$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
couples getaway

This hotel is very nice and have wonderful friendly staff, the room and bathroom are clean and... See full review

  • kishaun
  • Aug 19, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 350
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina R.
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 24, 2014

Great vacation

Staff and personnel in the hotel were courteous, kind and very helpful. The stay was very relaxing and comfortable. Proximity to the airport allowed us to enjoy our stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SANJUAN
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 21, 2014

Amazing beach side hotel

Great service overall but the AC broke down on two nights. they were able to fix it right away though. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama 757
Business
Hampton, VA
Jul 29, 2014

Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was excellent, very close to everything. A tropical paradise, can't wait to go again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to excellent and authentic food and great shopping. Very kid friendly, grand daughter had a great time also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Motta Family
Business
Dallas Texas
Jul 29, 2014

7 party Family vacation

When we first checked in, the hotel didn't have one of the 2 rooms I booked & paid for online, but the asst manager upgraded one of the rooms to make up for it. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The only issue I had with this hotel was when we checked out, we had a bill slipped under the door of each one of our rooms saying we owed an additional $235 for one room and $125 for the other. We immediately went downstairs to find out what these bills were since I paid for the rooms in full online. I was told since we had 2 children, 13 & 17, they are both considered adults after the age of 12 so we had to pay an additional adult fee for both of them. I told her we didn't see anything about that in the description of the hotel or the additional hotel fees and she said this is THEIR hotel policy and the website says the hotel can charge ANY additional fees. I told her I am aware of the hotel having their own fees but usually it's printed in their hotels page description what additional fees may be charges and there was nothing about a 13 year old being considered an adult. Regardless, she said this fee has to be paid and stated next time we can call the hotel we're staying at and we will be told what additional fees may apply. I told her it's not right that this is not printed in their description and they should add this in their description so when people are looking for the best prices and quality of a hotel they are getting an accurate price. I chose this hotel because of the price and reviews but now these additional charges made this hotel more expensive in which I would of went with another hotel that was just as nice and also had great reviews. She then stated the description clearly says you may be subject to additional hotel charges and that would be included in that. I told her it's not clear but now we know. Besides the checking out party, we very much enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of restaurants down the street that are worth walking too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZ World Citizen
Business
Central NY
Jul 20, 2014

Great beach location

Friendly staff, room very spacious with good amenities including coffee and water. Wi-Fi worked well, beach and pool with a great pool bar. The only downside of this location is that it is very close to the airport and you hear the planes taking off and landing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants within walking distance, Lupis Mex Bar and Metropol where very good and great value, better than in the Hotel. Near other nice Casinos and Clubs as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
favorite nieces
Business
texas
Jun 30, 2014

weekend trip

Hotel was very nice. Beach access was great. Several pools available on the property which was great for evening swimming. A relaxing weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rnbelle
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 21, 2014

Worth the money

When we arrived the hotel staff was very helpful and nice. While we were there we went to the beach and enjoyed night swimming at the pool. The hotel is family friendly, we went during the week and it wasn't too crowded. Our room could have used more cleaning, the bathroom need that. Parking is not included with your stay so make sure to budget for that. The fridge in the room was not working when we arrived and it took me telling them twice and finally a day and half later they exchanged it. Then the toilet was clogged 2 mornings in a row, don't know why but they did offer to change us to another room but we were leaving the next day. Overall I would stay here again, the service was nice, the staff was friendly and it's literally right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at Church's chicken, Puerto Rico Church's chicken are not like the ones in the States, you will like the breakfast here better than at the expensive restaurants by the hotel. Yes, they sell breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MamaNaNa
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 17, 2014

Beautiful San Juan

The staff their was very polite and attentive. Gave awesome directions to Old San Juan, car rentals and beach side bartenders are to be recognized as well. We definitely will return to San Juan and stay in this locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great at Marriot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vargas4
Business
Memphis TN
Jun 1, 2014

Family vacation

The only thing that was a disappoint was the fact that I got charged an extra $50 a day for an extra person charge. I made my reservation with the ages and amount of people and was never told there was going to be an additional charge. Other than that it was great. Restaurants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MauriceJ
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 30, 2014

Great beach

Great beach ! The rug in the room was old and nasty. Sunday brunch was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top