$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
339 reviews
Girls Vacation

Everything About This Hotel Was Amazing From The Location To The Views To The Onsite Restaurants !!! See full review

  • Ashley S.
  • Aug 27, 2015
Enjoyable stay!

My family and I enjoyed this hotel very much. The beach and pool area were very clean. It was nice... See full review

  • Lory
  • Jul 25, 2015
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.
General
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Location
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Dining
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Rooms
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Highlights

The hotel is located less than one mile from the San Juan Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (SJU). Local attractions include the Old San Juan Historical District, Plaza Las Americas Shopping Center and Jose Miguel Agrelot Coliseum.

Guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines ranging from American to international at several restaurants including Cafe Tropical, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Bananas Ice Cream Parlor, and Sirena Bar & Tapas Restaurant.

Daily live music is offered at Picante Lounge. Weekly salsa dancing is provided in the hotel's lobby, creating an authentic Puerto Rican vacation experience.

The resort is popular among families who wish to take in the historic sites of Old San Juan as well as business travelers who are yearning to relax on the beach in between meetings.

Fees
  • Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple/quad room occupancy per person per night will be collected by the hotel upon check-out. Please see message prior to booking about incidental charges. 

Policies
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$120
4.0 / 5 528 reviews
★★★
$109
3.6 / 5 165 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 374 reviews
★★★
$116
4.1 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 241 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.2 / 5 150 reviews
★★★
$116
3.6 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 16 reviews

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 339
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penny Redstar
Single
Albertson, New York
Apr 28, 2014

Great spot with everything you need

This classic chain resort is right on the beach. It's a 5-minute (and $15) cab ride from San Juan airport. There are several on-site restaurants that satisfy any palate. There's also a great bar with nightly entertainment and a casino, so if you don't want to leave, you don't have too. The staff is more than accommodating, with plenty of towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. There's also water sports for a nominal fee. but there's also floats and surf boards to borrow. In addition, the swim-up pool bar is great to keep cool with the sun gets too hot. The room itself is spacious with a large bathroom, balcony and couch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tico super fan of Puerto Rico
Single
New Orleans, LA
Jul 7, 2011

Excellent hotel! great bargain.

It was an awsome experience!with a beautiful view of the beach. The staff at the hotel was truly the best and the location was was perfect. I had a wonderful week of rest!!!! I will for sure consider this hotel in my next visit to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
new york
Oct 12, 2009

great

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 30, 2011

Five Star Review - Awesome!

The Courtyard Marriott in Isla Verde Puerto Rico is a great destination resort. The hotel staff was extremely polite and pleasant upon my arrival. Check in was quick and easy. I found my room clean and fresh with a beautiful ocean view and private balcony. Plenty of activities in the hotel including The Picante Lobby Bar which featured live salsa music and locals dancing. I also enjoyed the 24hour full service gym that overlooks the pool and beach. It doesn't get no better than that. The views are stunning thru-out the resort! I was even able to print out my boarding pass from the computer room in the lobby. Marriott hit ALL the marks on this Business/Family oriented resort! I will be returning in December!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

METROPOL - Locals dine here for authentic Cuban and Puerto Rican food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alma's Angels
Single
San Diego
Dec 22, 2009

Lovely!

It was a great experience's the employees were super nice,I love the fact that they had a salsa orquesta so you really don't had to go anywhere else I love it so much that I will totally stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tampa Fl
Jun 30, 2010

It was outstanding!!!

Had a wonderful stay would definitly come with the family all other hotels and resturants are at walking distance. If you need to rent a car it will cost you a daily charge to keep it at the hotel ,,,take the taxi it's a flat fee. Visit old san Juan lots to do there. Overall do your homework and follow the four P's you will have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 101
Single
Kent United Kingdom
Feb 17, 2011

Brilliant holiday..great value for money

I had a great holiday in San Juan. It was made even better by the fact that I was at this courtyard Marriott that can stand up to any of its equivalent Marriotts in the world. I had a partial Ocean View room on the 6th floor which in my opinion could almost be classed as an ocean view room. Key point is that I could see the ocean from my bed.lol! The rooms were cleaned promptly every day, receptionists were polite friendly and helpful. It was great to have the live bands each night and insight into local night life. I was particularly fascinated by all the salsa dancing by local families of all ages. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the fresh omelettes that are made as you wait. But best of all the view and ambience by the beach as you have breakfast was brilliant. I had the opportunity to visit someone who was staying at the Ritz Carlton on the same beach. I am very happy to report that Courtyard beach area & sand is much better and the environment is better. Even my room in terms of value for money was easily comparable if not better than the Ritz Carlton. There were plumbing issues on my last night when I got back to the hotel at around 2am. I called reception and immediately a plumber came and resolved the issue and cleaner came and mopped up. So even though there was a slight problem it was resolved very quickly, what more can you ask for? Seems a pity that the Bar in the pool & the pool area seem underutilized and closes early! I guess it is because of lack of use but the fact that it closes early might be why it is under utilized Previous reviewers have complained about plane noise. Personally it was not a problem at all. You cannot hear it in the rooms. Even when you are on the beach, the planes taking off or landing at infrequent time-frames are not much louder than the waves. If/when I go back to San Juan, I shall stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two sides to the Isla verde beach. Go to the side where Waldof hotel is. Walk right towards the end of the beach when the Embassy Suite beach chairs are. There is a row of local restaurants - Nothing much to look at but great local food. I can't remember the names of the restaurants.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oberpongo
Single
Seattle
Nov 21, 2011

Close to Airport and nice Beach

Its conveniently located near the airport and does have its direct beach access. Of course you will also hear the airplanes all day. I thought the price was a little high for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the old town. Its a 20 min Taxi ride

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papi Chulito
Single
Orlando, FL
Apr 1, 2010

Good Value, Good Location SJ Hotel

I went to San Juan for a three-night stay to visit a girlfriend and some friends, and to relax on the beach with a few rum runners. The Isla Verde Courtyard Marriot is a good value hotel for the area. It's not 5-star or swanky, but has a decent restaurant, good pool, great beach access, great fitness center, and great access to the local highway if traveling off hotel property. I'm not much of a gambler, but it seems to have an adequate casino with good staff. If you want the posh sips without spending mucho dinero for the hotel room, the Courtyard is a short distance by foot or cab to the chic El San Juan Hotel. For you salsa enthusiasts, the Courtyard "Salsa" bar has great live music in the evenings (salsa, rumba, bachata, cha cha )-- however, you will not find many competent single salseras dancing here. Bring your own dance partner if you have the skills to pay the bills. The bartenders and service staff were attentive and friendly. The fitness center, including dumbbells, is nice for a hotel. The Courtyard is at the east end of Isla Verde, very close to the airport, but the jet noise didn't bother me too much. If you are looking for super quiet, then Isla Verde should not be your beach escape destination in San Juan. The rooms are quiet. I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, and it's an overall good value for Isla Verde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens is a short walk from the hotel for stocking up on regular drinks and sunscreen. A regular grocery store "Pueblo" is only a short drive from the Courtyard (they sell liquor, too)

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerald H
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 13, 2011

Wonderful hotel

I stayed at this hotel during the Labor Day weekend. Check in took a while ( I don't know why), but it overall it was fantastic! The people are friendly. It's right on the beach so you don't have to go far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Denny's Chili's McDonald's, Burger King, Taco Bell.... all of the familair restaurants wihtin walking distance. The locla restaurant is called Mi Casita and it is very good. it is located inside a strip mall.

Back to menu Return to top