$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Apr 22, 2009

Great Stay

Great beach, not too crowded. Took city bus to Old San Juan for 75 cents each way and enjoyed traveling with Puerto Ricans. Salsa dancing lessons with great band on Thursday nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goodrich, MI
Jun 21, 2009

Convenient Value

The Courtyard was clean and hospitable. Would suggest that you get up before 10:00 to get a cup of coffee. Afterwards, you'll be paying $4 for a small cup. Cans of soda were $3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go rent a car before you do any activities. It will save you a ton of money versus having people pick you up. Also, as to be expected, do not book anything at the hotel. Very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Empty Nest travelers
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 30, 2010

Staff sincerely friendly

We loved San Juan, the staff at the Marriott Cortyard were sincerely friendly and helpful. The nite life on Friday, Saturday and Sunday was full of Salsa dancing great music alot of locals who can dance and very nice. Gambling was small but fun and enjoyable again alot of locals who seemed to be friendly with dealers with no true supervision example: reserving seats at black jack table and machines. The food at the Picante, Bannan Bar and pool side was reasonable and good the Sirena was over priced - horrible food and service dont waste your money, get a drink and burger and sit outside by the ocean. The noise of the planes sometimes were too much. We would stay there again next time in an ocean front room (I had no problem sleeping, my husband was awoken a few times from the planes).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is the place to visit it is a short cab ride about 10-15 min. alot of restaurants, shopping, sight seeing from local cuisine to chain restaurants.First time visit must do the Old San Juan Tour and the Rain Forest really get a view of the island Rico Suntours we used very happy with them. Ask for [...] he was very informative and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 29, 2010

Family friendly

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for families. The staff was friendly, helpful, very proficient in English and very accommodating for families with small children. They have a great kid and baby pool with ample shade, and a playground. Snacks, drinks at hotel a little pricey; however, Walgreens is an easy, close walk (~1/2 mile) great for getting snacks as well as baby/kid items. Airport is very close, which makes it convenient but VERY noisy at times - but my husband loves planes so we actually viewed this as a positive! If you are interested in excursions, I would recommend renting a car, especially if you have a baby/small children so you can both save money and make your own schedule. My husband took a taxi to the airport and rented a car there, and it worked out very well. My only complaint would be the mattress was overly soft (to the point of sagging).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens for baby/kid necessities you don't want to have to pack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGSJohnson
Business
Bayamón, PR
Mar 3, 2009

Nice Oasis/Surprise In Isla Verde

It was a holiday, and my wife likes hotels, so I decided to surprise her with a night away. We didn't do very much...we ate and then hit the casino that night. Having just become hooked on BlackJack, we sat for a few hours and actually did respectfully-well. The next morning, we hung out at the idyllic beach in a hammock between two towering, cocunut trees. Overall, we were very pleased and pleasantly-surprised at the quality of vacation that this hotel gave for the incredible price that we got. It helps and hurts that this is located at the end of the strip in Isla Verde...away from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to park along the street in front of the hotel or on one of the side streets nearby. $15 a day, I think, that's how much it is, is a bit much.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eldo
Business
Trumbull CT
Sep 12, 2011

Fantastic Location Good Value

Good Service , friendly staff . Beautiful Pool and well kept grounds. Lounge had great Salsa Bands on the weekends. Food was great. managers were very helpful for any concerns .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast on Dennys down the street too pricy at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 21, 2011

Great Resort

4 places to eat on property: Banana (simple pizza and ice cream bar) The pool bar (they deliver to the beach) Salsa (sit down restaurant, mostly pasta-centric) Sirena (nicer sitdown restaurant) We ate at all 4 places during out stay, and all of them were good. The service at Salsa was quite slow but the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreen's & Denny's are 5-10 minutes walking down the road. Stock up on in-room items and have a cheaper breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iguanagirl
Business
York, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Good value on a pretty beach

This hotel is in a location very convenient to the airport on a very pretty beach. Keep in mind that this is a downtown location, so there will be traffic and noise. You can expect to hear jets taking off during the night. Although the noise is kind of a downside, the upside is that this location is within a short drive of many restaurants and also old San Juan. The hotel itself is clean but not luxurious. It is appropriate to what you would expect in a Courtyard by Marriott. It is good value for the money. The beach and pool area is very pretty. The staff in the beach area will take a beach chair and umbrella out to the beach and set it up for you. I did happen to notice that a short distance down the beach the customers at another hotel were provided with beach chairs, but not umbrellas as we were. Our room was relatively spacious. A VERY small refrigerator was also provided. So if you are looking for relatively economical lodging near downtown San Juan, you will probably be pleased with this lodging. I would probably choose to stay here for a few nights, but would select a quieter location for an entire weeks stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several dining options within walking distance from this hotel, including Lupi's Mexican Grill (good food, drinks perhaps a bit expensive) and Piu Bello (a great place to pick up some after-dinner gelato).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yet another traveller
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 7, 2011

Good chance you will be happy with it

Been there several times on business. The price and amenities are right. Hotel is near the airport and depending on your room you might hear the loud roar of jet engines in the mornings.Atmosphere is nice and you can have good food in its restaurant. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 2, 2011

Nice Hotel

The room was nice and clean. We got a better room than we paid for, which was exciting! We paid for a low room, simple and plain. We got a high room with a balcony with ocean view! Woot! The food at the restaurants was good. The drinks were strong and they gave us a voucher for two free rum drinks! Also gave us $5 matching coupons for the casino which we played blackjack and won! My only negative was the hot fudge sundae. Don't bother. It looks great, but it's not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Metropol Restaurant is nearby and good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top