$130 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Da House Hotel and Gallery

3 stars
312 San Francisco St., San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my... See full review

  • Jennifer NJ
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance See full review

  • Bns99121
  • Jul 13, 2014
Da House is the urban-latino pronunciation of 'The House', with the emphasis on 'the', 'the one', 'the space where it is happening'. In this case, it is your vacation or visit to Old San Juan. You will find yourself proudly replying in Da House to inquiries as to where you stayed.
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro 'The Nuyorican Cafe'. We offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accomodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostals in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Da House Hotel and Gallery also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Da House Hotel and Gallery Rooms

Terrace Room
Rooms offer air-conditioning, balcony, phone, high-speed internet, private bathrooms, high-quality plush pillow top mattresses, high ceilings, 10 feet windows some with spectacular views of the city and ocean; and in-room art exhibitions.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Night club
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.3 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.8 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
A variety of cuisines within walking distance from property. From fast foods, old time cafeterias, trendy restaurants, bars and lounges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Da House Hotel and Gallery

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mollyelisabeth
Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands
Sep 4, 2011

Solo in San Juan

I was a little nervous about visiting San Juan on my own, but staying at the Da House Hotel and Gallery was great! I arrived before the regular check in time, and they let me in my room early, since it was available anyways, and the room was gorgeous! There was a terrace over looking San Juan, and I could see the ocean from it. There wasn't a TV, so if you can't do without a TV then I don't suggest this hotel, but if you can live without it while you're in San Juan (I didn't miss it), then this hotel is perfect. The staff was really kind, and very helpful. The hotel is in the absolute heart of Old San Juan and live music at the Nuyorican Cafe begins around 11 pm. It was FANTASTIC, few things are better than live salsa and it was only a few steps away from the hotel. Be warned however, I was on the fourth floor, and I could still kind of hear the music from where I was, but that didn't bother me. (but there isn't an elevator, so you need to be okay with climbing stairs to stay here as well) My favorite part of my hotel experience was watching the sun set over old san juan and relaxing in the jacuzzi on the roof. All in all a fantastic experience and fantastic hotel for people who appreciate a bit of artistic culture and flavor when they travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Somebody22
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2014

Excellent Location, Good Price

Booking through a travel service will save a substantial amount of money. Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Be aware that there is no elevator, and WiFi is available only in the common area on the second floor. Staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer NJ
Business
Palisades Park, NJ
Sep 23, 2014

Great!

The hotel and staff were wonderful. Location was great - close to everything. Definitely enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valazka
Business
New York, NY
Aug 27, 2014

Lacking Basic Amenities

No iron, no hair dryer, flat pillows, no comforter, no elevator (lug heavy suitcases up to 4th floor), no wifi, no shampoo/conditioner, etc. etc. The one thing it did have is a salsa club next door that was extremely loud all hours of the night. When I say loud I mean, envision the loudest moment of your life, and multiply it by 8. That loud. Staff was friendly, location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 27, 2014

Very Happy

PROS: When I arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly Eduardo. He greeted me by name as if he already knew me. He took the time to talk to me about the hotel and showed me on a map some of the best local places to eat and attractions. Since I arrived early, he was willing to watch over my bag while I did some shopping and the room was prepared. The room was clean and historic looking which added to the charm of the hotel and local town. CONS: Even though there was Wi-Fi in the lobby, there wasn't any in the bedroom. The rooftop scenery is beautiful and there was a Jacuzzi but it wasn't working. Overall, it is a great value and I liked it enough to book several more nights and would come back and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is such a beautiful little town with lots to do. I initially booked a one night stay, but after one night I had to stay another night and after my second night, a third night :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prodis
Business
Gurabo, PR
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect location!

Good: Location, cleanliness and value. Not so good: No elevator and street noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndiConverse
Business
Grand Haven, Mi
Aug 8, 2014

Beautiful stay.

Beautiful views, friendly staff, perfect location! We hope to be back someday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bns99121
Business
Mississippi
Jul 13, 2014

Great stay

Best location possible especially for cruises. Walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SKOOMA
Business
Staunton, Virginia
Jun 23, 2014

Seeing San Juan

Staff is excellent!! Love tha taste of tha historical city in Da House...the lobby and public areas b-e-a-u-tiful!! With tha Terrance on top of the hotel breath taking...wish the hot tub was working...and T.V. always a plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the pubs and bars by the piers,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kapper 1965
Business
dallas, texas
Mar 17, 2014

bring your earplugs on the weekend!

the hotel, located in the middle of old san juan is a perfect locations for a young jet setter who wants to stay up all night and party until late hours. you almost have to as the bar on the first floor is LOUD and goes well past 4am! be prepared to walk stairs, as there wasn't an elevator. the rooms are very small but quaint and well equipped. one outlet in our room wasn't working so we had to overload the other available outlet. the bathroom didn't have a tub, just a very small corner shower, but it worked well and hot and cold water were perfect. no tv in the room, but that actually was a nice touch which added to the charm of the old san juan location. we stayed on the upper most floor and still couldn't hear our selves talk as the music coming from the first floor was outrageously loud. as well, it seemed as though you could hear each persons conversation and every girl's margarita endured shrill come over the din. overall, it's a nice place, but not quiet in the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

look for a place the locals would eat. being that this is a tourist area, there are a lot of highly polished fancier restaurants. go off the path a little to experience what locals enjoy. ask a staff member, not where you should eat, but ask them where they eat lunch or dinner. you will enjoy it much more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Da House Hotel and Gallery

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bea Sue
Business
Sa Jaun pr.
Mar 14, 2014

Think about it before you book

very load you can hear everyone that comes in at night the place echos. needs up dating in lobby . I wound not stay there again. there is no coffie in the morning and no t.v

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top