$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
370 reviews
Great short stay in San Juan

This hotel deserves 4 stars clean, ultra friendly staff, great location, food for hotel restaurant... See full review

  • Ed P.
  • Mar 9, 2015
personal getaway vacation

Beautiful entrance....i was on the third floor ,room was nice and very clean..i had partial view... See full review

  • SanJuanita L.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.
Policies and Fees
  • Rates are based on single/double occupancy. Extra person charges (triple/quad room occupancy per person per night will be collected by the hotel upon check-out. Please see message prior to booking about incidental charges. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professor C
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Re: Worst Dining Experience

We dined at their restaurant (Salsa - Courtyard at Marriott) and had the worst experience. We are vegetarians and ordered a vegetarian dish. The service was pathetic and we received "meat" in our dish. The staff were very slow and non-apologetic. They took almost 40 minutes to replace our dish - which was a simple pasta! We did receive our check and had to go to the frontdesk to request it. The manager was less sincere. We have dined at several restaurants and have stayed in several top hotels - This was by far the worst experience... I would not recommend Courtyard at Marriott even to my worst enemy! Dr. C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 29, 2009

THE WORST EXPERIENCE :(

FIRST THEY GIVE US THE WRONG ROOM. I ASK FOR HELP TO MOVE OUR THINGS TO THE NEW ROOM THEY GIVE US AND THEY REFUSE. THE EMPLOYEES ARE NOT VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. TALKING TO THE MANAGER IS WORST. [...] MY ADVISE DONT STAY ON THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurant: Close early. The snack bar two expensive. The casino is a desert. Places two eat and shop are too far to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jul 14, 2010

not great

bad customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zafrien
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Jan 18, 2014

Good for a few days

I was very disappointed with my stay at the courtyard marriott in isla verde. My room was okay and not what I expected. There was dust on the lamps the bathroom was not clean there was a used towel still sitting on the sink the rug was not vacuum. Although my husband and I was given a room on the 7th floor with a partial ocean view we could still hear the construction on the upper portion of the hotel. The gift shop was closed for reconstruction. The staff was okay, I have tried in several occasion to stir up a conversation with the staff to get input on where to go and they were not open. All in all it was a leaching vacation thanks to just walking out the the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walgreens about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lormar
Business
Princeton Jct, NJ
Jan 22, 2014

weekend getaway

while the hotel staff was friendly, they were not very caring. I got extremely ill and needed a hospital visit and they could have cared less. very disappointed. i will go back to Puerto Rico, but will not stay at this hotel. the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. i would highly recommend going to their buffet for either or both meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PR vacation 2014
Business
New Jersey
Mar 23, 2014

Needs a renovation

Hotel is in a great location and staff if very friendly but the rooms need lots of TLC - rooms are old and need updating as well as fixing. I would not stay there again at the price I paid - very OVER PRICED for what the rooms look like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shorter
Business
isla verde
Apr 14, 2014

I had a nice time

Rooms need up grade ,they was doing construction in t the lobby .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Its okay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rick James
Business
Ewing, New Jersey
Nov 12, 2012

The Wonderful Staff Deserves A New Upgrade

All staff members were very professional and helpful. Housekeeping is understaffed along with the outdoor restaurant. Although the hotel was clean and very comfortable, it is in need of a renovation. The bathrooms are very worn with their circa 1980’s with caulk holding several worn objects in place. I know the standards for this company are much better than what I have seen this past weekend. I use this chain whenever I travel in NY, NJ, MD, DC, SC, GA, and FL. Renovate and hire more staff now! Oh and also fry some fresh fish sandwiches in your restaurant instead of those pre-frozen breaded fast food chain type fish sticks. You’re a beach resort hotel in the tropics you know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great seafood in Loiza just down the street. Not for timid tourist though. I go to the area every time I visit the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SRJR
Business
Orlando , FL
Feb 19, 2013

Boca de Cangrejos

The bathroom is in desperate need of renewal . Maximum occupancy is for 4 people ; however , there aren't enough hooks for all bath towels and there isn't enough closet space , nor is there enough drawer space. The carpet was dirty . Parking spaces were meant for go karts . On a positive note : the location was good , the hotel had nice swimming pools , direct beach access and the hammocks were fantastic .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fran49
Business
Southbury,CT
Apr 19, 2013

Excellent locale

This hotel is in need of serious upgrades. The bathrooms were old and very unappealing. The maid service was nonexistent. We had to ask for cleaning services and towels. At 3:00 pm room was not touched. This also applied to my daughter's adjoining room. This was the first time in 30 years that I have not left a gratuity to the maid for services. On the plus side, all other staff were fantastic. We were treated well, and they could not do enough to accommodate our needs. The restraunts and amenities were very good. Had the rooms been at the level of the rest of the services I would have rated this experience at 4 to 5 stars. I would not reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top