor. Also, you can hear salsa music till 4am so if it is not your thing make sure your room is on the upper floor. I would stay there again provided the pool is fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For an authentic Boricua breakfast go to the Majorca cafe and order a breakfast on Majorca bread (located just down calle San Francisco. For a good afternoon pub try El Patio de Sam on calle San Sebastián where there is happy hour 2 for 1 drinks in the afternoons.

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Sue How Do You Do
Business
Artesia
May 7, 2015

Great Location!

They did not have hot water in our room and they do not have an elevator to take you to upper levels. The location is unbeatable and this is an old school building. Da house gives you a good idea of culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 27, 2015

cool spot, amazing staff

This is a really unique type of hotel, almost like a less formal guesthouse. Beautiful rooftop views and some of the best front desk staff who helped us find street parking (which is no small feat in Old San Juan). Their restaurant and walking tour recommendations were also top notch. Hotel was on a noisy block, so not great for delicate sleepers bUT we absolutely loved our stay here. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Puerto Rico is a block away and the mufungo is outrageous.

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John R
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

solo bueno

great little boutique hotel in the heart of old san juan. walking distance to bars, restos, beach, shopping, etc. will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

N/a

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimi G
Business
Winter Springs
Jan 5, 2015

Must Experience Old San Juan

We visit PR several times a year this was the first time we wanted to experience San Juan. Old San Juan is Beautiful and Da House was a an affordable place to stay that had the character of Old San Juan. No TV, Beautiful art work through out the Hotel and walking distance to El Morro. In the morning I opened my window and could hear the music coming from the church. I would stay there again. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to El Morro

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John R
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great little hotel in OSJ.. I'll be back soon!

Cozy, comfortable, good value, and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Somebody22
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2014

Excellent Location, Good Price

Booking through a travel service will save a substantial amount of money. Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Be aware that there is no elevator, and WiFi is available only in the common area on the second floor. Staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer NJ
Business
Palisades Park, NJ
Sep 23, 2014

Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valazka
Business
New York, NY
Aug 27, 2014

Lacking Basic Amenities

No iron, no hair dryer, flat pillows, no comforter, no elevator (lug heavy suitcases up to 4th floor), no wifi, no shampoo/conditioner, etc. etc. The one thing it did have is a salsa club next door that was extremely loud all hours of the night. When I say loud I mean, envision the loudest moment of your life, and multiply it by 8. That loud. Staff was friendly, location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 27, 2014

Very Happy

PROS: When I arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly Eduardo. He greeted me by name as if he already knew me. He took the time to talk to me about the hotel and showed me on a map some of the best local places to eat and attractions. Since I arrived early, he was willing to watch over my bag while I did some shopping and the room was prepared. The room was clean and historic looking which added to the charm of the hotel and local town. CONS: Even though there was Wi-Fi in the lobby, there wasn't any in the bedroom. The rooftop scenery is beautiful and there was a Jacuzzi but it wasn't working. Overall, it is a great value and I liked it enough to book several more nights and would come back and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is such a beautiful little town with lots to do. I initially booked a one night stay, but after one night I had to stay another night and after my second night, a third night :)

Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple on a budget 1
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 25, 2014

Great location

There was nothing special about this hotel but the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about sites and restaurants around the city and location could not be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top