$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fran49
Business
Southbury,CT
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent locale

This hotel is in need of serious upgrades. The bathrooms were old and very unappealing. The maid service was nonexistent. We had to ask for cleaning services and towels. At 3:00 pm room was not touched. This also applied to my daughter's adjoining room. This was the first time in 30 years that I have not left a gratuity to the maid for services. On the plus side, all other staff were fantastic. We were treated well, and they could not do enough to accommodate our needs. The restraunts and amenities were very good. Had the rooms been at the level of the rest of the services I would have rated this experience at 4 to 5 stars. I would not reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old San Juan.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moria
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 6, 2013

Not the best experience

Bombarded with $400 in extra room charges upon check in. Our reservation clearly stated 4 guests for 4 nights. Apparently, there is tiny print somewhere (which we never found) that states prices are based on only 2 guests per room. Reservation also states $10 resort credit per day, the staff and manager all stated they had no idea what that was and would not honor it. The suite we had wasn't any nicer than a Motel 6 and it smells terribly of mold. We had to ask every day for 4 towels and 4 wash cloths. The beach area is beautiful and the buffet breakfast was good (not $16/pp good). No one in our group would return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nae-Nae
Business
Burlington Twp, NJ
Jul 13, 2011

Beautiful beach, not so beautiful staff!

I traveled with my two children ages 14 and 17, the front desk staff were friendly and welcoming however the cleaning staff were extremely rude. Bad points: I was barged in by housekeeping who proceeded to turn the TV on and watch soap opera and stand next to me while I lie in bed shocked! After 15-20 minutes of her half cleaning and watching TV, she threw the remote control on the bed and left. Our hotel room was dirty, the air conditioner leaked water on the rug, the room was musty (moldy), food in restaurants were bland. Good points: The beach is BEAUTIFUL, pool is nice, casino was a good size, free salsa lesson was fun!! Expect extra charges from tax at checkout

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are taking taxi on excursions and outings, it will become very expensive. There is a small plaza within walking distance that have Denny's (cheap), Walgreens and other stores. Much to do in PR zip lining, bioluminescent tour, Old San Juan, rainforest, all of which were amazing!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranston
Aug 11, 2008

Not so Nice Hotel for a Mariott

The fist thing I would like to Point out is, someone should have told us the hotel is on the side of the runway at the airport. It woke us up in the early morning and in the late evening. I thought a train was coming thru our room. The room had nice furniture, but room needed to be repaired and was very worn out. By that I mean the doors needed to be replaced in the bathroom from the mold on the bottom . The tiles were old and cracked . Under the counter was all crud. When you sat on the toilet you could see it. You could tell that everything was painted over and not repaired. The sheets were scratchy. The bed did not have the new down comfort mattress and also the comforter was not soft. The Slideing lanai windows were so filthy, you could not see outside of your room clearly. The food was overpriced, which I could understand being from a resort, but nothing healthy or fresh was on the menu. Everything was prepared food and fried food. As for the Pool area. You needed to have a wrist band so they could distinguish that you were a guest. But everyone from the public beach next to us was at the pool and no one said anything to them. To me that isn't a resort. They were catering to the natives and not the guests. It was very hot and they do not have umbrellas around the pool. They just have umbrellas around the patio where you eat and that was under a covered patio. When asked about it, The hotel said we could rent a n umbrella for $6.00 on the beach only . They do not have umbrellas around the pool. So we had to swelter around the pool. Not a very good resort. This definitely is not a resort. I am shocked at the Mariott. I have stayed at alot of them. This was the worst.I will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ritz Carlton was nearby and you could shop and gamble and eat there. That was about 4 Buildings down from the Mariott. After that ther was this delapadating shopping plaza with a Denny's and some kind of restaurant. I wouldn't let me dog eat there. After that plaza ther was nothing but ghetto.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 10, 2010

somewhat ok

bathroom was filthy. floor and toilet had not been cleaned in a very long time. i acutally cleaned it. room had not been vacuumed before or during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 3, 2009

my vacation in pr

Actually it was very beautifull and relaxing,lot of nice facilitys,love the beach..the only thing was that the room are not quite clean..but i was a nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Dec 28, 2010

GOOD CLEAN

THE HOTEL IS OLD AND OUTDATED THE PRICE AT AL REST. IS HIGH FOOD IS POOR. BEST EAT OUT . WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bluez220
Business
Caribbean
Nov 5, 2009

My stay at the Mariot

Reserve comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Sep 7, 2009

Hotel needs major upgrades

The best thing about the hotel is it's location on the beach. Other than that it is overpriced and outdated (the rooms especially). I guess in some regards it can be considered average, but for the price I would expect a cleaner, upgraded hotel. The staff is nice enough, but other than the location, there was nothing special about it. If anything it needed a lot of work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
badf
Business
aaaa
Aug 15, 2009

Sneaky fees getaway

it was nice but to much money sneaky fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

terrible

Back to menu Return to top