$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young at Heart Mare
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 31, 2013

Best winter family getaway

My husband and daughter (age 25) and I celebrated my birthday here on a whim for 5 nights, and WOW, were we ever surprised by this Courtyard! We usually stay in Marriott Courtyards when we travel in the US, but this Courtyard resort is exceptional in every way. Beautiful pool area with swim up bar, friendliest staff, extras like massages on the beach. Hotel is on a spectacular stretch of beach outside San Juan, minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. We walked easily and safely to restaurants and shops in Isla Verde. Weekends there was a full band in lobby bar playing beautiful salsa music and local couples dancing---wonderful to see. So much easier to get to than other Caribbean islands we've been to, but from now on we'll only come back to PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Walgreen's and Public supermarket and buy beer in cans, wine, soda, snacks, cheese, fruits, styrofoam cooler. The beach in front of hotel is public, and lots of hotel guests take their own beer out there.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cheerag
Business
canton, mi
Jan 26, 2014

Good location!

This motel needs to spend money on beds, bathroom and carpet. If you are planning to staying there please ask room not facing at apartment building but other side. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lormar
Business
Princeton Jct, NJ
Jan 22, 2014

weekend getaway

while the hotel staff was friendly, they were not very caring. I got extremely ill and needed a hospital visit and they could have cared less. very disappointed. i will go back to Puerto Rico, but will not stay at this hotel. the buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. i would highly recommend going to their buffet for either or both meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zafrien
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Jan 18, 2014

Good for a few days

I was very disappointed with my stay at the courtyard marriott in isla verde. My room was okay and not what I expected. There was dust on the lamps the bathroom was not clean there was a used towel still sitting on the sink the rug was not vacuum. Although my husband and I was given a room on the 7th floor with a partial ocean view we could still hear the construction on the upper portion of the hotel. The gift shop was closed for reconstruction. The staff was okay, I have tried in several occasion to stir up a conversation with the staff to get input on where to go and they were not open. All in all it was a leaching vacation thanks to just walking out the the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a walgreens about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EME KY
Business
Kentucky
Dec 22, 2013

Convenient location, great beach access

The best reasons to choose this hotel are: 1) Beach front location - you can literally wall 100' from the pool area and sit on a beach chair just steps from the ocean 2) Location - the airport is a 5 minute drive from the hotel (though that does mean you hear the planes taking off), plus there are numerous restaurants within a 10 minute walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DChes
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 14, 2013

winter getaway

The overall experience was good. I booked a room requesting a firm mattress. Only to find out that the entire hotel has only one option. The sheets during day one wasn't as fresh and housekeeping was notified. all in all the location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyCouple 2013
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 1, 2013

Fantastic Staff

The manager (Jose) went out of his way to take care of us when we asked for vegetarian food. He provided us great service. The bartenders are very friendly and knowledgeable. Sally is an excellent and creative bartender; she created some great drinks for us. The front desk was also very accommodating to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

El San Juan Hotel has good night clubs.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph hdjsqahdjs
Business
Atlanta GA
Nov 19, 2013

PERFECT TRIP

THE STAFF WAS AMAZING AND CHARISMATIC. THE AMBIANCE THE ENTIRE TRIP WAS FUN, RELAX AND ENJOYABLE. THE ROOM WAS NICE. DID NOT HAVE A FULL BEACH VIEW BUT IT DID NOT REALLY MATTER. THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS... THE WEATHER WAS PERFECT. IT WAS OVERALL A PERFECT TRIP AND WILL BE BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CORVETTEMAN
Business
SAN JUAN
Nov 15, 2013

GREAT FUN

THE HOTEL WAS GREAT AND THE STAFF IS THE BEST, CAN'T DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND HAVING A CASINO ON THE PROPERTY WAS A PLEASURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International has a great Italian restaurant.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of 7
Business
hackensack, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Awesome Vacation

From the moment we got out of our taxi we were greeted with smiles & kindness. Everyone at Courtyard Marriott was pleasant, kind & friendly. We were in PR for a family wedding that took place in another hotel but it turned out that several of the guest stayed at the CM. I would not think twice about staying with them again. The rooms were clean and the beds were soooo comfy. The service on the beach & pool side were also good. Overall our family had an awesome time. Thanks CM. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the short drive it Old San Juan to La Vaca Loca. The food was amazing.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn and Al
Business
Newark, New Jersey
Oct 11, 2013

Surprise Birthday Getaway for my Fiance

The Courtyard by Marriott is a very nice hotel. We had an early flight in and once we arrived at the hotel they checked us in immediately. Our room was very nice and clean but the building located on the right side of the hotel was a complete eyesore. The next morning I spoke to the hotel manager and he immediately without hesitation moved and upgraded us from a partial ocean view regular room to a full suite with a full ocean view. The room service, food and staff was EXCELLENT. We will definitely be visiting the Courtyard by Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was a little expensive but well worth it......Also if your going to go sight seeing it is definitely cheaper to rent a car. The cab rides are very expensive there.

Back to menu Return to top