$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
315 reviews
Birthday celebration at puerto rico Marriot Courtyard Isla Verde

The hotel is best, 10mins from airport right on the beach. 15mins away from the main mall. Security... See full review

  • rominick
  • Mar 14, 2014
My first trip ever.

For this being my first vacation that I have ever taken, it definitely set the standards of... See full review

  • Daniel Degraw
  • Mar 14, 2014
San Juan hotel on Isla Verde Beach with four restaurants, casino
The marble and granite lobby with white pillars and a splash of fresh, exotic flowers sets the tone for the hotel's blend of chic with Caribbean flair. Comfortably elegant rooms feature private balconies at the Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort. Out back, guests splash in a huge pool and relax in a hot tub on the palm tree-enclosed patio of this resort on beautiful Isla Verde Beach. Spend the night in the casino or have a meal at one of the hotel's four restaurants.
Highlights
  • Faces mile-long Isla Verde Beach
  • Private balconies in every room
  • Free salsa and merengue dance lessons
  • Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Rooms

These rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott are clad in mellow yellow and coral tones, with comfy chairs and plush bedding. All 260 guest rooms have private balconies. Most rooms have an ocean view or are oceanfront. Both wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in every room.

Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night) will be collected directly by the hotel upon check-out. See message prior to booking about incidental charges.

Features

Kids have their own pools and playground at this Courtyard by Marriott, as well as a video arcade and an ice cream parlor. Self parking and valet parking are available.

Dining

There are several on-site dining options including Sirena Restaurant, where Carribean fusion cuisine is served in a candlelit atmosphere with ocean views. Papaya Oceanfront Grill has a swim-up bar and offers sandwiches, salads and a children's menu. Salsa Restaurant, open for breakfast and dinner, is a casual spot for traditional Puerto Rican fare.

Entertainment

The Casino del Sol offers a variety of slots and game tables. In the Picante Lobby Lounge, where there's daily live music, guests dance salsa and meringue with free dance lessons on Thursday nights.

 

Recreation

In addition to the beach and pool, there are also volleyball and bike rentals on-site. Jet skiing, kayaking, surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving and deep-sea fishing are nearby. The fitness center is open 24 hours and is free of charge to hotel guests.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (.5 mi/TK km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Messenger service
  • 3,600 square feet of meeting space
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Catering available
Policies & fees

Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night) will be collected directly by the hotel upon check-out. See message prior to booking about incidental charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

RATES ARE BASED ON SINGLE/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. EXTRA PERSON CHARGES (triple or quad room occupancy/per person - per night)WILL BE COLLECTED DIRECTLY BY THE HOTEL UPON CHECK OUT. SEE MESSAGE PRIOR TO BOOKING ABOUT INCIDENTAL CHARGES.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4432 -66.0093
Area served
Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) is less than a mile away.
Area description
Located on one of Puerto Rico's finest beaches, the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort in San Juan is less than ten minutes from the Business District, with easy access.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
315 out of 315
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
tdaniels
Montgomery, NY
Mar 2, 2014

Family Getaway from Winter in New York

This hotel was great. Friendly staff, great food and fantastic location. I highly recommend and would come back again. I loved eating breakfast and dinner outside on the deck and loved walking out of the hotel onto the beach. Staff was friendly and made me and my family feel very welcomed. The casino was fun too, even won some money. Already planning my next trip!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 19, 2008

Excellent Family Friendly

I love the Marriott, the hotel is awesome and I always can't wait to go there, the staff is the best I have ever dealt with and the hotel is clean and they go out of their way to make sure you are happy with everything. We are close to everything you need so you can walk to the restaurants, stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Also there is a Denny's close by. other hotels also have nightlife and casino and it is a short walk to them. Restaurants are very close as well, also a short walk. Walgreens and hair salon close as well, also a short walk. beach is very close.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
NYRican430
Queens, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Wonderful stay

Our stay was one for the books. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the buffet restaurant was traditional Puerto Rican foods and absolutely delicious. The beach and pool area was enjoyable. The live bands during the weekend were great. The ocean view rooms very nice and comfortable. Taxi rides to surrounding attractions were OK, just prepare to pay $20 round trip wherever you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To a Walgreens for stuff you may have forgotten to pack. A little further a 24 hour supermarket. Souvenier shopping in Old San Juan recommended. Prices are more reasonable.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
black barbie
New York, NY
Dec 29, 2008

Great

Courtyard by the Marriot was a GREAT place to stay. The beach is connected to the hotel and the water was warm and very inviting. The pools of the hotels is a another valid option for those who want to avoid the salt water. I hightly recommend this hotel and will most likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Every night the place is jumping with people. It seems that the hotel entertainment and casino is a focal point for the locals.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA
Feb 16, 2011

Family Vacation get away!!!

One of the best vacations ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
crete
May 26, 2008

Very family friendly

Our 7 year old had a very good time with the beach being very accessible as well as pool and jacuzi. The beach and pool staff were extremely accomodating and went out of their way to get us a good spot on the beach each morning. You need 2 days to overcome the airport noise. We didn't like the first room but the desk clerk escorted us to 3 other rooms until we were satisfied. The rooms were a little small but the location made up for it. We were gone all day into the evening and only needed the room to crash. The food in the hotel was expensive but offered different options and venues. A short walk is a mexican restaurant which we frequented. The concierge ensured that our auto rental was the best price in San Juan. It was a great trip and we will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's is near as well as a Walgreens (we bought Off there to ward off the sand fleas and no-see-ums) and a small shopping mall.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
BluestarOnTheMove
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gem on the beach!

Fabulous location right on the beach! More privacy/quiet and less crowded than the big, ritzy next door Ritz Carlton. Nicer blend of people, too-- we expected less, but received more in every aspect!--friendly/willing hotel employees, comfort, laid-back easy-going atmosphere, good food & a fun little casino to boot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sports bar just a few blocks away.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Carbondale, CO
Nov 1, 2008

great location by the airport

The location was close to the airport which was the key for us as we were only there for about 8 hrs. The resturants were good and the beach was on sight. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was about 5 minutes from the airport and the beach was on sight. If you don't have a car it is a short walk to other hotels and resturants.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Katy Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Best bang for the buck!

Private beach welcomes you to relax in huge hammocks that are next to the beautiful pool with a swim up bar. Best value for a hotel with such ample amenities Staff friendly and knowledgeable We took public tranportation to Old San Juan a bargain at 75 cents! Take the trolly to El Morro and spend the rest of the day walking around Rent a car from Rafi at U Save for 21 bucks a day go to Ponce Salsa dancing is a must and on Thursday hour class We drove around the island and enjoyed it much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant "metropol" excellent and a short walk from the hotel La Triana in old San Juan has authentic Spanish food and flamenco show on the weekend

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chesapeake, VA
Jul 26, 2008

nice view

The hotel resort area was beautiful; the beach was very nice, great shell hunting at low tide; mostly families around the pool area; we had to wait 3 hours for our room to be prepared at check in;the bed was uncomfortable; the lock to the room door looked as if had been jimmied and was a problem opening and closing the door; the food was good but overpriced and we were surprised to be charged an extra person charge daily when we specified we had three persons in our package. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Most attractions were fairly close to the hotel and had transportation picked us up at the hotel. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top