$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
378 reviews
Great family vacation

We chose this hotel because it had a large pool area and was also ON the beach. The location of the... See full review

  • Lisa M.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Awesome stay and memories

Stayed here with the kids on our last night in Puerto Rico. Chose the hotel because of its... See full review

  • Nellie Le
  • Apr 6, 2015
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.
Policies and Fees
  • Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple/quad room occupancy per person per night will be collected by the hotel upon check-out. Please see message prior to booking about incidental charges. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 378
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lormar
Business
Princeton Jct, NJ
Jan 22, 2014

weekend getaway

while the hotel staff was friendly, they were not very caring. I got extremely ill and needed a hospital visit and they could have cared less. very disappointed. i will go back to Puerto Rico, but will not stay at this hotel. the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. i would highly recommend going to their buffet for either or both meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PR vacation 2014
Business
New Jersey
Mar 23, 2014

Needs a renovation

Hotel is in a great location and staff if very friendly but the rooms need lots of TLC - rooms are old and need updating as well as fixing. I would not stay there again at the price I paid - very OVER PRICED for what the rooms look like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SRJR
Business
Orlando , FL
Feb 19, 2013

Boca de Cangrejos

The bathroom is in desperate need of renewal . Maximum occupancy is for 4 people ; however , there aren't enough hooks for all bath towels and there isn't enough closet space , nor is there enough drawer space. The carpet was dirty . Parking spaces were meant for go karts . On a positive note : the location was good , the hotel had nice swimming pools , direct beach access and the hammocks were fantastic .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fran49
Business
Southbury,CT
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent locale

This hotel is in need of serious upgrades. The bathrooms were old and very unappealing. The maid service was nonexistent. We had to ask for cleaning services and towels. At 3:00 pm room was not touched. This also applied to my daughter's adjoining room. This was the first time in 30 years that I have not left a gratuity to the maid for services. On the plus side, all other staff were fantastic. We were treated well, and they could not do enough to accommodate our needs. The restraunts and amenities were very good. Had the rooms been at the level of the rest of the services I would have rated this experience at 4 to 5 stars. I would not reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nae-Nae
Business
Burlington Twp, NJ
Jul 13, 2011

Beautiful beach, not so beautiful staff!

I traveled with my two children ages 14 and 17, the front desk staff were friendly and welcoming however the cleaning staff were extremely rude. Bad points: I was barged in by housekeeping who proceeded to turn the TV on and watch soap opera and stand next to me while I lie in bed shocked! After 15-20 minutes of her half cleaning and watching TV, she threw the remote control on the bed and left. Our hotel room was dirty, the air conditioner leaked water on the rug, the room was musty (moldy), food in restaurants were bland. Good points: The beach is BEAUTIFUL, pool is nice, casino was a good size, free salsa lesson was fun!! Expect extra charges from tax at checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are taking taxi on excursions and outings, it will become very expensive. There is a small plaza within walking distance that have Denny's (cheap), Walgreens and other stores. Much to do in PR zip lining, bioluminescent tour, Old San Juan, rainforest, all of which were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston
Aug 11, 2008

Not so Nice Hotel for a Mariott

The fist thing I would like to Point out is, someone should have told us the hotel is on the side of the runway at the airport. It woke us up in the early morning and in the late evening. I thought a train was coming thru our room. The room had nice furniture, but room needed to be repaired and was very worn out. By that I mean the doors needed to be replaced in the bathroom from the mold on the bottom . The tiles were old and cracked . Under the counter was all crud. When you sat on the toilet you could see it. You could tell that everything was painted over and not repaired. The sheets were scratchy. The bed did not have the new down comfort mattress and also the comforter was not soft. The Slideing lanai windows were so filthy, you could not see outside of your room clearly. The food was overpriced, which I could understand being from a resort, but nothing healthy or fresh was on the menu. Everything was prepared food and fried food. As for the Pool area. You needed to have a wrist band so they could distinguish that you were a guest. But everyone from the public beach next to us was at the pool and no one said anything to them. To me that isn't a resort. They were catering to the natives and not the guests. It was very hot and they do not have umbrellas around the pool. They just have umbrellas around the patio where you eat and that was under a covered patio. When asked about it, The hotel said we could rent a n umbrella for $6.00 on the beach only . They do not have umbrellas around the pool. So we had to swelter around the pool. Not a very good resort. This definitely is not a resort. I am shocked at the Mariott. I have stayed at alot of them. This was the worst.I will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ritz Carlton was nearby and you could shop and gamble and eat there. That was about 4 Buildings down from the Mariott. After that ther was this delapadating shopping plaza with a Denny's and some kind of restaurant. I wouldn't let me dog eat there. After that plaza ther was nothing but ghetto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 10, 2010

somewhat ok

bathroom was filthy. floor and toilet had not been cleaned in a very long time. i acutally cleaned it. room had not been vacuumed before or during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Dec 28, 2010

GOOD CLEAN

THE HOTEL IS OLD AND OUTDATED THE PRICE AT AL REST. IS HIGH FOOD IS POOR. BEST EAT OUT . WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluez220
Business
Caribbean
Nov 5, 2009

My stay at the Mariot

Reserve comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
badf
Business
aaaa
Aug 15, 2009

Sneaky fees getaway

it was nice but to much money sneaky fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

terrible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top