$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
366 reviews
personal getaway vacation

Beautiful entrance....i was on the third floor ,room was nice and very clean..i had partial view... See full review

  • SanJuanita L.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Best Family Trip

Beautiful!!! Would stay again... Only issue I had was when I booked online, I entered all of my... See full review

  • The Motta Family
  • Jan 7, 2015
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.
Policies and Fees
  • Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple/quad room occupancy per person per night will be collected by the hotel upon check-out. Please see message prior to booking about incidental charges. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (366)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shorter
Business
isla verde
Apr 14, 2014

I had a nice time

Rooms need up grade ,they was doing construction in t the lobby .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Its okay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston
Aug 11, 2008

Not so Nice Hotel for a Mariott

The fist thing I would like to Point out is, someone should have told us the hotel is on the side of the runway at the airport. It woke us up in the early morning and in the late evening. I thought a train was coming thru our room. The room had nice furniture, but room needed to be repaired and was very worn out. By that I mean the doors needed to be replaced in the bathroom from the mold on the bottom . The tiles were old and cracked . Under the counter was all crud. When you sat on the toilet you could see it. You could tell that everything was painted over and not repaired. The sheets were scratchy. The bed did not have the new down comfort mattress and also the comforter was not soft. The Slideing lanai windows were so filthy, you could not see outside of your room clearly. The food was overpriced, which I could understand being from a resort, but nothing healthy or fresh was on the menu. Everything was prepared food and fried food. As for the Pool area. You needed to have a wrist band so they could distinguish that you were a guest. But everyone from the public beach next to us was at the pool and no one said anything to them. To me that isn't a resort. They were catering to the natives and not the guests. It was very hot and they do not have umbrellas around the pool. They just have umbrellas around the patio where you eat and that was under a covered patio. When asked about it, The hotel said we could rent a n umbrella for $6.00 on the beach only . They do not have umbrellas around the pool. So we had to swelter around the pool. Not a very good resort. This definitely is not a resort. I am shocked at the Mariott. I have stayed at alot of them. This was the worst.I will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ritz Carlton was nearby and you could shop and gamble and eat there. That was about 4 Buildings down from the Mariott. After that ther was this delapadating shopping plaza with a Denny's and some kind of restaurant. I wouldn't let me dog eat there. After that plaza ther was nothing but ghetto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 10, 2010

somewhat ok

bathroom was filthy. floor and toilet had not been cleaned in a very long time. i acutally cleaned it. room had not been vacuumed before or during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 3, 2009

my vacation in pr

Actually it was very beautifull and relaxing,lot of nice facilitys,love the beach..the only thing was that the room are not quite clean..but i was a nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Dec 28, 2010

GOOD CLEAN

THE HOTEL IS OLD AND OUTDATED THE PRICE AT AL REST. IS HIGH FOOD IS POOR. BEST EAT OUT . WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluez220
Business
Caribbean
Nov 5, 2009

My stay at the Mariot

Reserve comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Sep 7, 2009

Hotel needs major upgrades

The best thing about the hotel is it's location on the beach. Other than that it is overpriced and outdated (the rooms especially). I guess in some regards it can be considered average, but for the price I would expect a cleaner, upgraded hotel. The staff is nice enough, but other than the location, there was nothing special about it. If anything it needed a lot of work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
badf
Business
aaaa
Aug 15, 2009

Sneaky fees getaway

it was nice but to much money sneaky fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

terrible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nae-Nae
Business
Burlington Twp, NJ
Jul 13, 2011

Beautiful beach, not so beautiful staff!

I traveled with my two children ages 14 and 17, the front desk staff were friendly and welcoming however the cleaning staff were extremely rude. Bad points: I was barged in by housekeeping who proceeded to turn the TV on and watch soap opera and stand next to me while I lie in bed shocked! After 15-20 minutes of her half cleaning and watching TV, she threw the remote control on the bed and left. Our hotel room was dirty, the air conditioner leaked water on the rug, the room was musty (moldy), food in restaurants were bland. Good points: The beach is BEAUTIFUL, pool is nice, casino was a good size, free salsa lesson was fun!! Expect extra charges from tax at checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are taking taxi on excursions and outings, it will become very expensive. There is a small plaza within walking distance that have Denny's (cheap), Walgreens and other stores. Much to do in PR zip lining, bioluminescent tour, Old San Juan, rainforest, all of which were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chazz
Business
Round Rock, TX
May 9, 2009

Enjoyable

Not quite what we were expecting - but nice. Room descriptions online don't match actual room types with regard to "ocean view" - all the rooms look out over the beach at a 45-degree angle instead of straight-on, and there were some very run-down condo units next door that were somewhat of a view-spoiler. Lobby area was fairly noisy when live music was playing in the adjacent restaurant area. The food was very expensive - $12 for a 1/2 pound burger. Overall it was OK, but we expected more from a Marriott property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican food in the resort area is both expensive and not what you'd expect. It wasn't bad by any means, just not tasty to our palates, especially wen compared to food in Mexico and other caribbean locales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top