$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

3 stars
7012 Bosa de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
355 reviews
Birthday weekend well spent!

From beginning to end the staff in every department was/were extremely hospitable. It's like I... See full review

  • Ms. Puerto Rico
  • Dec 22, 2014
Fantastic couple getaway

Excellent service, nice location, great good. Most of all the prices are affordable. See full review

  • Hubby1969
  • Sep 15, 2014
Blue Flag award-winning Isla Verde Beach is found in Puerto Rico's San Juan, and home to the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde Beach Resort. The beachfront establishment has a family-friendly feel, and offers rooms with private balconies to all guests on its spacious 12 floors. Go for a leisurely swim in the free-form swimming pool, take it easy in the whirlpool, or splash around with the kids in the toddler pool. Grab a bite to eat at the Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe, or swim up to the Papaya Oceanfront Grill. Dine at the Caribbean-fusion Sirena restaurant for ocean views, place a bet at the 24-hour Casino Del Soland, or dance the night away at the lively Picante Lobby Lounge.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms with free hard-wired and wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour business center with 4 meeting rooms
  • Valet and multi-level garage parking, for an extra fee
  • On-site fitness center
  • Picante Lobby Lounge with live music on weekends
  • 24-hour Casino Del Sol
  • 4 on-site dining facilities: Salsa restaurant, Papaya Oceanfront Grill, Caribbean-     fusion Sirena, and Banana Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe
Neighborhood
Explore the vibrant San Juan area, where you can sample international restaurant dishes, cocktails at local bars, or hearty food at the famous Hard Rock Cafe. The Museo de Arte e Historia and Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico are a must for culture buffs. Take a walking tour through historic Old San Juan to experience the thrilling bioluminescent bays and the El Yungue National Rain Forest. Nightlife is never lacking in San Juan, where visitors can cut loose at several clubs or in one of the casinos.
Hints and tips
The beach hammocks provided by the Courtyard by Marriott staff are a unique favorite among guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort Rooms

Rooms
All rooms are equipped with mini-refrigerator and coffee maker, complimentary high-speed Internet and in-room safe deposit box. All rooms have private balconies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.7 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.8 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.9 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7.3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.3 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49.3 mi

Dining

Room Service
is available from 6am until 11pm sevendays a week.
Picante Lobby Bar
Stop by for a drink!
Salsa Restaurante
Some local flavor! Open for lunch and dinner.
Papaya Oceanfront Grill
American dining, open for lunch and dinner.
Bananas Ice Cream Parlor / Cafe
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sirena's Restaurant
Oceanfront fine dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugsythebulldog
Los Angeles
Nov 26, 2012

Great place

Great beach property, warn waters,great service,great price on drinks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CORVETTEMAN
Business
SAN JUAN
Nov 15, 2013

GREAT FUN

THE HOTEL WAS GREAT AND THE STAFF IS THE BEST, CAN'T DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND HAVING A CASINO ON THE PROPERTY WAS A PLEASURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The International has a great Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party of 7
Business
hackensack, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Awesome Vacation

From the moment we got out of our taxi we were greeted with smiles & kindness. Everyone at Courtyard Marriott was pleasant, kind & friendly. We were in PR for a family wedding that took place in another hotel but it turned out that several of the guest stayed at the CM. I would not think twice about staying with them again. The rooms were clean and the beds were soooo comfy. The service on the beach & pool side were also good. Overall our family had an awesome time. Thanks CM. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the short drive it Old San Juan to La Vaca Loca. The food was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn and Al
Business
Newark, New Jersey
Oct 11, 2013

Surprise Birthday Getaway for my Fiance

The Courtyard by Marriott is a very nice hotel. We had an early flight in and once we arrived at the hotel they checked us in immediately. Our room was very nice and clean but the building located on the right side of the hotel was a complete eyesore. The next morning I spoke to the hotel manager and he immediately without hesitation moved and upgraded us from a partial ocean view regular room to a full suite with a full ocean view. The room service, food and staff was EXCELLENT. We will definitely be visiting the Courtyard by Marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It was a little expensive but well worth it......Also if your going to go sight seeing it is definitely cheaper to rent a car. The cab rides are very expensive there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doyonski
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 8, 2013

Great girls getaway

Great location, food was pretty good. Loved the beach and all of the staff was very nice. We were upgraded to a ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of places go to to enjoy the night life. Some as close as a 3 min drive up to about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gutsnglam
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2013

Comfortable, clean, great staff, but I expected more for the money

It's a perfect beachfront hotel. The room itself is very clean and comfortable. I love the beach. I wish they had complimentary breakfast. I always had a problem with the tv. Either the remote control isn't always working or there's no cable at all. Also, we were in a room connected to another room, and the wall is soooo thin. You could hear everything. The hotel is great but not equivalent to the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Software Engineer
Business
Annapolis, MD
Sep 28, 2013

Extraordinary Experience

I read many mixed reviews by people who stayed at Marriott Isla Verde, and I do not understand the basis for any of the negatives. First, the entire staff from parking valets to housekeeping could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our rented car was parked and retrieved promptly, and taxis were available for trips downtown where we didn't care to drive; our room was cleaned and freshened immaculately daily. The concierge was extremely helpful in locating restaurants, venues, and directions, with recommendations for must-see sites. Second, the food both inside and beach was divine and not too pricey. In fact, the whole roast pig all-u-can-eat buffet Saturday night was only $24 each. Drinks were not overly priced and in the casino, were free. Third, we never heard ANY noise from the airport a few hundred yards south, except occasionally when we were on the palm-lined beach. In the wonderful 3'-6' pool (with pool bar), we never noticed outside noise. Finally, we got a great package deal which practically halved the cost of our excursion if we had paid for each component separately. Mark Annapolis, MD (09/28/2013)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uncle jerry
Business
nh
Sep 18, 2013

ok to stay

Friendly staff Beautiful location and views beds a little worn but ok Food , some was very good and some was not so good Nice place over all and I would return again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Ivan
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 2, 2013

Acceptable

Bad room cleaning service. Not much amenities in the hotel. Staff awesome. Food excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drestar42
Business
Nyc
Aug 20, 2013

Single getaway

Had a great experience at the hotel, workers were very happy and helpful, night life was great in the hotel and on the beach couldn't ask for anything else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Isla Verde Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankvoice
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Terrific hotel, terrific location

My wife and I stayed three nights. Everything about the place was perfect. Service was amazing. The location allowed a quick walk to supermarkets and drugstores and many, many restaurants. Just had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel will provide a list of nearby restaurants. The ones that served real Puerto Rican food were especially good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top