$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
489 reviews
Tropical Paradise

Our stay was totally awesome! The staff was very friendly and professional. The location was... See full review

  • Mama 757
  • Jul 29, 2014
Puerto Rico trip

Awesome hotel, poolside bar, steps to the beach, casino and lots of nightlife See full review

  • Lorrain
  • Jul 16, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (489)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
489 out of 489
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 29, 2009

THE WORST EXPERIENCE :(

FIRST THEY GIVE US THE WRONG ROOM. I ASK FOR HELP TO MOVE OUR THINGS TO THE NEW ROOM THEY GIVE US AND THEY REFUSE. THE EMPLOYEES ARE NOT VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. TALKING TO THE MANAGER IS WORST. [...] MY ADVISE DONT STAY ON THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurant: Close early. The snack bar two expensive. The casino is a desert. Places two eat and shop are too far to walk.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 29, 2009

THE WORST EXPERIENCE :(

FIRST THEY GIVE US THE WRONG ROOM. I ASK FOR HELP TO MOVE OUR THINGS TO THE NEW ROOM THEY GIVE US AND THEY REFUSE. THE EMPLOYEES ARE NOT VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. TALKING TO THE MANAGER IS WORST. [...] MY ADVISE DONT STAY ON THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurant: Close early. The snack bar two expensive. The casino is a desert. Places two eat and shop are too far to walk.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Jul 14, 2010

not great

bad customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

none

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Jul 14, 2010

not great

bad customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

none

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professor C
Columbus, OH, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Re: Worst Dining Experience

We dined at their restaurant (Salsa - Courtyard at Marriott) and had the worst experience. We are vegetarians and ordered a vegetarian dish. The service was pathetic and we received "meat" in our dish. The staff were very slow and non-apologetic. They took almost 40 minutes to replace our dish - which was a simple pasta! We did receive our check and had to go to the frontdesk to request it. The manager was less sincere. We have dined at several restaurants and have stayed in several top hotels - This was by far the worst experience... I would not recommend Courtyard at Marriott even to my worst enemy! Dr. C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lormar
Princeton Jct, NJ
Jan 22, 2014

weekend getaway

while the hotel staff was friendly, they were not very caring. I got extremely ill and needed a hospital visit and they could have cared less. very disappointed. i will go back to Puerto Rico, but will not stay at this hotel. the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. i would highly recommend going to their buffet for either or both meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntsville, AL
Sep 7, 2009

Hotel needs major upgrades

The best thing about the hotel is it's location on the beach. Other than that it is overpriced and outdated (the rooms especially). I guess in some regards it can be considered average, but for the price I would expect a cleaner, upgraded hotel. The staff is nice enough, but other than the location, there was nothing special about it. If anything it needed a lot of work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cranston
Aug 11, 2008

Not so Nice Hotel for a Mariott

The fist thing I would like to Point out is, someone should have told us the hotel is on the side of the runway at the airport. It woke us up in the early morning and in the late evening. I thought a train was coming thru our room. The room had nice furniture, but room needed to be repaired and was very worn out. By that I mean the doors needed to be replaced in the bathroom from the mold on the bottom . The tiles were old and cracked . Under the counter was all crud. When you sat on the toilet you could see it. You could tell that everything was painted over and not repaired. The sheets were scratchy. The bed did not have the new down comfort mattress and also the comforter was not soft. The Slideing lanai windows were so filthy, you could not see outside of your room clearly. The food was overpriced, which I could understand being from a resort, but nothing healthy or fresh was on the menu. Everything was prepared food and fried food. As for the Pool area. You needed to have a wrist band so they could distinguish that you were a guest. But everyone from the public beach next to us was at the pool and no one said anything to them. To me that isn't a resort. They were catering to the natives and not the guests. It was very hot and they do not have umbrellas around the pool. They just have umbrellas around the patio where you eat and that was under a covered patio. When asked about it, The hotel said we could rent a n umbrella for $6.00 on the beach only . They do not have umbrellas around the pool. So we had to swelter around the pool. Not a very good resort. This definitely is not a resort. I am shocked at the Mariott. I have stayed at alot of them. This was the worst.I will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ritz Carlton was nearby and you could shop and gamble and eat there. That was about 4 Buildings down from the Mariott. After that ther was this delapadating shopping plaza with a Denny's and some kind of restaurant. I wouldn't let me dog eat there. After that plaza ther was nothing but ghetto.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rick James
Ewing, New Jersey
Nov 12, 2012

The Wonderful Staff Deserves A New Upgrade

All staff members were very professional and helpful. Housekeeping is understaffed along with the outdoor restaurant. Although the hotel was clean and very comfortable, it is in need of a renovation. The bathrooms are very worn with their circa 1980’s with caulk holding several worn objects in place. I know the standards for this company are much better than what I have seen this past weekend. I use this chain whenever I travel in NY, NJ, MD, DC, SC, GA, and FL. Renovate and hire more staff now! Oh and also fry some fresh fish sandwiches in your restaurant instead of those pre-frozen breaded fast food chain type fish sticks. You’re a beach resort hotel in the tropics you know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great seafood in Loiza just down the street. Not for timid tourist though. I go to the area every time I visit the island.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Aug 10, 2010

somewhat ok

bathroom was filthy. floor and toilet had not been cleaned in a very long time. i acutally cleaned it. room had not been vacuumed before or during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top