$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asworsky
Business
san juan
Dec 1, 2014

Upgrade was decent

This hotel isn't near much. Few restaurant and it is on the beach which was the draw for us but if you want to go anywhere it is a $20 taxi from the hotel one way. That added a extra $40 onto any day excursion or dinner we went too. We originally were in a regular room with a king bed and it was not a place I wanted to sleep in for a week. We ended up talking to the staff who were extremely nice and did find a suite we could upgrade too. Because the other room was so musty and cramped and it was our honeymoon we paid the extra $60 a night onto what we already paid for the upgraded room that had a little more space and a balcony. It was on the remodeled part so it was new BUT the construction going on was heard first thing in the morning and went all day. We took noise over dirty. The food was over priced and at best decent, the room we ended with was wonderful but we very much paid for it and had construction noise. The staff was wonderful and the beach was very nice. The few restaurants in walking distance were ok, Platos was a amazing restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahul R.
Business
Bethesda
Dec 23, 2014

Great location and Beach!

I loved that the hotel was right on the beach. Great location, and great bar :) Our wifi did not work for the entire stay (8 nights), and they never fixed it, despite the complaints. Overall decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahul R.
Business
Bethesda
Dec 22, 2014

Great location and Beach!

I loved that the hotel was right on the beach. Great location, and great bar :) Our wifi did not work for the entire stay (8 nights), and they never fixed it, despite the complaints. Overall decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aniket N.
Business
Sunnyvale
Jan 8, 2015

Interior subpar, great beach hammocks though

We were at the hotel for 6 nights. Overall, it was an mixed bag. The hotel room was sub-par and the bed was uncomfortable. On one of the nights, we were woken up by a fire alarm at 1 am followed by an announcement, that it was a mistake. A couple of days in,we had almost made up our mind to move to a different hotel, however, we liked the beach adjoining the hotel with the hammocks and lounge setup and ended up staying the entire duration. All-together the rooms are not too good, however the beach right outside with the relaxing hammocks and the lounge/outdoor restaurant sort made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashlee P.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Great trip

My best friend & I went on vacation to P.R. We had a blast. The hotel was very nice and cozy. The food (excluding the breakfast) was not though. All the staff was very friendly but ran pretty slow in the outside area. The beach was great! We spent a lot of time there. The pool was very warm but didn't get much sun due to all of the Palm trees surrounding it. We got exceptional tans on the beach. Drinks were over-priced along with the food. We ate and drank off the resort mostly. The airplanes were pretty loud,only while we were on our balcony though. All In all our trip was great and we would go again. Weather was perfect and that was our main objective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a bunch of small restaurants about a mile to the left of the hotel. The food down there was delicious. Mostly fried but all authentic Puerto Rican food. I highly recommend checking it out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vivi
Business
N/A
Mar 15, 2015

average overall

Everything is expensive from food to drinks. We ate only once in the hotel and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Sep 3, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

2nd time there and was disappointed this time.Called hotel night before to confirm my stay (3persons 1room), when I got there they claimed my child(13yo) was not included and was railroaded to upgrade which was cheaper then to pay for the extra person, a child. I was also sitting at a table having drinks and food at the Picante and embarrassed in the middle of my drinks that we had to be moved because the Casino manager (Sam) wanted the table for his guess which was not occupied at all during the time i remained at Picante(2hrs).Lack of imenities for 3 persons, garbage was left at our room for 2 days and we removed ourselves. Soda machine was not filled and had to go to another floor to buy sodas. I will not come back even though I must say that the one thing I loved about it that made me return was the service by the pool and beach side. But I think it's time to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Did love walking to the supermarket everyday and easy access to Condado and Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chazz
Business
Round Rock, TX
May 9, 2009

Enjoyable

Not quite what we were expecting - but nice. Room descriptions online don't match actual room types with regard to "ocean view" - all the rooms look out over the beach at a 45-degree angle instead of straight-on, and there were some very run-down condo units next door that were somewhat of a view-spoiler. Lobby area was fairly noisy when live music was playing in the adjacent restaurant area. The food was very expensive - $12 for a 1/2 pound burger. Overall it was OK, but we expected more from a Marriott property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Rican food in the resort area is both expensive and not what you'd expect. It wasn't bad by any means, just not tasty to our palates, especially wen compared to food in Mexico and other caribbean locales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just married couple
Business
New York
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel. However, we arrived & no one was there to offer to carry the bags to the rooms. I had asked for a romantic package of wine and fruits to be deliveried to my room prior my arrival and breakfast in the morning to surprise my husband. This was our honeymoon trip and there was nothing waiting for us when we arrived and no breakfast in the morning was deliveried either. The manager sent it later in the afternoon as courtesy but I didnt want it anymore. Beside this incident, the hotel has a very nice environment for adults including the life salsa bands playing all night. Great beach and pool but food is tooooo expensive. We ate out of the hotel must of the days we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The nightlife at the Hotel San Juan is great. It has a very nice disco and the lounge is great for mid 30s. The nightlife at this Courtyard hotel is more for 50+ age people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al Baz
Business
Revere, Mass.
Jan 26, 2014

`one week in puerto Rico

The hotel staff were very professional, courteous, really seemed to enjoy thier work, they were very friendly and the beach staff went beyond helpful. I enjoy the concept of the individual unbrella. it saves a lot of aggravation trying to find a hut early in the morning. The water was warm and inviting, but we had a lot of wave action. The room was dated and I missed my own bed but Andrea was great and she kept the room in tip top shape. even though she spoke no english and I didn't speak any spanish we seemed to get the job done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Isla Verde Blvd has several hotels that enjoy some great restaurants. and the walk is good to work off the meal so you can enjoy sitting in the casinos. lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top